Bewitching

We are taking a short break for a public service announcement, before we return to our regularly scheduled programming.

This picture was taken last weekend, when my big melt occurred. That is why you can still see snow in it. Β This is the second spring for my Hamamelis x intermedia “Arnold Promise”, or Arnie as I affectionately call him.Β  I always thought that he was called Arnold’s Promise, until I read that he was developed at Harvard University’s Arnold Arboretum in 1928. Now I find out not only is he old, he is also smart!

You cannot tell from this picture but I have a cedar hedge planted behind Arnie, this should provide a backdrop to set off his lovely golden curls.

And I am hoping that as the hedges grow and make more of a room, they will trap the fragrance that Arnie is supposed to be full of, so far I am a bit disappointed in him.

Β 

36 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    fairegarden said,

    Oh Deborah, Arnie should get the cover on the magazine showing Handsomest of All. His sibling that lives in Tennessee is so fragrant it is head turning, but seems to be more so when the weather is warmer. May your temps reach that point. Glad to know he is college educated. πŸ™‚
    Frances

  2. 3

    Joy said,

    Deborah I have been considering a witch hazel for my coming up vacant spot : )
    I have been pouring over somuch information my head is dizzy but the hunt continues for the perfect tree !!
    Joy

  3. 5

    Great pictures – the snow behind the yellow of the hamamelis. Gives you hope when there’s still snow on the ground and yet you have something in bloom. Gorgeous.

    • 6

      Does it ever, Heather. I really needed that shot of colour. I like the red witch hazels, but I am wondering if they just blend in from far way. The yellow really jumps out at you.

  4. 7

    Maybe it is too cold yet for Arnie to truly let go! He needs warmer days to tickle his curly toes. Your hedge sounds great… a green backdrop to the yellow … lovely! Happy Spring Deborah! ;>) Carol

  5. 9

    Laurrie said,

    You are wise to plant Arnold in front of evergreens. My Diane witch hazel can’t be seen because the tiny flowers are against a brown empty field… no backdrop. So far my young witch hazels are pretty skimpy. When I attended a recent workshop on hamamelis, the arborist said that even young plants should bloom heavily and with large(ish) blooms…. then he showed us the young hazels at the nursery, all lovely. Mine not so much, and yours looks like mine!

    • 10

      Laurrie, I love the reds of Diane and Jelena, but I was worried about that. I wonder if they would even show up against a hedge, or if they are only noticeable close up. I was surprised how small the petals are on him, from all the pictures I have seen, I thought that they would be huge, of course they are macro shots!

  6. 11

    Arnie is most handsome! Witch hazels and snowdrops…witch hazels and snowdrops. It seems I’m missing two things from my garden. I’ve seen so many witch hazels and snowdrops recently…but I think I’m falling for them both!

  7. 13

    I do hope you will be able to enjoy his fragrance sometime soon πŸ™‚

  8. 15

    Ceara said,

    Ooh I would love a Witch Hazel. Beautiful and useful plant.

  9. 17

    I am jealous! My witch hazel, which should be blooming, hasn’t a single blossom yet. Yours is really nice-looking. I can imagine what it will look like in a few years when it matures. I just planted mine last year, so maybe it needs more time to mature, you think?

  10. 19

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    Arnie is a most handsome specimen for sure. I decided to veer away from Hamamalis and went instead for Corylopsis spiocata – and have now waited two years and still no blooms. Its purple to chartreuse to grey blue leaves do entice, but I have wanted to see his flowers that supposedly resemble strings of butter yellow pearls. Perhaps an Arnie may be in the books yet!

    • 20

      Funny you should mention the Corylopsis spicata, I had been just thinking about planting one of them as well. Not good to know that it hasn’t flowered for you yet, Arnie flowered the first spring after planting.

  11. 21

    Meredith said,

    Deborah, Arnie is just a golden boy; isn’t he? I’ve seen his cousin Diane and perceived absolutely no fragrance when it was cold out — but a delicious scent once the weather warmed a bit, so perhaps a smidgen of patience is called for to get the fully bewitching effect. πŸ™‚

  12. 23

    Nell Jean said,

    The earliest flowers are so exciting. Great pics.

    I haven’t a witch hazel, but their kin, native Sassafras grow here in little groves. The blooms are just now opening up.

  13. 25

    Arnie has timed it just right to be the star of the snow…er show! Very pretty. πŸ™‚

  14. 27

    Barry said,

    Hi Deborah,
    Hamamelis should be in every northern garden, why wouldn’t you want blooms as early as this. Mine is ‘Jelena’ (now about 20 years old) starting of orange and now after three or more weeks in bloom has turned a more pale tangerine. It glows even in rainy overcast days.

  15. 29

    Grace said,

    Hi Deborah~~ All bragging rights to you. Arnie is a handsome dear. I bet he smells good too. I laughed when I read your affectionate reference. I’ve got an Earnest Markham Clematis called “Ernie” and a rose named Gertrude Jekyll called “Gertie.” Isn’t gardening fun?

  16. 31

    banner6 said,

    I have buried my nose in many a witch hazel to no effect. still worth their keep for the early splash of color in an otherwise drab landscape.

  17. 33

    Anna said,

    Shame that Arnie is too far away to meet my Jelena – another disappointment in the scent stakes too up to now – perhaps they will improve with age πŸ™‚

  18. 35

    Wendy said,

    but the gorgeous tendrils!! You can’t be disappointed in his looks…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

