Garden Visits: Folmer’s Botanical Gardens

I have wanted to visit Folmer’s Botanical Gardens in Walkerton for years, but it never worked out. This garden was featured in Canadian Garden magazine a few years ago and I became even more determined to get there. However this spring, I finally succeeded. And I wish I had made more of an effort because I loved it.  I got so inspired, I feel like I need to buy thousands of Anamone blanda bulbs this fall.

Certainly need me a display like this,

and this

what about this.

Gorgeous!!

Brian Folmer has been passionate about gardening since he was 15 and studied Landscape Architecture at the University of Guelph.  in 1996 he purchased 108 acres and began planning a garden centre, garden design and display gardens.  According to their website, they are the largest privately owned botanical gardens in southwestern Ontario.  There is over 30 acres of display gardens, both formal and informal.

Gates,

I need gates,

just like these ones.

And a gazebo,

all good.

Now this I could do,

I certainly have enough muscari, just need to put a path in.

And lots and lots of spring bulbs.

Vistas,

we got vistas for days, (need to work on mine, it is one of my favourite design features).

And did I mention the serviceberry allee,

certainly longer then mine, and with single trunk specimens, rather then multi trunked,

it gave me lots of hope that mine will one day be as gorgeous. Love the vistas and focal points in every direction.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    You’re well on your way to making yours gorgeous. Now all we need is the land and the money (lol).
    As for those anemones under the trees – they look like fallen petals. Love the effect.
    As we’re heading into the last part of the gardening season here in Ontario, it’s nice to be reminded that next spring there will be beautiful blooms to enjoy.

  2. 2

    fairegarden said,

    Hi Deborah, so nice to visit with you, and thanks for this tour. It has my hand itching to click on buying some more Anemone blanda ‘Blue Shades’. I only have a few. Need a kajillion more! The little Muscari I do have, love how they seeded themselves in that path.
    Frances


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment