Garden Visits: Marion Jarvie

I know, I know. You are probably horribly bored of seeing Marion Jarvies garden over and over and over again. But I can’t help it, I love it. She is one of my plant gurus. Every time I visit I see something else I just have to have, darn it all. And this is one garden that I go out of my way to see every time I return from Barbados.

This time I was paying a lot of attention to shrubs and conifers in her garden, last year it was the hellebores.

Not that I didn’t take a huge number of photos of them, but I was astonished by how much colour diversity there was in the woody plant material.

Sorry, I did not get the names of the conifers. It was raining and we thought we would have to cancel the course so I ran around getting as many photos as possible. We did not have to cancel, but did cut it short so I am glad I did.

A couple of deciduous shrubs flowering,

Daphne mezereum ‘Marion Jarvie’, which I purchased last year,

and a cornus mas.

And her urn, gorgeous.

I soooo miss planting up seasonal urns, I even taught a few workshops on it when I worked at East of Eliza, one of my favourite jobs when I worked there.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] you sick of spring yet? I showed you what was happening in my garden, and then at Marion Jarvies. Now I want to show you an amazing garden I visited when I was in […]

  2. 2

    I finally got to see Marion Jarvie’s garden a few weeks ago. Wow! That’s all I can say. The hellebores are beautiful. It is unseasonably cold here and that has me thinking of fall and in a natural progression spring flowers. I can’t decide between a quantity of snowdrops or fancy snowdrops…And I want tons of daffodils next year. I hate to think about how much money my garden dreams are going to cost!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment