The Amazing Marion Jarvie and her Garden

tree peony

tree peony

 

Two weekends ago, I was lucky enough to visit Marion Jarvie’s Open Garden.  If you have never been there, you should definitely take the time to visit. It is amazing!
She and her husband open the garden four times per year, early spring, early summer, mid summer and late summer.  Every time it looks completely different as the focus changes from bulbs, to peonies, to perennials. 
I have taken a few courses and gone to lectures by Marion, but to see it in the flesh is a treat.
 
Unfortunately, Marion was mobbed and I wasn’t able to get the variety of the plants, but let me show you a few pictures.
 
Dawn Redwood

Dawn Redwood

A lovely Arched Pergola
A lovely Arched Pergola

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Japanese Maple

Japanese Maple

 

 

 

Urn

Urn

Isn’t it amazing? You can use a mix of perennials like the hosta and some tender plants. The agave, phormium can all be wintered over in the house and saved for the next year and the hosta can be planted in the garden.

 

The next open date is July 18 and 19, and it is open from 10 to 4, rain or shine.  You can call the Toronto Botanical Gardens at 416-397-1340 and they will be able to give you the address.  You will be happy you took the time!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SS said,

    THIS IS MY GRANDMA!!!!!!!

  2. 3

    RS said,

    This is my grandma as well

  3. 5

    […] know, I know. You are probably horribly bored of seeing Marion Jarvies garden over and over and over again. But I can’t help it, I love it. She is one of my plant gurus. Every time I visit I see […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

