Into the Light

I am surprised at how much I miss flowering arranging. I kind of fell into it as a career, but like most gardeners probably would, I really enjoyed playing with flowers. Where I live has beautiful gardens, with a huge team of gardeners, but I think they would frown on me outside with secateurs. But, I always have my eyes peeled for any interesting arrangements.

So you can imagine my surprise when I walked into Limegrove Mall in Holetown. The Barbados Horticultural Society was kind enough to realize that since I couldn’t get to the Chelsea Flower Show this year, they would bring it to me, at least a copy of their gold winning design.  Everyone on Barbados is very proud of them, I am constantly told at how they are always winning gold medals, and well deserved.  BHS has been competing for just over 20 years, and has 15 gold medals, that is amazing.

I tried to find out a bit more about this arrangement via Google, but failed miserably. All I could find was a couple of sentences by a local newspaper. The arrangement titled ‘Into the Light’ shows darkness moving into light through colour, style and movement.

Who know, maybe one day I will be part of the Barbados Horticultural Society’s team for Chelsea Flower Show, never say never!

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bernieh said,

    It is an incredible piece. Loved the Ginger flowers and those pure white Anthuriums and those Orchids. I think there can be no doubt that you’ll be a part of the BHS’s team for Chelsea!

  2. 3

    David leeman said,

    yes i really missed not going to chelsea this year,,,,,,it was a horticultural pilgrimage for me last year,,,,,,,

  3. 5

    Carol Flett said,

    Wow! What a treat for you! And a dream to work toward making a reality.

  4. 7

    Donna said,

    stunning piece and I dare say I would never say never…I expect to see you there someday!!

  5. 9

    What I wonder are the pineapple looking flowers?

    (I know Kirstenbosch takes a few hardworking volunteers to Chelsea each year)

  6. 11

    debsgarden said,

    There’s a lot to see in that arrangement! If you stay long in Barbados, you must become involved in its horticultural society. I am sure they would love to have you!

  7. 15

    Ronnie Tyler said,

    Wonderful flowers – so big! I suspect you have to have extra large vases for your flower arrangements.

  8. 17

    They are sure pretty arrangements. I do not really see the into the light theme, but I am certain it is a fine arrangement.

    • 18

      Hey Donna, I think it is moving from the white into pink into red. Sometimes in floral design school, they would give us these totally random themes, it can be difficult to come up with a design.

  9. 19

    Melissa said,

    Thank you SO MUCH for sharing these! I love seeing well done flower arrangements and these are stunning. A well deserved award from the Chelsea Flower Show (which I have never seen).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment