Ah Spring, please continue…

Spring, how I love you, let me count the ways…

And I wish you to continue on and on. Since that is not possible in real life, lets at least continue the spring tour at Kilbourne Grove.

Another new to me spring bulb is Corydalis solida.  I purchased some of these bulbs trying to increase my viewing pleasure during the only times of the year I am in Canada. And I want a show, this one certainly provided one.

Both of these varieties came from GardenImport in Toronto,

George Baker, a lovely soft red,

and Beth Evans, a gorgeous pink.

I also purchased a couple of years earlier a soft unnamed lilac corydalis. This one, although smaller has proved it likes it here, seeding over by my magnolia.

Pieris 2013

This is the second year that my Pieris japonica ‘Mountain Fire’ has flowered.

Pieris 2012

Last year it was in March due to the very early spring and I totally missed it. However I got to enjoy it this year, looking forward to it increasing in size.

And my muscari looked better then ever, just ignore the end where I still have to transplant some, still loving the ribbon effect.

 

Now you can see the balcony/balconies at the back of the Deliverance house, no stairs down to ground level yet, but I am sure they are coming. Just praying for my hedge to grow.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Pauline said,

    Your avenue of muscari is beautiful as are your other spring plants, so good that you were able to enjoy them this year. The corydalis are lovely plants, I have them in my woodland here and they are forming good sized clumps this year.

  2. 2

    Fanny K said,

    A beautiful Spring Show Tour…loving the colour, texture and varieties. Miss this in my own garden.

  3. 3

    Barbara H. said,

    Love the muscari and everything else, too. I understand wanting the hedge to grow, but to temper the anxiety, post a picture of the true Deliverance house by your door! That was truly a nightmare.

  4. 4

    Your garden looks like it stepped out of an English photo – the muscari avenue is gorgeous!!!

    And the deliverance how doesn’t look so bad compared to what was there.

  5. 5

    Jean said,

    It’s fun to revisit spring with you. My two-year-old Pieris hasn’t bloomed yet; maybe next year.

  6. 6

    “Your avenue of muscari is beautiful as are your other spring plants, so good that you were able to enjoy them this year.”

    True indeed, spring would be the best time of the year!

  7. 8

    Actually the deliverance house doesn’t look so bad now that its completed. That being said, I don’t blame you for wanting the hedge to fill in. I really like the Corydalis solida. I’ll have to keep an eye out for that next fall. Happy Canada Day!

  8. 9

    Diana Studer said,

    I hope that your new neighbours enjoy the delightful view of your garden. Maybe one day you can stand on that balcony and take a photo from the Other Side.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

