Rise Up, Rise Up

Although it is more like stand up, stand up.

There are certainly lots of different sports to try in Barbados, and one that is becoming quite popular is stand up paddleboarding. Ian has wanted to  try this since we landed in Barbados, and when they were offering lessons at the yacht club he jumped on it.  I am not a very strong swimmer, and hate getting my face wet (was I a cat in a previous life?), so I chose not to join him, and instead documented the process.

You start with a lesson on the beach on getting on the board, how to hold you paddle, and I assume, how to get back on your board after you fall off.

After they got up on their boards, they paddles north up the coast for an hour, while I retired my camera (and my butt) to the lounge chair for a gin and tonic. Much pride was felt be Ian (and a tiny disappointment felt by me, lol), as he did not once fall off his board. 

A few days later we were at the beach as a couple of other paddle boarders came along.

They were doing yoga poses

and one stood on his head, I just set Ian his next challenge.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Fanny said,

    This must take serious core strength … unlikely you’ll be able to snap a picture of me doing this. I’ll be joining you for the G+T’s … lol. Bravo for Ian.

  2. 3

    That’s quite the interesting challenge! I am with you on the shore, drink in hand.

  3. 5

    David Leeman said,

    Calm and beautiful on the west coast….would be a real challenge on the east….

  4. 7

    Marguerite said,

    LOL, a cat in your former life. I concur, hate hate hate putting my face in water. That’s a pretty impressive headstand, Ian’s got himself a tough challenge.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

