Gotta Have It: Hosta ‘Blue Mouse Ears’

I love this little guy, he is sooo cute. A great edger, covering up old bulb foliage and the flowers, don’t get me started on them, they are perfect. Unlike large hosta, where the flowers are spread out up the stem, these are compact and very close together, perfect for a vase as well. And are they large for the size of the plant, wow.

There is certainly a reason Hosta ‘Blue Mouse Ears’ was named hosta of the year in 2008.  It has very thick, round and rubbery blue-green leaves, you know that means no slug holes. It grows only to about 8′ high and 12′ across, I planted mine under my Japanese maple, Acer palmatum ‘Waterfall’. It looks lovely (at least I think it well when it finally reaches) with the pale green cut leaves dripping down to the roundish leaves of the hosta.

Carolyn had a whole post about the ‘Mouse‘ series, apparently ‘Blue’ has been a busy boy and spawned a very large family.

Now if he would only get busy and get much fatter, I would love to divide him and enjoy it all over my garden.

 

19 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    paulinemulligan said,

    It is lovely, did have one but unfortuately managed to kill it somehow, never saw it again. Maybe I ought to try once more.

  2. 2

    Thanks, good tip ; no slug holes ! I’m going to look if I can order one in my local gardencenter, it looks very cute !

  3. 3

    Love the blue, Deborah. But I tend to lose these little ones, so I stick to medium sized hostas. My new favorite is “designer genes” – it is a chartreuse leaf on a red stem – fabulous in my shade garden.

  4. 4

    You are so right about ‘Blue Mouse Ears’—gorgeous flowers, adorable leaves, slug resistant, and a strong grower. Some small hostas are finicky but not this one, it is easy to grow. Thanks for linking to my blog. I am slowing down on blogging over the summer so I am sorry that I haven’t been around much.

  5. 5

    Alistair said,

    He is a little beauty, Hosta flowers are so often overlooked.

  6. 7

    PJ Girl said,

    Sooo cute… I will definitely keep my eyes open for these beauties!

  7. 9

    Jean said,

    Deborah, I hadn’t seriously considered the miniature hostas before, but this post has me rethinking where I could put some of these!

  8. 11

    I adore the mouse ear hostas and purchased some from Carolyn…it has become an obsession!

  9. 13

    The flowers are so nice and compact. I love anything with blue leaves. I also admired ‘mouse ears’ on Carolyn’s blog, but did not know where to go to get a plant here in Canada. Where did you find yours?

  10. 15

    Marguerite said,

    And suddenly I’m wondering why in the world did I never think to plant hostas around bulbs to cover them up? What a brilliant idea.

  11. 17

    debsgarden said,

    You have sold me! I have always admired the cute leaves, but those flowers are fabulous!

  12. 19

    […] you grow hostas? Many cultivars are now blooming! About the cultivar Hosta Blue Mouse Ears: http://j.mp/NUYBY7 TwitterFacebook […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

