Petrea

Or as I like to call it, tropical Wisteria.

And it really does remind me of wisteria. Long racemes in either purple or white, drip from the vine.

Although it is certainly possible to train it into a tree form as well.

Apparently the leaves have a rough texture, leading to a common name of Sandpaper vine, a not very attractive name for such a pretty flower.

But looking it up online, I also found the names Queen’s Wreath, Purple Wreath, and the prettiest of all,  Fleur de Dieu.

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    paulinemulligan said,

    Absolutely beautiful, I have a feeling that it won’t be hardy? Never mind, will have to make do with looking at your photos!

  2. 3

    Barbara H. said,

    Lovely flowers. Is it as determined a grower as wisteria?

  3. 5

    You’re right – it looks like wisteria. A northern touch in the tropics.

  4. 7

    David Leeman said,

    In st Lucia it climbs through the wild scrub brush….in full baking sun……a sight to behold trees laden in a cascade of purple…..one of my fav plants…..

  5. 9

    debsgarden said,

    I love this plant! I once grew it in a large pot and I loved how its blooms cascaded over the edge. Unfortunately, it is not hardy here. I would buy another, if I could find one.

  6. 11

    I agree with deb, I love this plant but never heard of even in my boyhood home of Sydney. A sight for sore eyes while I bake under the prairie heat,

  7. 13

    This looks so beautiful and I imagine it has a heavenly scent…does it?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

