Spindletree Gardens in Spring

I know most of you are thinking about your summer gardens, but while I was in Canada this spring I was out and about visiting gardens. There has been no time to share them with you, until now. So take a break from the heat and the drought, or the rain and come with me to visit Spindletree Gardens in the spring.  I visited there in fall 2009 and I loved it (hoped you did as well), but spring is my favourite time of year, and I was desperate to see it then. So while I was in Kingston visiting friends I made a special point of saving some time to go back.

I won’t over share the thousands of photos that I took while I was there, just a few of my favourites.

Nothing like flowering trees, I need a few. These are outside the Croquet Pavillion.

I keep thinking about purchasing a yellow magnolia

Magnolia ‘Elizabeth’

Magnolia ‘Elizabeth’

but there are so many varieties,

Magnolia ‘Butterflies’

Magnolia ‘Butterflies’

here they have planted Elizabeth and Butterfly almost side by side, a great way to compare not only flower colour, but also the shape and size of the tree.

 They really add something to The Colonnade.

While we were there, I was excited to see some building work going on. I love watching ‘stuff’ being built, find it fascinating.  This will be an Orangery, I love the curve to the building. 

 When you are standing at the end of the path looking towards the building the ‘windows’ look smallish, but when you are inside you realize they are actually French doors,

not small at all. It is the height and scale of the building that dwarfs them.

 If you look in the other direction, you look down a 300 foot allee towards the Victorian Well Cover.

There is an amazing view through the building to the Jubilee Pond,

 a modern-day reservoir for the garden. There is a walkway across it that will be planted in the future.

This is one of my favourite views. It looks over the Lower Pond to Lion’s Court.

 I just love the formal structure of the garden here.

And what about this row of trees, looks like something I would like?

Mmm, love these columns, they make such a visual impact and really draw your eye along.

The door from the Kitchen Garden. I love this space and I feel it needs its own post. I really want to take a closer look at it, as I am changing some of my design ideas at Kilbourne Grove. And perhaps a much larger Kitchen Garden is in those plans.

 

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara H. said,

    This is such an amazing place! I didn’t remember it so had to check out your earlier post. Those views were also amazing. Wish I had their energy – and their Kitchen Garden door, Lower Pond, garden reservoir – on and on.

  2. 3

    Fabulous! Looks like an old English garden set on a majestic estate. All the times I’ve been to Kingston and never visited. Oh well, one day maybe.

  3. 5

    Alistair said,

    Well Summer just isn’t happening here, fortunately the garden doesn’t really seem to realise it. Thoroughly enjoyed some of your favourite pictures from Kingston.

  4. 7

    I was delighted to see spring again in your tour what with this most unusual summer heat. The garden views are spectacular and that last one with the gate or should I say door is fantastic…just like a Secret Garden.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

