Breadfruit Fern

At Kilbourne Grove, there are a number of hooks attached to our porch. I love the look of hanging baskets of ferns, and think they would look amazing hanging all along it, but as we have never lived there full-time, it was not to be.  Some day, when we are retired, I hope to have them. Boston ferns certainly seem to be the standard variety in North America, but here in Barbados I see hanging baskets of this fern all over.

It is called the Breadfruit fern here, as the leaf shape bears a strong resemblance to the shape of the leaf on the Breadfruit tree.

But after Googling it, I am still not able to finds out its Botanical name, perhaps one of you knows it? 

 They certainly are a lot tougher than the Boston, obviously able to take a much higher temperature, and some sun as well.

I actually think they are prettier then the popular Boston Fern, maybe another one to grow at home…..

26 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Whatever its name, it is lovely, and such a good idea to have it in a hanging basket. Could do with that at the front of our house here where it is always difficult to find something that will last all summer.

  2. 3

    Very beautiful and very unusual compared to the ferns around here–looks staghorn-like.

  3. 5

    A very pretty leaf structure on this fern, and I like your idea to use them at your home in Canada. Ferns in our area need so much attention due to wintering them over if they are potted, but I had Japanese Painted in a pot in the garage all winter and it came back much better than those in the ground. I guess there was just enough moisture for them to survive.

  4. 7

    I agree with Carolyn, it does look very staghorn-like. It’s beautiful. Is it epiphytic, or growing in soil, do you know?

  5. 9

    debsgarden said,

    Deborah, your fern looks a lot like Phlebodium aureum, also called rabbits foot fern, which is native in Florida and southwards. I love the look of a row of ferns hung from a porch!

    • 10

      Deborah, I had to Google Images on the Phlebodium, and they certainly look very similar. In Canada, the rabbits foot fern is Davallia bullata, which has a much lacier frond, with little brown furry rhizomes hanging over the edge. I shall have to look for the Phelebodium when I return to Canada, it is so beautiful.

  6. 11

    Nice interesting texture – you’re right, they are “better” than the Boston Ferns of Ontario

  7. 13

    I have hanging baskets on the front porch every summer. I usually am lazy and get readymade grocery store baskets, but they never hold up! The afternoon sun cooks them into an ugly brown mess. This year I really need to do something better.(i.e. don’t be so lazy and do them myself!)
    I like the idea of having all green baskets. These breadfruit ones are really quite nice and I bet they might do okay in the afternoon sun on my porch.

  8. 15

    Marguerite said,

    Those ferns are huge! *sigh* why does everything always seem bigger and greener in tropical climates. I too like the look of ferns in hanging baskets. It brings to mind thoughts of cool shaded porches on a hot afternoon with iced drinks. Perfection.

  9. 17

    I have never seen these ferns displayed in this fashion, and they are beautiful! They have a very full and lush look…stunning!

  10. 19

    garden muses said,

    Wow, those ferns really fill up the basket! I noticed no brown tips so obviously they’re very happy with heat and humidity.

    Thanks for your post!

  11. 21

    Shaz said,

    Try Microsorum scolopendria aka Warts fern, breadfruit fern, formerly of the genus Polypodium.

  12. 23

    Zahria said,

    The botanical name for it is Phlebodium aureum.

    • 24

      Thank you Zahria, I shall look for them back in Canada. A row of them hanging on my porch would be a lovely reminder of my time in beautiful Barbados.
      Thank you for visiting my blog, and leaving a comment, I hope to see you again soon.

  13. 25

    anne crichton said,

    I have these ferns they are beautiful, but form time to time some white spots appear on them what so I do to get them stay away


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

