Under Foot at Keppel Croft

I am always on the lookout for path ideas, I have quite a few leading the way throught Kilbourne Grove, and I would like to make them unique to the space they are in. Right now a lot are grass, but that becomes a problem in the spring when it is so muddy. Not to mention cutting the grass, I need to edge the sides as well (all time consuming), so I might as well spend the time and install a hard surface.

Stone, brick all beautiful, but expensive if you are planning a lot of paths, but cement, inexpensive and speedy. But how to make it interesting?

Imbed rocks…

Make a design with them…

I think Ian is going to be one busy boy!

If you want to read more about my visit to Keppel Croft, you can read about it here, about their art installations here, and their amazing pots here.

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Keppel Croft certainly is an amazing garden, you found so much that was interesting. Love the different textured paths, some lead you on, some slow you down. Especially liked the butterfly and fish, so much inspiration, now where can we have a new path!

  2. 3

    Laurrie said,

    I love the artwork in these cement paths and steps. Very subtle, with neutral tones, but it’s an eyecatching use of stone!

  3. 5

    Maybe combined with some raingardening permeable ideas for the spring mud? The custom metal artwork really makes the designs sing.

  4. 7

    Marguerite said,

    wow, these are some great ideas. We have yet to put any paths on our property – still working out where paths should lay – but this gives me some ideas for what we might do eventually. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 9

    Poor Ian – he, like most gardener’s husbands (mine included) have a list a mile long. But putting in those pathways would be so worth it. We have a flagstone imbedded cement path and it looks terrific. Love the little rocks placed in the cement here.

  6. 11

    Lovely inspirational ideas. Part of our private road is concrete, and we need to replace a couple of sections, but the question becomes what to do with the enormous chunks we pull out. I hate to send it to a landfill, and have been thinking of doing something with it for the new patio. I love the mixes with pebbles and metalwork. Some of it is quite unexpected…especially the fish! Adorable!

  7. 13

    I have wanted to do something just like this for a while now. I had thought of using large decorative mosaic floor tiles to create a carpet like design, but was worried about that the freeze and thaw might do them in. Now, I have another idea thanks to your post. I think I might use old furnace grates. You can find them fairly cheaply at flea markets and places like the Door Store in Toronto. It would be neat to embed them in concrete and the metal flourishes would create the carpet-like look I am after. Happy holidays! All the best to you and Ian for 2012!
    P.S. Must visit this garden next summer! It looks great!

    • 14

      I have seen these as well Jennifer, (of course, now that you are looking for them, they will be no where to be found, lol). Another great idea I have seen is coloured outdoor pavers, cut into triangles to make a design.
      Maybe you can get up there next spring and visit me on the way.

  8. 15

    catmint said,

    Lovely mosaic paths – good luck Ian!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

