Look at Meeee!

This was who was waiting for me when I arrived at Kilbourne Grove on August 16th. Meet Helleborus ‘Golden Lotus’.

He arrived home to live with me this spring, in full bloom,

 (cause I like to make sure the colour is nice when I purchase hellebores), and I planted him in the Kitchen Garden till I decide where his domicile will be. Of course, as I had a busy spring he was still there when I left. And still showing his cheerful face to me and the world. Did he stay in flower all summer? Or did he hear I was coming home and decided to give me a little treat.

 Only the Golden Lotus knows for sure….

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    What a beautiful hellebore and what a lovely welcome home for you. I think it had a rest while you were away and then heard that you were returning, so decided to flower once more. Sorry to say that I think the warmer weather that we all seem to have been having is making our poor plants so confused, they don’t seem to know that they should shut down for winter.

  2. 3

    Barbarapc said,

    It’s gorgeous. Who knows what goes on when we’re away. Whether he had to force a bloom to meet you or polish up an old one. I’m glad you got the shot, it’s really beautiful.

  3. 5

    I’ve never heard of a hellebore blooming so late – it must have know you were coming and wanted to put on a party.

  4. 7

    debsgarden said,

    What a beautiful hellebore! Obviously it is doing well in its home and was very glad to see you!

  5. 9

    D:
    Ahhh, another of the Winter Jewel Collection that holds me spellbound. I had Jade Tiger do the same thing for me last fall, so I tend to think that perhaps these hybrids are double bloomers [twice, not the obvious fact that they possess double flowers!] This one was all the rage at Canada Blooms last year, and I think yours wanted to make sure that you remembered that home [Kilbourne Grove’ is truly where the heart is! Gorgeous photos!

  6. 11

    lisaroy said,

    So pretty! And such a nice surprise.
    Thanks for popping by and leaving such a lovely comment. I guess you know where I’m coming from when I say that I miss Muskoka. While sunny, summer weather is great, I do miss 4 seasons and the familiar. But as any expat will tell you, it’s not all rainbows and butterflies. xo

    • 12

      It was a wonderful surprise Lisa, and a very welcome one. We are very lucky women to get a chance to enjoy the expat life, with the reward of Canada always waiting in the wings.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

  7. 13

    Ms. S said,

    That is one gorgeous helleborus. Nice timing, that guy. 🙂

  8. 15

    I think he heard you were coming home. What a considerate fellow, and handsome too!

  9. 17

    Marguerite said,

    What a gorgeous flower. I’ve seen some green hellebores before but this one looks quite yellow. Really lovely and what a great surprise to see it still blooming when you arrived in late summer.

  10. 19

    Shyrlene said,

    Simply beautiful!! (Hellebore – on the short “wishlist”, and just got bumped up higher on the list.)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

