Foxy Lady

I love them, but they don’t love me, at least they did not use to.

 Who or what am I talking about?

Why foxglove of course.  They have long been one of my favourite. I have been seduced, as I am sure others have, of seeing drifts of them, in wooded areas in England. I sooo wanted that. And I have tried for years, first in Toronto, then in Kingston, but they never returned for me, and never seeded as well.

But, I loved them, and I would have them. So every spring, I would buy flowering size plants, and pop them in my garden, anxiously waiting for the flower. They were beautiful, but I could never afford the number wanted, not and have all the other plants I wanted as well.

Then I moved to Kilbourne Grove. And I planted them again. And the snow came, and came and came. When it finally melted 6 months later, smile…, the foxglove were there. But, I wasn’t so stupid to believe that they would live, I had fallen for that before. They looked all green and healthy, and then would just rot, instead of growing.  Imagine my surprise when they did begin growing, and growing, and growing.

And they flowered!

Not only that, but I found precious little babies, all around the base of the parent.

 

This one is so huge, it must be on something!

 

Now I have foxglove every year, I will even have enough that I can transfer them around the garden.

Life is good!

Thanks to my neighbour for taking some of these photos and keeping me up to date on my garden.

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara H. said,

    What a lucky lady – foxgloves and foxtails! I’ve got foxgloves coming back so I’d better get on the stick researching the eremurus. Those foxes have it covered on beautiful flowers, don’t they?

  2. 3

    Laurrie said,

    Mine did not seed around either, so after their biennial life span they were gone. But the soft yellow perennial foxgloves (D. ambigua), just as pretty but all in brown speckled yellow, do come back lustily each year as a perennial plant.

    I love that your foxgloves finally made a decision to seed themselves for you. And so many!

  3. 5

    Pretty ladies for certain. I have some I planted last year and like you, I had little expectation. But this year they bloomed and reseeded. It is next year I will have wait and see how the little ones fare.

  4. 7

    Greggo said,

    I replant every year from seed. This year was my first bloom year. Pretty impressive aren’t they.

  5. 9

    Lona said,

    I love Foxgloves in the garden also. I am glad you got them to grow for you. Being stubborn gardeners works out sometimes. LOL!

  6. 11

    Foxgloves are great! I love the way they seed about when they’re happy.

  7. 13

    Your foxgloves are beautiful, like you I love them and happily scatter the seed but only a few come up. This year I have just collected the seed from special ones and will sow these properly in seed trays, will have to wait and see if that makes a difference. How nice that you can keep an eye on your plants long distance !!

  8. 15

    D:
    I have a few, and as was your earlier experience, I would lose them gradually until I discovered the truly perennial D. ‘Goldcrest’ – wonderful yellow with rusty throat, a much shorter species with smooth lance shaped foliage. I am on the lookout for a new cross of D. lutea and D. mertonensis – available in England from Digitalis guru Terry Bajer who also holds the National Collection. D. lutea is also one that I’ve coveted for years. Yours are looking most lovely!

  9. 17

    Great plants.
    Use Pam’s Choice alot in designs her, and grow lutea and ferruguinea.
    Splendid verticality!
    Thanks for this post
    Best
    R

  10. 19

    Lisa said,

    Wow! Lovely foxglove flowers. Very adorable.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

