Out of Control

I’m a bit scared, ok, I’m actually very scared.

I love, love the gardening section of the Telegraph. I used to actually buy it, even after I returned back to Canada, but I can’t bring myself to spend $30 dollars for a newspaper in Barbados. But I have been enjoying reading it on-line.  Bunny Guinness wrote a very interesting article about her abandoned garden (while she was at Chelsea). and what she found on her return. And that was only a matter of a few weeks.  I was going to be away from it for months.

Carol, from Gardening Tips and Pics was so very kind to send me some photos of my garden while I am away in Barbados.

 They really helped me feel less homesick for my garden, but I am noticing a lot of work for when I return in the fall.

 I had really wanted to prune my box balls, but spring was so late, they had not even started growing before I left, and it will be too late when I return. Next year, I shall have to extend my time into the first week of June, after all, I want to see and smell my peonies myself.

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    amanda said,

    I know we tend to be more critical of our own gardens as we know what should be where….and what shouldn’t…..etc…..but I think this looks lovely. You oughtta have a look at some parts of my garden….and I haven’t even the excuse that I’m away 😉

  2. 2

    don’t worry Deborah – our gardens could do with being a bit more harum scarum (and notice how BG quickly resorted to killing off the unwanted with chemicals!). Even as a fully resident, I can miss the seasonal opportunities -daffs planted in Jan still bloomed though.

  3. 3

    I think all will be well, even the boxwood will benefit from the lack of trimming. I did not trim mine this year because the guys scalped them last year, and already they look better. I guess the most sad part is not being there for bloom times.

  4. 4

    Laurrie said,

    I can’t imagine how hard it must be to garden from afar. You only get to the place a few times a year, and yet the changes and the needs are constant. It’s great that you have someone to photograph it while you are away.

  5. 5

    Thanks for mentioning The Telegraph’s gardening section. I have bookmarked it.
    – Cindy

  6. 6

    Marguerite said,

    I just recently found out that if you have an electronic reader like Kindle, Kobo, etc. you can order magazines and newspapers to be delivered to them. With one of these you might be able to get your english newspaper delivered straight to your device for much less money. I read the article on leaving your garden for a few weeks. While I can understand weeds getting their way in your absence it also occurred to me that the ‘damage’ inflicted is really subjective. She’s comparing her garden to the gardens at Chelsea where they are fussed over every minute of the day. A few weeds, fallen leaves and bug eaten plants are to be expected in a regular garden. I’m sure yours will be in good shape on your return.

  7. 7

    teza said,

    D:
    How wonderful that Carol is sending you a visual report of the KG’s progress, but I can equally understand the frustration of not being able to take up a pair if secateurs when the desire, or need arises. I must say that the garden seems to be holding its own in your absence…… making you very proud I hope. There is a part [a teeny tiny part] of me that is envious….. every morning when I pass a weed or something leaning, or something needing pruning, I can practically here them sighing in exasperation…… ‘there he goes, off to tend those other plants! Doesn’t he love us anymore?’

  8. 9

    Jean said,

    Haven’t I seen reports on tv about new technology for remote control surgery (where the doctor can operate on you from some other location)? Maybe it could be adapted for remote pruning!

  9. 11

    Cathy said,

    I’m another who can appreciate how you feel. I had to be away only briefly but I knew that all of my roses and peonies would be blooming and that I would miss the high points. I caught the tail end of the bloom and that was great, but I missed a lot as well. I can’t imagine being away for months! How wonderful you can remain connected through pictures.

  10. 13

    Oh I like Jean’s idea! Remote gardening from Barbados…sounds like the title for a new gardening show 😉 I saw Carol’s post the other day, and thought it was awfully sweet of her to give us all a glimpse of your garden in your absence. I do hope you can enjoy your peonies in person next year though.

  11. 15

    So great that you can see updates of your beautiful space. Don’t worry about the ‘this & that’ type stuff, it will wait. As long as things are growing, it’s all good. 🙂

  12. 17

    debsgarden said,

    The weeds are very vigilant where I live. All I have to do is turn my back, and one will sprout up and tap me on the shoulder! Thanks for the link to Bunny’s article. I enjoyed reading it. Your own garden is beautiful and doesn’t look neglected at all. I think your weeds must be wimpier than mine.

  13. 19

    I feel for you. Its got to be hard to leave your garden to fend for itself. We are planning a trip up north in the coming weeks. (We had even hoped for the long weekend, but hotels were already full. I want to revisit the Larkwhistle Garden on the Bruce Peninsula amongst other things.) We will pass through Owen Sound. I could offer you a few hours of weeding if you are interested (though perhaps you already have routine maintenance organized). Please email me if it is of interest: jenc_art@hotmail.com


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

