Another Year Older,

But another year wiser? But of course! Yikes, they are going fast. Today is my birthday, not going to tell you which one of course, as is a ladies prerogative. 

I am going to save my present for when we are back in Canada, perhaps a lovely urn, or a sculpture for the garden. I keep thinking about the one in Brian Bixleys garden, I really loved how the mirrors in it caught the light, and changed the reflection constantly. And since I really don’t need anything, I am going with the want!

36 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Good plan. Happy birthday and have a wonderful you filled day.

  2. 3

    Laurrie said,

    Happy Day to you! I love the idea of that mirrored totem…. it could work in so many kinds of garden spaces.

  3. 5

    Happy Birthday Deborah! 🙂

  4. 7

    Barbara said,

    Happy Birthday to you, Deborah. I haven’t yet become one of those bloggers you mention in another post who disappears from cyberspace , but am slowing down. I do enjoy your blog, even if I don’t post or comment as much as I used to. Just can’t keep up!

    • 8

      Thanks for the birthday wishes Barbara. I know the feeling about keeping up, just remember I am enjoying your blog, even if I can’t comment as much as I used to.

  5. 9

    ricki said,

    Many Happy Returns. Life is long, even if the years sometimes seem short. Yours are packed with such rich experiences that must be why they seem to fly by.

  6. 11

    Happy Birthday Deborah! Wonderful gift, the garden in reflection is always different and surprising.

  7. 13

    lynne said,

    Happy Birthday, Deborah:-)

  8. 15

    teza said,

    Dearest D:
    Here’s hoping you enjoy a wonderful day! I had mixed opinions upon first seeing this sculpture in the original post, but think that in a shaded garden it would be a fabulous way of keeping things mysterious….. what’s around the next dark corner? I should love to see it used in a garden like Tom Deacon’s where its scale would be put to best use. My postage stamp sized plot would be thoroughly overwhelmed with something of this size….. alas, I digress. Have a fabulous day dearheart! Stay in touch!

  9. 17

    Cathy said,

    Happy, Happy Birthday. The mirrored totem is so novel! Never thought about mirrors in the garden, but what an interesting idea! I am not a fan of modern sculpture (the other half of this due, my DH Steve definitely is though), but in the right spot in the right garden, I can see where it would be spectacular. Enjoy!

  10. 19

    Jean said,

    Happy Birthday, Deborah Jean!

  11. 21

    debsgarden said,

    Happy Birthday! If we are young in spirit and attitude, that is what counts, though if the body feels young we’ll take that, too! Hope you had a great day, and I hope you get your beautiful sculpture some day. I remember this mirrored sculpture from your previous post. It is quite striking!

  12. 23

    Barbara H. said,

    A very happy birthday to you, Deborah! Yes, the wants are important – they charge our soul.

  13. 25

    Diane said,

    Happy (slightly-belated) birthday. Thanks ever so much for your lovely comment on my blog. I hope you are enjoying doing the changes to your new home. In retrospect, I’m glad that I got to start ‘from the beginning’ with most of our property.

    I’ll be interested to see your before and after photos, if you can find some!

    Cheers.

  14. 29

    Happy Birthday Deborah and of course you are a year wiser! The mirrored sculpture is fabulous, hope you get something just as fantastic for your Canadian garden when you return. Cheers.

  15. 31

    Debbie said,

    Happy Birthday, Deborah. Isn’t funny how some birthdays just seem to creep up faster than others?

  16. 33

    catmint said,

    Happy birthday Deborah, mirrors can be used so creatively, and that sculpture is a wonderful example.

  17. 35

    Racquel said,

    Happy Belated Birthday Deborah, hope you find something great for the garden! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

