Back to Barbados

I knew it was coming, but it seemed to happen so fast. My time in Canada has come to an end.

I felt like hiding out like this little guy who welcomed me back, but Ian kept finding me, lol.

I enjoyed it thoroughly, of course, but it was definitely too short. And to top it off some of my plants that I have been waiting years to flower were in bud when I left. Now I will not get to see them after waiting so long. Such is the life of a gardener.  Maybe if I am lucky, carol, from Gardening Tips and Pics, will visit Kilbourne Grove and take photos of them. She came to visit my garden early this spring, did a lovely post on it,(although she could have told me to comb my hair, lol) and asked if she could visit  this summer while I am in Barbados.  Of course, as long as I get to see the photos of what is happening!!!

But I can spend the summer thinking up projects for this fall.

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I should have stopped up to see you when you were in Toronto. Without the internet, I could not contact you. I would have tried to get you photos of your flowers if you are not too far away from me. Glad you had a nice visit. Also glad you made it back safely. Next time you come home, send me a message and we can meet.

    • 2

      I never thought of that Donna. I did feel really out of touch withour internet at my beck and call all day. I will let you know when I am heading back, would love to meet up.

  2. 3

    Barbara H. said,

    I’m so sorry, Deborah. Time will pass. Maybe you should also visit in winter so you have an easier time going back? Thanks for introducing me to Carol’s garden.

    I have to tell you, you have been a great influence on me. I’ve been a crazy (well, crazier) woman this spring digging out grass and expanding / creating large beds. It’s just in the edging stage right now, along with adding new acquisitions to old ones, but I was thinking of you yesterday when finishing up an area, dripping sweat under the too hot, unusually hot, NE Alabama sun. I thought this property was too big to do what I did in Portland, but now I’m realizing I’ll just have several small Portland gardens.

    Take a cooling dip in the water for me.

    • 4

      Visiting in winter would make it waaay easier to head back. But I am planning on visiting in the fall, got to plant some more flower bulbs!
      Good for you on the garden, I would love to see some photos sometimes. Sounds like the weather in Alabama and Barbados is similar, but I am sitting under an umbrella, sipping rum cocktails, lol.

  3. 5

    Here’s what you should do. Rip up the flowers and plant curcubits. Then go back to Barbados safe in the knowledge that they would have died whether you were there or not.

    Pleasant trip!!!

  4. 7

    I feel for you – having to leave your garden when everything is just coming into bud, but how wonderful that Carol will keep you up to date with photos.
    As you say,you can spend the summer thinking of all the projects that you can do when you return – that is half the pleasure of gardening.
    Have a good summer!

  5. 9

    I’m glad you have someone who may be able to visit & photograph for you. It’s exactly what I thought when you mentioned the buds. Take Care Deborah.

  6. 11

    Carol Flett said,

    Hi from Owen Sound, Ontario. If there any particular flowers in your garden that you want to see just tell me which ones and I will try to get some shots of them as soon as I go there.

  7. 13

    debsgarden said,

    Thanks for the link back to Carol’s post on your garden. I can see why you will miss it so much! Great photo of you in the garden, too! Summer in Barbados will be different! Is the weather there very hot? Here, barely into June, and we are hitting triple digits already!

  8. 15

    Donna said,

    Oh that is too bad…it was a lovely visit and I enjoyed it with you!!

  9. 17

    Racquel said,

    So sad that you will miss the blooms, but hopefully your friend stops by and gets some shots for you to enjoy. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

