Echoing

Doesn’t EVERY gardener copy?  My mother always said,’Imitation is the most sincere form of flattery’ and it is true. I must be flattering Brian Bixley outrageously.

When I visited his garden, I loved, loved all the chionodoxa all through his flower beds. But I find when I am planting my bulbs in the autumn, every spot that I think looks like a great place to plant a few bulbs, is already full. I cannot seem to remember where I planted bulbs last year, and it is heartbreaking to skewer a few bulbs. I have tried to get around this by heavily planting bulbs when I make a new bed, and not adding anymore, but now I wanted chionoxoxa through the Flora Glade.

As I walked around the garden,pondering my decision, I happened to spy some chionodoxa blooming in the peony walk.

That little light bulb went off above my head, and I ran to get my trowel. 

I could dig these out very easily, and transplant them into the Flora Glade. Everything is out of the ground, so I could see where there are big holes in the bulbs,

and tuck a few chionodoxa bulbs in here and there, without hurting anyone.

It worked beautifully (if I do say so myself),

 and in a few years, they should start spreading through the Glade.  Now if you will excuse me, I have a few muscari that could use the same treatment.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Me too. I must do some transplanting and rearranging. Those bulbs never seem to come up where you thought you planted them. The squirrels here are my gardeners. From peony walk to Flora glade, it sounds so romantic. I like your natural look to edging and paths too.

  2. 2

    I think everyone has the same problem, I can never remember where the gaps were when bulb planting time comes around once more. This year I have taken photos of each bed so that hopefully I will know where to plant my bulbs – hope it works! Cheers, Pauline.

  3. 3

    Donna said,

    love it….I try to mark and remember too but now is the time to move them..hmmm…one more item to add to the list…

  4. 4

    Lovely Deborah, I also steal ideas wherever I can!

  5. 5

    Jean said,

    It’s fun to see what you’re working on at Kilbourne Grove, Deborah. (I like to pay attention so that I can copy your ideas! :-)) -Jean

  6. 6

    Marguerite said,

    Great idea. I planted squill in my lawn last fall and intend to keep adding bulbs to this planting each year but haven’t a clue how I’ll plant without disturbing the bulbs already there. Hadn’t considered this when I first came up with the plan.

  7. 7

    Lisa said,

    You’re brave, moving flowering bulbs! How did they fare?

    • 8

      They actually fared very well indeed, although next year will be the true test. They hardly wilted at all, but they were almost finished blooming when I moved them.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

