Objects D’Art

Sorry, to keep boring you with Frank Kershaws garden again, but I feel there are so many valuable lessons in his garden, that you cannot appreciate them all in one go.  Decorative objects in a garden are almost as important as the plants.

 Often times, they give you someplace to rest your eye, and give order to what can be, a jumble of plants.

Whether you are using

a rock with a natural hollow for sedum,

Trillium

 

or stepping stones made up of a mosiac of pebbles, they add another layer to a garden.

And everyone needs a bench (or two) in their garden,certainly not to sit down and have a rest, (us gardeners never do that),

but so you can put your tools on it, and you know where they are!

28 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara H. said,

    Ha! Love the tool locator idea. I use, lose, and find my small clippers on a regular basis, though the finding time can vary from minutes to weeks!

  2. 3

    Donna said,

    Yep, that garden bench is about the least used thing in my garden.

  3. 5

    Anna said,

    Enjoying your visits to Frank Kershaw’s garden Deborah ~ certainly not boring ~ great pots and plants. That little water bowl in the top photo is just right for the space ~ exquisite.

  4. 7

    Loving your posts on this! The detail and whimsy are a total delight, love the mosaic =)

  5. 9

    Donna said,

    I agree that decorating the garden with wonderful objects is essential…it is like interior decorating…so much fun and I never quite decorate the same each year with my favorite objects…

  6. 13

    Some lovely stone pieces here.

  7. 15

    Art in the garden is wonderful for providing a focal point amongst all the plants, it also makes you slow down when working around it. We have a few benches in the garden and yes, they do get used, for morning coffe or afternoon tea, only for 10 minutes mind you !!

  8. 17

    Laurrie said,

    I love these subtle treasures, kind of hidden and a surprise to find in the garden. Very nice touches!

  9. 19

    That is definitely what I use my garden benches for–never for sitting.

  10. 21

    Marguerite said,

    LOL! I ‘ve looked at benches for my garden but often I find myself just sitting in the grass, who needs a bench. Now I know what the bench is really for.

  11. 23

    Lovely pictures, such subtle but interesting additions. I would LOVE to have a few of those benches in my garden, so very charming. 🙂

  12. 25

    Tunde Fehervari said,

    I was surprised to see my mosaic work (the Trillium) on the web… I am glad people liked it.

    • 26

      You are quite a talented artist, your work is just beautiful.

      • 27

        Tunde Fehervari said,

        thank you…
        I have made two other mosaics for Frank: an Orchid (Cypripedium purpurascens) and a Flowering Dogwood (Cornus florida – which is Frank’s mother’s favourite tree) flowers – they are in his garden, too.
        I enjoy so much working for Frank, because his garden is unique and inspiring. Being a garden designer, I have the sensibility for great settings.

      • 28

        I did get to see the other two, they were lovely.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

