Frank(ly) Kershaw

Although I am living in Barbados for three years, I still am trying to keep in touch with the Toronto/Canadian gardening scene. I still have a subscription to Canadian garden magazine, my membership is up to date at the Ontario Rock Garden and Hardy Plant Society, and the Toronto Botanical Gardens still sends me the program guide. All winter I was heartbroken over all the exciting courses I could have taken, and moped around. But my spirits lifted when I received the spring/summer guide and I saw Frank Kershaws course.

Frank had been my instructor in Garden Design at George Brown college in Toronto, and we had visited his garden as part of our course curriculum. At the time I did not have a camera, (what a dummy), and so no photos of his fabulous garden. But this course was the end of April, when I was back in Canada, so no excuses this time.

It figures it was a freezing cold, rainy day, Canada has certainly made sure that I got a taste of the weather that I had missed, lol. Although the course was on pruning, I wanted you to see Franks garden instead, it is just beautiful. 

You notice the ‘colour echo’ at the front of the house.

The berberis, dogwoods, pick up the colour of the valance, and ties it into the garden. There is also a purple smoke bush that has not leafed out yet.

Here Frank divided his front yard from his neighbours, but did not screen it off, this way it still has an open feel.

On the other side, he used Emerald cedars to make another ‘open’ division between his garden and his neighbours.

Hopefully, one day mine will look as good.

Jasminus nudiflorum, or Winter Jasmine, first flowered in January, and is reflowering in April. It is actually a lax shrub that needs some support. If it does not get it, it runs along the ground and roots very easily.

Moving into the back yard.

The rock garden wall.

The waterfall of grass. Most of them are Hakonechloa, and it is magical in the summer.

The woodland garden, it is lovely in the spring.

It wraps around the corner,

with Daphne mezerum on the side.

 Behind the garage, there is another garden bed, but I would like to draw your attention to the trellising on the back of the garage.

 What a fabulous use of tromp l’oeil, it certainly fills a large blank space.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hello again, Frank is obviously a usefiull man to know. I love the trellis on the back of the garage….

  2. 3

    Marguerite said,

    Looks like you’re using your time wisely while you are here and cramming in as much gardening as possible. Frank’s garden is lovely. Really like the idea of creating a divide between neighbours that isn’t a solid wall and invites chatting.

  3. 5

    Barbara H. said,

    Lovely, lovely. Thanks for the reminder about the grass waterfall! I just purchased 22 small pots of dwarf Mondo grass for a shaded bank. It’s not the ideal plant to do this with but I may revise my plans and dig up varigated liriope to also use. Sadly, I don’t think the Hakonechloa does well here. I certainly have not found it and the one nursery where I asked had tried it with no luck.

    I’m so glad you are getting your hands dirty and also that you are getting just enough winter to perhaps make the return trip more bearable.

  4. 7

    patty said,

    What a coincidence! Frank Kershaw is speaking at my Master Gardener meeting tonight at the RGB (Royal Botanical Gardens). As I have never heard of him before I am now quite curious to hear and see the man. He does have some great features in his garden.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

