Holy Helleborus

I have a multitude. Not as many as I would like, I am a greedy girl, but 45 helleborus. Fortunately (from a design point of view) I have 3 different varieties. Unfortunately (from a collector point of view) I have only 3 different varieties.

And to make to even worse, I have mixed up the tags, so I am not sure which plant belongs to which name. If any one knows, please let me know, and this mystery can be solved.

From work (I love the free plants that are ‘garbage’ when the flowering finishes) I received Helleborus Gold Collection ‘Green Corsican’, HGC  ‘Jacob’, and HGC ‘SilverMoon’.

This Helleborus is the very first to flower. The white flowers, that age to green, appear on green stems.

This is the next. Again, white flowers, but they turn blush pink with age, and they appear on red stems.

This (obviously) is the last. It flowers differently, instead of each flower bud arising from the soil, it has stems that are above ground all winter, and they are multiflowered.

Can you tell the difference, I can’t tell the difference?

P.S. They have now been identified as #1- Green Corsican, #2-Jacob and #3- SilverMoon. Thank you everyone for all your help.

23 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sorry, I am no help. Maybe Carolyn can get you an ID. 45 is a lot, I only have three, total and they are getting flooded out a bit with all this rain.

  2. 3

    Donna said,

    I lost tags and count…I do not have 45 but maybe 15…different varieties but really want a real white one for my white garden…the promised white is really turning pink…love the ones you have but so not know the names…Donna is right that Carolyn may know

  3. 5

    teza said,

    D:
    Nothing like a challenge on one’s day off to keep the grey matter stirring! Methinks that they are as follows:

    1 – Helleborus ‘Green Corsican’ – typically they do not have red petioles and you mention green stems in the post. [Confusion steps in when you mention that it blooms first, whereas I would thing H. niger ‘Jacob’ would be first so I may have them switched, but I don’t think so.

    2 – Helleborus ‘Jacob’ – as it does tend to maintain a pristine white flower when it first emerges with flaring, star shaped sepals. It does belong to H. niger, making it the hardiest, and in most cases the first to flower. [See confusion above!]

    3 – Helleborus ‘Silvermoon’ – as a rule, those belonging to the ‘ericsmithii’ species maintain the pewtery overlay to the foliage.

    They are all striking specimens. As a fellow collector, I found myself returning to a ‘slight’ obsession – I think I have added five new ones this Spring alone, and there is always room for more. Hope this helps in your identification challenge!

  4. 7

    They are all gorgeous Deborah, I’m so glad the timing of your trip worked out so well.

  5. 9

    I love Hellebores – I learnt about these lovely plants from all my “Blotanical” friends and now am the proud owner of 4. I can’t wait for them to flower. Yours are really beautiful!

  6. 11

    patty said,

    Whatever they turn out to be it doesn’t take away from the fact that they are all beauties. I like it when they flower with their face to the sky.

  7. 13

    Barbara H. said,

    I’m so happy that you are getting to enjoy the fruits of some of your labors. I have two, purchased last year with no labels. One is a purple which insisted on turning its back to my front window when blooming and the white one screamed out “Here I am!!!” as it reveled in the joy of spring. Can you see yours from the house or do you have to go outside?

  8. 15

    Deborah, I guess I got here too late, but I am glad that the Donnas have faith in me! I agree with the ID above. ‘Jacob’ flowers white but the flowers age to pink. Here it starts blooming in November and is still blooming now. The flowers are smaller than other H. niger cultivars. If you had just shown me the first photo without the list of possibilities, I wouldn’t have said ‘Green Corsican’ because mine have a distinct greenish tint to the flowers from the time they first come out. The last is very distinctively ‘Silvermoon’, a H. x ericsmithii. Beautiful. Carolyn

  9. 17

    garden muses said,

    I wish I had a job that gave away these beauties as “garbage”, sigh. Serious hellebore envy going on here with garden muses!

  10. 19

    I have been having hellebore envy for the last month or so– I don’t have a single one! I have no idea why I have overlooked these striking beauties in the past, but in the last few weeks, I have come to appreciate them on all the different garden blogs. Your hellebores are pretty, identified or not. I especially like the white one.

  11. 21

    joeloc@verizon.net said,

    I just began my collection of Helleborus. I can only tell you the name of the second one because I have two. They are “Jacob” and do bloom first, pure white and mature to green. Today I just purchased “Cinnamon Snow. I have five and they are in a little rough shape. A friend found them for me in a ShopRite Supermarket. They were $5 each, but I got them for $1 each. After a good watering, they don’t look so bad. Last year I purchased my first at The Philadelphia Flower Show. It reminds me a lot of your third photo. A lot of buds that are deep pink before they open. After open the inside is white but ages to a rich pink with green.

    • 22

      Sounds like you got an amazing bargain, $1 each, score. I hate to mention how many I purchased last year, hoping I find them in bloom when I return to Canada.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment, hope to see you again soon.

  12. 23

    […] you want to read about my older ones, you can do so here. Rate this: Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

