Witchy Poo!

I am greedy, greedy for spring!  It is my favourite time of the year, nothing (in my mind) compares to it. And so I am always looking for plants, trees, bulbs etc. that are early. Now early does not always mean the same thing to everyone. To all you lovely UK bloggers, early is January. I would love to have something flower in January, but there is no chance of that in Owen Sound. When I lived in Toronto or in Kingston,  I would sometimes have snowdrops flowering in February, but at Kilbourne Grove the snow is deep. It often doesn’t melt until the end of March. So the bulbs and perennials (hello Helleborus) stay buried until then, but the witch hazels don’t care about the snow. They are above snow level, and just give it a wave.

I started last year with Hamamelis ‘Arnold Promise’.

Now he is two, and has put on a lot of growth.

I think that his flowers are larger than last year. They look gorgeous, shining against the snow.

 I enjoyed him so much, that I decided to add another. Hamamelis ‘Magic Fire’ or ‘Feuerzauber’  is a lovely red/orange, brilliant against the cedar backdrop.

I gave her (funny how she is female ) a underskirt of crocus tommasinianus, purple to set off her fiery locks.

Now the question is, can I stop at two?

26 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Oh my, do not stop. If I could physically plant bulbs to cover my property I would, and throw in a which hazel. But bulb planting is hard work, and in our climate, usually do not flower for long. This year may be a surprise as that cold weather is a bit reluctant to go. Tulips here are not even opened as of yet. Any day now, though.

  2. 3

    gardeningasylum said,

    The good thing about the slow spring has been the persistence of the witch hazel blooms – your ‘Arnold’ lokks amazingly happy at ony 2 year. ‘Jelena’ is just now finishing, and I think she’s my favorite – always room for more!

  3. 5

    Donna said,

    I love the witch hazel and have vowed if I have to replace a tree it will be with a witch hazel…we too have bulbs blooming in March which is early here too…with this cold spring they have stayed longer than usual…I have a couple of early tulip popping up but not as yet opening…this week they will definitely be up…

  4. 7

    Anna said,

    Might be hard to stop at two ~ beside which isn’t there a theory that you should always plant in threes or fives? 🙂

  5. 9

    teza said,

    D:
    Hammamelis is wonderful, Arnold’s Promise, Jelena, Diane – all are garden worthy and yet I sidestepped the genus and went with the winter witch hazel, Corylus spicata, whose flowers aren’t spidery like these, but pendant racemes of butter yellow.

  6. 11

    Two witch hazels enough? Never! Actually, I wish I had one here, but I just love their blooms, and the fact they’ll flower far in advance of most other plants in the season. I just have to vicariously own them through everyone else. I wonder what color you’ll choose next? 😛

  7. 13

    So beautiful!! What a wonderful spring addition, although you may feel terribly winterlogged as compared to the UK, you really do have so many more plant choices than other parts of Canada. So nice to have a pair! 🙂

  8. 15

    Jess said,

    We had an early spring and its already summer down here it seems. I agree that one of the good things about slow seasons is that things last longer. Ours have been entirely too rapid.

  9. 17

    You can never have too many witch hazels, if you have the room, go for it ! Your Arnold Promise is looking better than mine did, must be your cooler temperatures.

  10. 19

    I planted a witch hazel the other year and I am ready for another. I love them because they are the first plant to bloom in my garden and they scream out “let the party get started” with their streamer like blooms. Funny how you refer to one as a he and the other a she! Cute!

  11. 21

    garden muses said,

    Witch hazels are among those shrubs I never get tired with and you should find “Arnold Promise” getting better with age with even more blooms. It’s been so dreary weather-wise this spring that those bright yellow blooms are most appreciated. Welcome back!

  12. 23

    Marguerite said,

    Witchhazels are so tempting with their early spring blooms. I would be tempted to say ‘one more!’ but I suppose it depends on the space available. They do get quite wide. I have a native witchhazel planted and it blooms in fall. Perhaps that would be a different variety to try and then you have one at both ends of the season?

    • 24

      I can find the space, and I think that I need more. I went for the early ones, as I am always so desperate for something that time of year, where in fall, you aren’t.But maybe I should check it out.

  13. 25

    Jean said,

    And to think you were worried that spring wouldn’t wait for you! Thank goodness for the witch hazel. I hope your spring comes on like gangbusters soon. I just got back from a few days in Maine where spring is also very late and even my forsythia hasn’t begun to bloom yet. While I was away, it got hot in south central Pennsylvania, and everything in my Gettysburg garden just popped into bloom or into leaf! When I got back last night, the changes made me feel as though I had been away for a few weeks instead of a few days.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

