Notice Anything?

One of the most popular flower posts on my blog is about celosia. I think it is because it is an unusual flower to most people. I have never seen it for sale in a garden centre, but you certainly can buy seeds and start your own in the garden. It is a very lovely flower in bouquets.

Imagine my surprise when I started snorkeling in Barbados and found the underwater version of celosia.

As the coral dies they wash up on the beach and I have brought a few home to decorate my terrace.

Do you see what I see?

22 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Are we seeing hearts or buttocks?
    Best
    R

  2. 3

    catmint said,

    I want to comment on this wonderful post but the only thing i can think of to say is: ‘wow!!!!!!’

  3. 5

    The coral is very pretty and is popular in interior design. I am guessing it looks really great on the terrace too.

  4. 7

    patty said,

    Funny, celosia is a very popular plant in Ontario Canada. The juxtaposition of the celsosia with the coral is wonderful. You have a great eye an an artistic mind to see their resemblance.

  5. 9

    Donna said,

    I used to find this lovely coral as child on the beach on the bay side of FL…

  6. 11

    Jess said,

    I see brains in both. My mother hates the stuff because it is a crazy invasive at her house. So now, I am scared of it. And it has brains too, which is probably why she can’t get rid of it.

  7. 13

    Why doesn’t anyone call it ‘cockscomb’ anymore? Now it’s always called Celosia in catalogs… but the common name is so evocative, especially if you’ve ever raised poultry! Cheers OCG

  8. 15

    Jennie said,

    Both are very beautiful. Snorkelling in Barbados must be a great experience – pity you do not have an underwater camera!

  9. 17

    That flower is very 1970s!

  10. 19

    I definitely see brains in both (shudders a little lol).

  11. 21

    Jo said,

    Great pics! Love the celosia. What species is it pse and where can I get it in Toronto? Will even try seeds.

    • 22

      Sorry to take so long to get back to you Jo, but I was in Toronto myself, (no internet). The celosia is the cristata variety. I have never seen the plants sold, but you can buy the seeds through Stokes Seeds in St. Catharines. When I worked at the flower shop we used to have seeds fall out of the plants all the time, I am sure you could buy a stalk and see if the tiny black seeds fall out, and this is a good time to get them. As soon as there is a frost the flowers are finished for another year.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

