Ah, Life!

You really never know where it is going to take you.

A few readers commented on my Big Love post, what a  difference a year made, and it got me thinking.

I thought you might like to see what Kilbourne Grove looks like from the back. I took this last April, standing where the Deliverance house used to be.

 When Ian and I were first married, he was a junior loans officer at a bank.  I knew what he did, he gave money to people so they could buy a car or a house.  When he became a bank manager, I thought that we had hit the big time, and so did my mum.  She was so proud that her daughter had married a “Bank Manager’, she thought it was such a prestigious job.   She didn’t like it so much when this ‘prestigious’ job took her daughter further away from her though, lol.  Ian changed positions at the bank, but neither his family or I were ever sure what he did, it was something (I am sure boring) at the bank.  But imagine my excitement (and my mums dismay) when we were transferred to London. Of course, she came to visit, and a good time was had by all.

Now she would have been further dismayed (and excited) by another international posting, and would already have booked a flight.  I never imagined when I married Ian what an ‘interesting’ life we would lead. I thought that my life would be spent in Toronto, and never dreamed of living abroad.  It is not all fun and games, it can be sad leaving all your friends and family behind. Those calls on Christmas Day, when you can hear all the laughing in the background, and  you are not there to share it can be heartbreaking. 

One day, when Ian and I have retired to Kilbourne Grove, we will be able to reflect on the adventures we have had in our lives and how it made us the people we are today.  PERFECT…lol!

32 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara said,

    Hi Deborah, I love the shot of your house from the back. So many pictures of flowers, walks, lanes and other details are interesting – but the big picture is great to see. I just love the porches and the tower. My love and marriage led to me living in Germany, so I know what you’re talking about. Barbara

  2. 3

    Donna said,

    what an absolutely beautiful home…I hope you are able to continue to realize your dreams and have fun on all your unexpected journeys…I have often thought of living in Europe…it may happen if I find a lot of money some day…

  3. 5

    gagarden said,

    Deborah, your home is really a stately old gal. I love the mansard roof and turret. Oh, and those porches from which to sit and enjoy the garden, so peaceful a place. You really have to miss this place, even with all the excitement of your exotic travels. I could retire there, no problem.

    • 6

      Love the porches, the small one of the kitchen is our go to in spring and fall, really catches the sun. The big one is perfect in the summer, when you need the shade. I am looking forward to retirement, just talking about it.

  4. 7

    Hi Deborah there in paradise! It is great to see your house and garden. Your scilla ?looks lovely, as does the garden layout. Your home looks to be the glorious crown in the neighborhood . . . what a wonderful project restoring this handsome historic house. It is great that you are able to travel and live in other cultures for extended periods of time . . . adding great chapters to your life.

  5. 9

    Kelly said,

    Wonderful post Deb, you are so right! It’s great to be open to new and exciting adventures- you just never know where opportunities will take you!

  6. 11

    Christine said,

    Klibourne Grove looks like a beautiful house. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  7. 13

    ricki said,

    When you have had your fill of travel and adventure, what a wonderful place to come “home” to.

  8. 15

    One said,

    Hi Deborah, I’ve been to Toronto and love that place. Things change and do remember to enjoy the changes. And if you don’t, do not worry. Things will change again. 🙂

  9. 17

    Andrea said,

    oh wow, you are so blessed. You did not say what you are, you just mentioned the husband. I am so happy he had his job and you had him, haha, because you’ve gone places and not only that but wonderful places! Congratulations for a life well lived. So you deserve now the comfort of just lazing down and do what you want, like gardening. Yes, what a life! you are very privileged unlike most of us! If i were you, i will be very happy tending those flowers and plants and also beautifying that house.

  10. 19

    Garden Sense said,

    What a wonderful house to turn into a home! We, too, lived overseas, and our lives are richer for it. I’ve awarded you the Stylish Blogger Award – you can visit Garden Sense to learn more. If you’d rather not participate, no problem. But I hope more people will discover your great blog!

  11. 21

    Barbara H. said,

    Thanks for the long view, Deborah, about both your garden and your life. The pattern of the garden is more obvious from this vantage point. How interesting it will be as your life pattern emerges, too. The sadness and adventure and joy over snowdrops – it all merges into beautiful pictures, as kaleidoscopes do.

    • 22

      I always like to know about more about the bloggers I read, I am sooo nosy. I thought it would be good to get a picture from this angle, they will probably be rebuilding behind us soon, and I won’t get the chance again.

  12. 23

    Jean said,

    I really liked seeing your garden from this angle, Deborah. I agree with Barbara that it gave me a much better sense of the overall pattern and how the various parts relate to one another and to the house. I’m glad that you have the beauty of Barbados to offset the frustration of being separated from your beloved Kilbourne Grove. Are you still planning a trip home for spring? -Jean

  13. 25

    Marguerite said,

    Deborah, I’ve never seen a full picture of Kilbourne Grove until now. What a beautiful home, no wonder you refused to let it go when you moved. How wise of you to look at the big picture and know that eventually you will get to live in that home and look back on your adventures with a smile.

    • 26

      Marguerite, I did post a photo of the house, when I first started blogging, also the library when we (kind of) finished decorating. I should post more pictures of it, maybe this summer.

  14. 27

    Alistair said,

    Hello Deborah, as a new visitor to your site, I was left unsure as to which is the real Deborah. Is it the one who lives in a small condo in down town Toronto or is it this other lovely creature, Scarlett having married her Rhett Butler. Anyway I love Kilbourne and its lovely grounds as much as you like the pictures of my ugly garden. Keep up the writing style, I love it.

    • 28

      You can all me anything you want, as long as you don’t call me late for dinner! (My dad always used to say that, lol).
      Thank you for visiting Alistair, and I didn’t find your garden ugly, maybe I should have a second look!

  15. 29

    Alistair said,

    Deborah, sorry it was another of my commenter’s who said that they liked the pictures of my ugly garden.

  16. 31

    patty said,

    Home is where the heart is. It seems to me that is what you are saying. Enjoy the beach and warmth and everything else good you have right now, knowing when the time is right you have a home to return to.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

