Island Safari

Ian has a thing for Land Rovers. He sooo wants one. So when he saw the ad for this company, he was hooked. He has wanted to go on this tour since we arrived, so this weekend we did it.

This is a great way to see parts of Barbados that are difficult to get to by car, the roads can be very rough and quite hard on your shocks. The Land Rovers have 4 wheel drive and took us off the road and quite close to the coast.

Easier to look ahead,

then to look down.

Very scary,

 

We also went into Bathsheba. This is the ‘surfing’ town.

Someone lost their house.

The Soup Bowl is here, which is apparently the best spot to surf.

Walking on the beach.

If it wasn’t for the palm trees, you would think this church was in England.

Lunch, the highlight of my day! We stopped at Sunbury Plantation House.

Doesn’t everyone need a cannon!

After lunch we went up high,

a great view.

Graffiti is everywhere!

On this tour we were on the Land Rover all day, however they also have one that is half a day on a catamaran, I think that one is next.

34 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lula (onbotanicalphotography.blogspot.com) said,

    You are so much lucky!! I would anything for a weekend in the sea! Thanks for your pick. best, LUla

  2. 3

    Valerie said,

    What a beautiful place. Thanks for taking us along. V

  3. 5

    I am so jealous of you at the beach. I was so amazed to see graffiti on the plants. How sad. I may try a small carving on my aloe just to see if it works. I have so many of them, sacrificing one leaf will not really hurt my crop.

  4. 7

    Jenn said,

    Oh the natural world is just so majestic. Gorgeous pictures!

  5. 9

    Laurrie said,

    It’s like you are on permanent vacation, taking wonderful tours and seeing breath taking sights. But you live there! You have landed in a magical place.

  6. 11

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, I really could have believed that the church was in a small English village. But yes, the Palm trees are something of a giveaway. Safaris and surfing…this IS the life!!

  7. 13

    Sandra Jonas said,

    Dear D. Lucky you to escape the terrible winter.
    Happy to see you are enjoying yourself!

  8. 15

    Barbara H. said,

    Oh, what a lovely tour. I didn’t realize how challenging seeing the sight can be there. The catamaran trip sounds great – can’t wait!

  9. 17

    We have friends who are on St. John, one of my favorite places in the world, right now, and their children are messaging with my son several times a day. I am vicariously enjoying their vacation and your new location. What’s funny is that my Revolver Map on my blog shows a reader in Barbados (if you click on the map and point the cursor at the dot it shows the location) and I just realized it’s you!!!!

  10. 19

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    The cliff side scenery is truly breathtaking – it literally snatches the breath away from you! Stunning! And the graffiti – what would Rob Ford ever do with himself in the Barbadoes! LOL! Keep the photos coming – I’m buried up to you know where in snow at this very moment!
    B

  11. 21

    The lost house is amazing!!! The land rovers look like the perfect vehicle for hard to access places, better than a long and arduous hike. I am quite jealous of your adventure, I’ve been freezing cold for the better part of the winter this year…

  12. 23

    p3chandan said,

    Its so nice to spend such lazy days at the beach, just strolling, get your bare wet in the hot sun, suck in the beautiful sceneries, breath in the fresh salty air and of course my favourite…tuck in some yummy food! Great photos of those beautiful sceneries!

  13. 25

    lifeshighway said,

    A beautiful place. I have to say I have never seen graffiti on a plant!

  14. 27

    Garden Sense said,

    Fabulous photos of spectacular scenery! I enjoyed my virtual trip with you – a nice break from our winter weather.

  15. 29

    Looks like you are settling in and having a great time.

  16. 31

    I agree, that church, sans palm trees, really could be English! Looks like a fun trip, and your weather looks gorgeous…of course! 😉

  17. 33

    Andrea said,

    Hi, the place is wonderful and a good site for photo safari too. There are also places here which look like that, and yes for surfing also. Yes, we also have those rocks formed like houses because of ardent water surf.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

