On The Terrace

I guess I could have titled this post Free Plants Are Great Part 5  instead. For some reason, people love giving me free plants, and I love to receive them, lol.

When the lady Ian was replacing went back to the States, she asked if I would be interested in adopting her plants. I am sure that you realize that there was no question that I would say no! So the maintenance team at the complex brought them over and I lucked out.

The best was this huge Ficus benjamina or Weeping Fig. I am a bit of a size queen, love statement plants, the bigger the better.

Recognize the dark settee from our terrace in Toronto, we had it shipped down as the seating provided by the landlord was limited. Also the black wing chair is ours, and the white and blue ceramic stool, we had those at Kilbourne Grove. On the other side of the settee is the white ceramic stool from Toronto. I love these stools, they are great little tables, extra seating and I do not have to worry about them being exposed to the elements. I want more!

can you see the reflection of the lagoon in the window?

We also brought this marble topped table from our terrace in Toronto. Instead of dining at it, we use it as a display piece. The Ficus lyrata is another statement behind the table, and I grouped two colour co-ordinated pots with it.

The bougainvillea is on the other side of the terrace, it is still quite small, but I am hoping that it will grow quickly, the landscape staff here are always pruning the ones planted in the ground, so I have my fingers crossed. I want it to fill in this corner, as well as drape over the railing.

So far that is it for plants, however I am sure as time goes on I will be adding to my collection.

30 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gardeningasylum said,

    That ficus is a beautiful specimen – so nice it and those others were passed along to you. That bougainvillea will look stunning if it drapes as you’ve planned!

  2. 3

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, What a monster of a plant the Ficus is…but, if it were mine it would probably be dead right now as I am writing this comment for I have absolutely no luck with houseplants. I am sure that under your tender care they will all flourish. And, what could be better than a terrace dripping with Bougainvillea?!!

    • 4

      Darling E, I am hoping that I can keep it alive. I am actually horrible with house plants, I would rather turn my energies towards the garden. But I am hoping, after all I sit out here every day!

  3. 5

    Kelly said,

    Deb, you have really managed to give this place a personal touch and a feeling of “home”. Love all the greenery!

  4. 7

    Your terrace looks so lovely Deborah . . . and most appealing, as I look out on this winter storm landscape. Snowed in . . . are you not terribly jealous!! What a wonderful gift of plants . . . beautiful ones too. They get to live outdoors all year round . . . lucky ones!

  5. 9

    Laurrie said,

    How nice to inherit plants! I can’t wait to see that bougainvillea in a few months as it starts to spread and grace the terrace.

  6. 11

    Marguerite said,

    It looks like you’ve really managed to make yourself comfortable in your new home. That terrace looks very inviting.

  7. 13

    banner6 said,

    Beginning to look like home. You scored and the plants found a good home. I love these win-win situations.

  8. 15

    Wow Deborah, what an impressive terrace display. Amazing. The ceramic stool is gorgeous.

  9. 17

    Ficus lyrata is fab plant and copes with even the low temps overnight in the average british house in the winter.
    You sound like you are settling in well. Great that you have some things from home around you!
    Best Wishes
    R

  10. 19

    lifeshighway said,

    I love free plants too. Mainly in my office. As I find poor neglected plants lanquishing in other peoples offices I free them and give them a good home. One day I may have to move my desk in the hall way.

    • 20

      Good for you. It is scary what some people do to plants. When I worked at the flower shop we would have to go to offices and look at peoples sick plants. I felt so bad for them.

  11. 21

    It is wonderful you are adding pieces from home. The terrace looks lovely with the touch of blue and the shade of bougainvillea will be gorgeous with the blue as it fills in. I would not turn down free plants either. Lucky gift of the ficus. It fills the corner perfectly.

  12. 23

    My experience with gifted houseplants has always been to receive scraggly specimens from friends that you then feel compelled to keep. You lucked out.

  13. 25

    debsgarden said,

    I think plants are just naturally drawn to you! The bougainvillea will look wonderful when it grows up to drape over the railing . How romantic! It’s nice that some of your pieces from Canada have transplanted so well. A little piece of home makes the new place more comfortable and familiar.

  14. 27

    Grace said,

    SCORE! I love your plants. They look like they’re exactly where they belong.

  15. 29

    Barbara said,

    The plants are great, but also the glimpse we get of where you live. You’ll probably know how to stop the ficus from losing all its leaves, like mine always do.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

