My New Digs

I always enjoy looking for a new place to live, I love checking out different ‘lifestyles’, could it be because I am nosy?  Nah….

The bank hired a relocation firm to help us, and Susan was brilliant!!!!  She was always cheerful and upbeat and pointed out potential problems that we might never had thought off.

One fun time was a trip to the grocery store.  As most of the food on Barbados is flown in, it can be very expensive. After a pricey breakfast at the hotel we were staying in, we decided to buy a box of Kellogg Raisin Bran and have breakfast in our room. It was $10 US. Holy moley, our habits well have to change a bit.  Susan introduced us to Caribbean brands like Sunshine cereals, and explained what some of the more unusual produce in the vegetable aisle was called and how to cook it, so informative.

So, back to our new home.  It is on the west coast of Barbados, just north of Speightstown. Ian is working in Bridgetown, which is quite a drive, and will be even more, as it is on the opposite side of the road to what we are used too.  I foresee many, many very early driving trips, the roundabouts will be an experience in themselves.

The complex is located on the beach with a lagoon in the middle, for all the owners boats. (Ian has already been scoping out the sailboats).

There is a wooden boardwalk to the pool, which is on an island in the lagoon, with a small restaurant and bar (I have been scoping out that, lol). 

We are on the third floor (top floor) and have a three bed, three bath, apartment. It comes furnished, like our flat in London did, not quite our taste, but very livable.

The living room.

Our bedroom

Our huge bed!

Your room

 

Or perhaps you prefer this room, that is no problem, your choice

The best part is the terrace. The only table is on it, so that tells me the weather is always nice enough to eat outside, something I am looking forward to.

When you read my future blog posts, you can picture me sitting here, writing them

 Or maybe I will sit here

Unfortunately, I don’t have my own garden, although I can have plants on my terrace. There are a team of gardeners who take care of the place, so I shall have to make friends with them. Perhaps when they are pruning, they will think of me.

There is also a yacht club, on a point of land, that extends out from the complex like a comma.

You can see the entrance to the lagoon in the centre of the complex

You have to be a member to go there, and luckily the owners are, so we will get to use it as well. 

There is another pool, restaurant and even a pool table, Ian and I will be able to keep up our skills.

Ian and our real estate agents discussing the finer points of pool.

 You can see the beach from here

We move in December 1st, so we will be spending Christmas on the beach, looking forward to it

25 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sylvia (England) said,

    Not long now! It must feel better now you know where you are going to live and what a place! I am sure you will get lots of visitors and have a lot of fun living there. You are going to have a lot of lovely memories to get you through the winters once you get home, do enjoy yourselves. I do hope the gardeners are looking forward to their worldwide fame!

    Good luck and best wishes Sylvia (England)

  2. 2

    Valerie said,

    Such a gorgeous place. I am sure you will be blissfully happy there.

  3. 3

    Barbara H. said,

    You got a chuckle out of me when I saw “my” room! I prefer the one with the larger bed, please. It looks like a lovely home base for explorations. I hope the packing has gone well and you are ahead of schedule! I know, it’s hard and always takes longer than one thinks – the closer you get to the end, especially. You and Ian have my best wishes for a wonderful 3 years of of living, loving, and exploring. I look forward to your updates.

  4. 4

    What a lovely place to call ‘home’. It is good to have Susan to help you get situated in your new found apartment and island paradise. I bet you wish you had a little plot of land to garden. So many new plant to try, probably little time though.

  5. 5

    Laurrie said,

    The only table in that lovely apartment is on the terrace. I love that! How differently you will be living. No garden, but such delights as a yacht club and beach and lagoon and nearby restaurant, all at your feet. I think you will really enjoy your stay in Barbados even if you miss your garden. Thanks for the tour of the new digs.

  6. 6

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, Well, if one is going to make a change,make it a big one, then one will really notice the difference. Your ‘lifestyle’, particularly your winter ‘lifestyle’ will be very different. Last year frozen waterfalls and this year the beach. What fun I know that you will both have. Enjoy!!

  7. 7

    Patty said,

    Looks wonderful. Warm and inviting. Now where did I put my pina colada?

  8. 8

    What fun Deborah! I love the table on the terrace . . . I can imagine many lovely meals with your new friends there. Happy Move! ;>)

  9. 9

    Well Deborah, even if it’s not quite appointed to your tastes, it still looks like a fabulous place to me. Great balconies, and waterfront views. What more could you ask for? (Other than cheaper cereal LOL).

  10. 10

    I am officially green with envy!! I’m glad you were able to find such a lovely abode. 🙂

  11. 11

    Gilly said,

    Deborah, it all looks lovely. I will think of you when it is minus 10 here and a foot deep in snow and we can’t get the car up the drive. And those spare rooms will seem very inviting. I hope you really enjoy living there.
    Gillian

  12. 12

    Ok, I’ll take that second room, especially come February. How great for you! I look forward to what you’ll be planting on the terraces and hearing about your encounters with the gardeners there. Very interested in learning about the local grocery market / local food preparations as well.

  13. 13

    lynne said,

    It looks so lovely. That balcony…..those views……that beach…… (sigh)

  14. 14

    PatioPatch said,

    Hello Deborah – ahh it will soon feel like home and what a place to have to put roots down in! No doubt you will soon have the gardeners eating out of your hand!

    Laura

  15. 15

    Jennifer said,

    Congratulations on the new digs! It will be cold and miserable here in the Toronto area and so think of us when you are sitting on the beach and send some warm thoughts our way.

  16. 16

    Deborah, it looks lovely *and* fun! Enjoy. 🙂

  17. 17

    debsgarden said,

    It looks like vacation! I hope everything goes well as you move in and get settled. I am looking forward to hearing what Christmas is like in Barbados!

  18. 18

    Sandra Jonas said,

    Good luck! Looks like paradise. I am certain you will enjoy it. Sure beats the snow.
    Guess you no longer want the lily seed. It is ripe now.

  19. 19

    Joy said,

    Wow … that is going to be one heck of a change weather wise !
    looks wonderful and I am sure you will really enjoy it : )
    Joy

  20. 20

    Anna said,

    Think that I could pass on my garden to live in such a spot 🙂 Have fun settling in Deborah. When’s the house warming party?

  21. 21

    What a lovely new home and it’s just waiting for you to make it your own. I see lots of lovely pots and plants on the terrace. I do envy you being able to eat out on the terrace all year. And then there are all those new foods to learn about so you can avoid the $10 cereal…

  22. 22

    Do we hate you now or hate you later???!!! That spare room has my name written all over it. You lucky girl. We need photos of a tan lookin D sipping cocktails from the balcony darling! Gee have fun my friend! Happy thanksgiving from the frozen wastelands of Wisconsin!

  23. 24

    commonweeder said,

    Wow! There you are setting up a new nest, which I always love, and in Barbados! All that sun and water. Will you swim every day?

  24. 25

    Racquel said,

    What a gorgeous place to live Deborah. It will be nice to dine alfresco, huh? 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

