Berry Beautiful

I know, I know! Ampelopsis brevipedunculata is invasive in parts of the United States, although I think that is the species, not the variegated cultivar Elegans’.  But I have been growing this plant for 4 years now, and have not found a single seedling yet!

I know it is possible though, my mum grew this in Niagara, and had a few seedlings every year.  But it was a very popular plant, everyone wanted it, so I really had to beg to get one, lol.

Luckily I got one and I chose to plant it in my Kitchen Garden.

 I think it is a lovely plant with soft green and white variegated leaves that emerge with a pink cast in the spring.

But the berries are what the plant is grown for,

they are called porcelain berry for a good reason.

You can see why I chose this colour for the tower in the middle of the garden.

If you can’t identify what this tower was formerly, you can read about it here.

30 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gardeningasylum said,

    Hi Deborah, I’ve had this growing on arbors for 8-9 years and still get visitors telling me it’s invasive – ‘Elegans’ just isn’t. Over the years I’ve nurtured just a few babies and happy to have them! Love it on your blue structure 🙂

  2. 3

    Anna said,

    Oh what beautiful berries!

  3. 5

    fairegarden said,

    What a perfect color for that vine, Deborah! It looks perfect. The variegated is less invasive, I believe. My neighbor has it, it is eating his shed. Maybe it is more invasive here in the south?
    Frances

  4. 7

    Jane said,

    I have had it growing on a trellis at my trailer for three years and it is growing quite slowly – I got the warnings too when I bought it but no problem so far. And the berry colours are to die for:) Well, not really…

  5. 9

    Great reuse for the lovely blue trellis. I’ve never seen this vine variegated before, but I can say from personal experience the other down here in Florida is awful!

  6. 11

    Racquel said,

    Those towers are a perfect compliment to the berries. You clever woman! 😉

  7. 13

    Laurrie said,

    I love that snowy white variegation, I’d grow it just for that, never mind the interesting berries!

  8. 15

    Hi Deborah, those berries *are* gorgeous! I read the link to find out what your tower was — clever girl. 😉

  9. 17

    lizdee said,

    That’s way pretty. Porcelain berry isn’t too invasive here–I would love to plant that cultivar!

  10. 19

    repurposing always makes me smile…your tower came out looking like an expensive purchase.

  11. 21

    So stunning Deborah!!! Those leaves are beautiful, and the berries are a perfect colour. Such great planning for a focal point in your kitchen garden.

  12. 23

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, What a perfect match! You are so clever at spotting the details in your plants and always such an eye for colour. That ‘ house blue’ is such a dynamic and interesting shade which works so well outdoors.

  13. 25

    Love the berries and your tower. Great combo. But mostly, the leaf color adds textural punch.

  14. 27

    It is a beautiful vine D. Cooler temps may keep it under control … love the last shot!! Great colors. ;>)

  15. 29

    Joy said,

    Deborah girl I am just catching up on blogs now .. I have had this gorgeous vine for about 7 or 8 years now and it is “Elegans” and it has not behaved badly at all AND I love those beautiful berries .. Do you have the chocolate vine ? I just started one of those this past season and I am really curious about the flower and scent etc .. Vines are great plants aren’t they ?
    Joy
    PS .. what made you leave your job ?

    • 30

      Good to know Joy, I don’t have to worry. A friend of mine in Kingston has chocolate vine, gorgeous and it does smell.
      I can’t say yet why, but I am hoping to announce it soon.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

