Lazy Days

I’m lazy!!!!!

I’m always very lazy in August, the heat and I do not get along. When I lived in England, fellow North Americans were always asking me if I hated the weather.   I didn’t, I loved it!!!

I hate the heat and I hate the sun (must be all that Anglo-Saxon blood in my veins), they actually give me a bit of a headache.

So when the ‘dog days’ of summer come along, I retreat.

It may seem strange to you that I retreat to a beach, I mean what is that if not hot and sunny, but Ian likes the heat and sun, and I like Ian.  So we set up a blanket, under an umbrella, and there I sit, with a book, while watching him have a good time.

Such a huge body of water, you can not even see the other side, and we are at the narrow end of it. Georgian Bay covers 15,000 square km, that is larger than Northern Ireland.

Ian is such a water baby, when he was very little, his mother would take the bottom out of the playpen and park it in the water. There Ian and his sister would play all day, no wonder they love being wet. Ian actually put himself through university, life guarding and teaching swimming, so proud!

We are lucky enough to have our house between two great bodies of water, Lake Huron, which is warm and has sandy beaches (and a lot of tourists) and Georgian Bay, colder water and very rocky. Guess which one Ian likes to go to?

You can see in the background how rocky it is, very beautiful, but very hard. Someone has been very busy with a few rocks.

I like this one, see his smiley face on top?

Now if you will excuse me, I better get back to my drink and book, my ice is melting!

28 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, How well you deserve to languish on a beach with a good book. I do not consider you lazy in the least since from what I can see you always have at least half a dozen projects on the go at once and you hold down a job too!!

    I am also not a sun worshipper and with summer temperatures in Budapest often in the high 30Cs and even low 40Cs, I often retreat to the cooler climes of Maida Vale.

    • 2

      Thanks E, I find I always slow down in August, it is just too hot to stay out in the sun. I did not realize Budapest got so hot in the summer, Maida Vale must be a welcome retreat.

  2. 3

    Hi Deborah – I’m not blogging right now but still following your posts…..I too love the beaches of Lake Huron – lived in Kincardine for a few years and spent the whole summer on the beach. Enjoy your vacation – it’s going to be hot and muggy this week too.

    • 4

      Glad that you are enjoying the posts Heather. Lake Huron is amazing, and so is Kincardine. Hopefully, once we retire, I can enjoy it more, now every weekend seems to be spent on the garden.

  3. 5

    Hi Deborah, I am with Ian for being in the water but then I would join you under the umbrella… though I would hate to impose, for I too retreat from the sun… a perfect way to enjoy dog days. Fun rock sculptures. ;>)

  4. 7

    Laurrie said,

    Love the rock sculpture with the little smiley face! Enjoy your wet beachy holiday.

  5. 9

    I’m not a big fan of being broiled in the summer either. I’m with Ian, I’d pick the rocky, less tourist infested beach. I almost missed the smiley face on the last sculpture, good thing you mentioned it. I hope you’re enjoying your time at the beach! 🙂

  6. 11

    After participating in the National Geographic DNA project I have found out I am from the Nordic regions…..and therefore hate the heat as much as you do. I also hide under an umbrella with a longsleeved shirt and read a book while the rest of my family cavort around in the sea. Sometimes life ain’t fair! Have fun being lazy….its good for balance in your life. 🙂 Michaela

  7. 13

    teza said,

    D:
    We’d be like two ships that pass in the night. Give me the Moors ny day over this heat and humidity. Luckily I have the Shaded Walk with which to retreat into when it gets too stifling for me, which during July and August is nearly a daily occurrence. The stonework is quite striking!

  8. 15

    kimberly said,

    Deborah, I think the beach is the perfect place to retreat to during the hot dog days of summer! But then, I live in Florida…the further inland you go the hotter and stickier it gets. The rocks you can collect on Lake Huron are fantastic! We have shells here, but no rocks, especially flat rock. The sculpture is very cool!

  9. 17

    Barbara said,

    I’m also one of those people who doesn’t like the sun, and am also married to someone who does. So I can relate and also have similar strategies. BTW Deborah, please take a look at my latest post on the Schwetzingen palace gardens – I believe many of those trees in the photos are pleached!

  10. 19

    ellada said,

    Hello,
    Enjoy your drink and have a great day.

  11. 21

    Rosie said,

    I’m no fan of the heat either Deborah – don’t have much choice anyway up here in Scotland as we had the wettish July of all records and August isn’t much better. A good book under an umbrella would be my choice too listening to the lapping of the waves on the seashore.

  12. 23

    Racquel said,

    Well at least water is one way to cool off in all this heat. Stay cool! 🙂

  13. 25

    debsgarden said,

    Very cool rocks and cute smiley face! What is the temperature there? That water looks cold to me! I am amazed at how Northerners can go swimming when the temps in the 70s and the water is frigid. In the summer our waters feel like warm bath water. I am a total wimp, weather wise. I don’t like freezing temps, and I don’t like our humid, hot summers either.

    • 26

      Deborah, the weather is quite hot, 27 to 30C which is about 80-86F. The water however is alot cooler. Georgian Bay is very deep, so the water doesn’t warm up, think ‘refreshing’.

  14. 27

    Wendy said,

    What a lovely time! That’s funny about taking the bottom out of a playpen to just sit in the water. What a great idea – though my 2010 mindset is freaking out about the safety aspect!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

