An Ode to Rozanne

Although with apologies to her. For some reason Stings song ‘Roxanne’ keeps coming into my mind every time I look at her, and I have actually called her Roxanne a couple of time by accident.

She came into my life, a 6 inch bundle of joy with an impeccable pedigree.  After all the Perennial Plant Association had named her the perennial plant of the year for 2008. How could I go wrong adopting this little cutie, and for a long hot summer we were happy.

Our problems started the following July. Where last year she was happy and flowered her little heart out, this year she sat sulking, and refusing to move.  The final straw came when she started blushing red, this isn’t fall, she had no excuse for this kind of behaviour.

Look, there she sits, sulking behind her new brother ‘Beni Kaze’, was she jealous at the attention paid to the new arrival? Did she think he was more beautiful than her? Does she not know that a mother loves all her children equally.

I wondered if she was lonely for more of her own kind, and when a garden centre reduced  her siblings to $1.00 each, (yes that is right, $1.00), I took the opportunity to bring them home, all 11 of them, Angelina Jolie has nothing on me, lol.

They were a bit scruffy, and a lot of people could not see past their outward appearance to their beautiful heart.

But there was nothing that a good feed and a haircut could not fix, (obviously picture taken pre haircut, if I took it after, there would be nothing to see). (I know that I said no geraniums in the Lime Walk, but it is a good place for them to put on some weight, no fighting it out with the others in the rest of the garden.)

Hopefully my Rozanne will perk up now that her brothers and sisters have arrived!

39 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    fairegarden said,

    Hi Deborah, this is the perfect garden description of Rox…oops, Roz in my garden as well. There are barely any flowers at all, even after several years. I believe this may just the plant for your Lime Walk, if they will give you some flowers. Who in their right mind would pass up $1 plants! Good luck with them. 🙂

  2. 3

    gardeningasylum said,

    I do not love you Rozanne, not at all. One of a long line of over hyped new sensation plants that sits there looking scraggly. After 4 underwhelming years, I’m done. Maybe she’ll work for you though…

  3. 5

    Hi Deborah, I love your playful writing in this post. I do hope the family support will draw your Roz out again. I can never grow such delicate plants for my resident thug bishops weed would overrule. Have a great weekend. ;>)

  4. 7

    Lesley said,

    Flowers for yonks and the clients love it. We swear by it rather than about it! – think Jolly Bee similar and cheaper
    Best
    R

  5. 9

    Laurrie said,

    I know you love all your plant children well, but I’m another who has been underwhelmed by Rozanne. I have an unpronounceable geranium (wlassovianum) which is spectacular and full and spreading and blooming, and gives great fall foliage color to boot. Rozanne not so much. The real reason to plant Rozanne is the Sting song which will always be in your head as you gaze at her little blooms.

  6. 11

    Edith Hope said,

    Dearest D, I love all the hardy geraniums as they are such good value for flower, leaf and long growing periods. I do not grow G.’Rozanne’ so I am unsure about its relative hardiness or flower power compared with others. For me, the favourites are G. phaeum and the G.’Kashmir’ hybrids. As you may imagine I have a particular penchant for G. ‘Kashmir White’

    What, of course, appeals most to me in what you write here, is the massed planting of the geranium in the Lime Walk. Oh that there had been 1100, given away of course, and that you had planted them all there!

    Enjoy a lovely weekend!!

    • 12

      E, I would have loved to have found 1100, especially at $1 per plant. I also love phaeum, (and she loves me, spreading around the garden) but have not tried ‘Kashmir White’. I shall look for it on your recommendation.

  7. 13

    barry said,

    Hi Deborah,

    Another plant much favoured by landscrapers, but, like you I love it too. Give it time to settle in and it blooms all summer well into the Fall. One of its parents is G. wlassovianum which accounts for its performance in the Autumn when the colder nights turns its flowers blue. This year I’m trying out G. ‘Sweet Heidy’ which is basically a pink form of ‘Rozanne/Jolly Bee’.

    BTW the powers that be ( not sure who they are actually) have declared that ‘Rozanne’ and ‘Jolly Bee’ are so similar that they are to be considered the same cultivar and in future ‘Rozanne’ be the only name used. The breeder of ‘Jolly Bee’, Dutchman Marco van Noort must be disappointed, but perhaps his other geranium ‘Sweet Heidy’ will become as popular ‘Rozanne’.

  8. 15

    debsgarden said,

    One dollar each! That’s a great bargain for a million dollar look, which I’m sure your lime walk will have as everything matures.

  9. 17

    Racquel said,

    She’s a new addition to my garden this year too and so far she’s not doing well. 😦 I’m hoping now that the dog days of July are behind us and we are getting more rain she’ll perk back up. 🙂

  10. 19

    Great post Deborah, I love Rozanne in blog pics, but always pass her by at the garden centre. Perhaps she is less scraggly in the garden? There is one on the discount table, but it’s still at $5…I’m waiting for a further discount before comitting lol.

  11. 21

    teza said,

    D:
    Roz is only now stirring up attention on the benches. As the other B mentions, one of its parents is indeed wlassovianum, which is a rather impressive pedigree. I do have to say that if you can find Sweet Heidy you need to consider adding it as well. This coming from one who grows only G. phaeum ‘Springtime!’

  12. 23

    Jean said,

    Deborah, I hope you’ll update us about how all your Rozanne siblings do in the future. I’ve tried Rozanne a couple of times in my garden, but she’s never come back in spring. (I’ve had the same experience with Jolly Bee, which makes sense given Barry’s explanation of their close relationship.) The similar-looking blue geranium that has done very well for me is one called ‘Brookside.’ This must be a common experience in my area because I notice that my local nursery is no longer carrying Rozanne.

    • 24

      I will certainly let you know Jean. My older Rozanne did come back, but not happily, hopefully her siblings are made of tougher stock. I shall take a look for Brookside, you can never have too many geraniums, can you, lol.

  13. 25

    Melissa said,

    Loved reading your post and all the comments. I have grown Rozanne only for clients, not in my own yard. Where it gets full sun it has been almost a thug, spreading wildly and covered with blooms into October. I don’t remember how much sun your Lime Walk area gets. Could this be the problem? Where gardens are shadier I tend to spec G. macrorrhizum varieties as they are semi-evergreen here and will bloom in shade.

    • 26

      Melissa, it is about half day sun, will be less though as the linden trees grow and thicken up. I do have macrorrhizum in a shadier part of the garden, love it. I just bought the variegated version this year as well.

  14. 27

    Catharine said,

    Is Roxanne the one who used to be Jolly Bee?

  15. 29

    Barbara said,

    Hi Deborah, I haven’t had much luck with geraniums either. They blossom once and then look scraggly. But I can’t bring myself to get rid of them. Maybe they need siblings, too – love your amusing post. I’ve been offline for a while and hope I haven’t missed any posts on the progress of your lime walk. Barbara

    • 30

      Ooooh Barbara, I think that you have missed a couple. There was one on the first prune, and one on the poles going up in the garden, I will leave you a message on Blotanical.

  16. 31

    Tatyana said,

    Deborah, I would do the same – buy a bunch for that price! Where you, Canadians, get such prices? People go over the border to buy pills. Should we start travel up north to buy plants? The other thing I wanted to tell you – you should try to remember names, it’s dangerous in people’ relationships, ha-ha!

    • 32

      Ha ha Tatyana, I just call my husband baby, then I will never slip up.
      As for the dollar plants, I think they just wanted rid of them, a bit scraggly looking, but we both know, they will bulk up.

  17. 33

    When I read about the disappointments that Rozanne causes my fellow garden bloggers, I am perplexed because my experience with this plant has been just the opposite. Those that I have planted here in Montreal, in US Zone 4 and Canadian Zone 4b, have been so lush, so floriferous, and so messy that I have been forced to remove them from most of the gardens that I have designed.

  18. 35

    Greggo said,

    yeah I’m in a horrible heat wave in Kansas where I planted a Roxy this spring. However I didn’t get it at a dollar….anyways I feel your pain. My roxy looks like a shriveled up stick. I do however have a variety doing quite well, I will see if I can find the plant label. Roxanne, put on your red dress..

    • 36

      It is a crazy heat wave here as well, and doesn’t look like it is going to break anytime soon. Perhaps when the cooler weather (and the rains) arrive, she will perk up, I know I will, lol.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and leabing a comment, I hope to see you again soon.

  19. 37

    Valerie said,

    I have the geranium Rozanne. She is not the stunner in my zone 4B garden that I hear from other gardeners with more clay soil. She blooms okay but that is about it. Maybe it is the lack of good shade or the sandy soil. Who knows. Hope you have good luck with your new crop.

  20. 39

    […] take for example, my Geranium ‘Rozanne’. When I originally bought this geranium, I planted it in my Flora Glade at the base of a […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

