Where did you come from?

I live in the big city, the concrete jungle! Millions of teeming people, like ants, come into the downtown area  to work everyday, but no not me, I live downtown.

Surrounded by concrete, asphalt and very tall office towers, there is very little green (or sky) to see.  Although I was very insisent lucky to get a condo with a ground floor terrace.

But it is also concrete, yes I do have a few containers planted up, and there is a tree planted in the ground, with 6 inches of soil all around him, allowing the rain (and the gardener) to water him.

But look, where did this come from?

Something magical has happened in my concrete jungle!

I did buy a Corydalis lutea last year for my garden in Owen Sound, and I did have that plant on my terrace in Toronto, but it was only for one day, I swear. Who would have guessed that concrete is fertile!

 

40 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gardeningasylum said,

    Good morning Deborah, Looks like someone wants to live at your house! When I posted on corydalis, I got some comments from the U.K. that they consider it rather a weed, and I did see it sprouting up from every crack in the pavement in Gloucestershire on one trip. Still, I find it sweet and not weedy at all in Connecticut.

  2. 3

    I knew you had a magical green thumb. You can grow anything anywhere. And I see you’re trying a Japanese maple in planter. Mine are thriving in my own concrete jungle.

    • 4

      Who would guess! This is the second year for that Japanese maple. I took it up to Kilbourne Grove last fall and sunk the plastic pot in my Kitchen Garden. Worked great.

  3. 5

    Valerie said,

    What a nice surprise. I have tried Corydalis a few times in my garden and it dies. It looks quite good there.

  4. 7

    Laurrie said,

    That photo looks like a deliberately intended lovely composition of maple, pot, bench and corydalis. Then I read that the little yellow bloomer came up all on its own, with no tending, no care, and no soil to grow in! Amazing. The surprises are the fun part of gardening.

  5. 9

    Marguerite said,

    Nature at its very finest. I absolutely love it. and what a beautiful specimen too!

  6. 11

    What a lovely surprise!! And I am coveting your bench…(and Japanese Maple, but only one would overwinter here lol).

  7. 13

    What a great spot for the Corydalis to self seed. against the stone bench leg. The feathery texture of both look so nice with the bench. Isn’t it great when a volunteer is so pretty and picks a good spot, unlike most of the usual suspects.

  8. 15

    jen said,

    Very cool. I love it, so pretty, and interesting to see something, anything growing in the concrete. So why not?

    Jen

  9. 17

    Plants have a most impressive will to live…so why am I able to kill them with kindness?

  10. 19

    Sandra Jonas said,

    What a delightful surprise! Looks very well where it planted itself.

  11. 21

    Jean said,

    I love it when plants sow themselves in unlikely places. That plant looks both determined and happy! What will you do with it? I noticed two siberian iris seedlings coming up between the wooden boards on my back steps today. I know that I should pull them out, but somehow I just can’t bring myself to do it.

  12. 23

    debsgarden said,

    What a great surprise! It’s amazing how some plants can find a hold in the most unexpected places. Honest, at first I thought it was in a pot!

  13. 25

    dorsetmichael said,

    ah yes, the delightful magic of gardening….

  14. 27

    (Even on a concrete patio, you too can have a sourdough garden 😉

  15. 29

    Wendy said,

    ha! what a perfect spot this guy decided to grow in too! It’s so pretty. Do you have some skill or what – flowers growing in concrete. 🙂

  16. 31

    Isn’t it great when it’s something beautiful that self seed. Many times when I have plants do this I don’t have the heart to pull them, I think they deserve to live.

  17. 33

    Grace said,

    Ah yes, the serendipity of gardening. Nature’s little surprises. I love it.

  18. 35

    Racquel said,

    Mother Nature knows best when it comes to volunteers, they can grow in the smallest of cracks and look amazing. 🙂

  19. 37

    I am absolutely charmed to see this little plant make itself at home. I think it partners very well with its more exotic friend in the pot. 🙂

  20. 39

    teza said,

    D:
    Silly girl, its national ‘I Love Corydalis Month’


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

