perfectio

I’m feeling inadequate.

No, not in marriage, not in my job, but even worse, a spot very close to my heart, my garden.

I went to visit my friend Barry Parker again. I last wrote about his garden when he was about to open in for Toronto Gardens back in April. It was beautiful then, even more beautiful now.

I just took a couple of very quick snaps. I was looking for a plant that would be good to cover the very mangy line of muscari that I have in my Lime Walk. I had some great suggestions when I wrote about it, one plant that I am considering is Hakonecholoa.  I planted a couple to trial them, but they are very mingy, and I am worried that they will get thuged out by the muscari.  Then I saw Barry’s,

look at the size of them, there is no way the muscari will be able to take over from them!

When I got home and loaded my pictures on the computer, I was flabbergasted to discover that every picture was great. They were all like a magazine shoot!!!! (at least in my mind)

just a quick snap!

my cornus doesn’t look this good!

I don’t remember what Barry said this was, but isn’t it pretty.

Now I want that ligularia and the cornus ‘Wolf Eye”.

I am feeling very inadequate!

32 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lynne said,

    Ha ha now you know how I feel every time I look at your beautiful garden!! I may not comment overmuch, but I am a very dedicated lurker. And slowly but surely you are influencing me to get in my garden more. It’s even looking halfway decent, and it’s winter here!

    So, sunshine, stop feeling inadequate or there is NO hope for me 🙂

    • 2

      Lynne, I am glad you are a dedicated lurker, I am also a lurker at a lot of blogs (sometimes feel I have nothing more to contribute than what has already been said).
      I am glad that I am a (good) influence on you, hope you start your own blog one day, so I can see what you are doing.
      And thanks for the compliment!

  2. 3

    Valerie said,

    That was a lovely garden. I was impressed with the ligularia sitting up front in the bed. Mine is tucked away in the back of the border in a pocket of shade. It is really too hot sunny here for it but it survives back there. Too bad you have to look for it to see it. Oh well.

    • 4

      Valerie, I had to go out and purchase that ligularia, it is so gorgeous. Mine is planted more to the front like Barrys, but I do worry about the poor thing with no one there to water it, and with this heat!

  3. 5

    Think I have to agree with Lynne above…..every time I visit your blog and see how much you’ve done with your garden, how you manage two homes with a full time job and the success of your blog – I feel inadequate. Then I remember that we are all successful in our own ways. Look at what you accompllish every day.

    By the way, Barry’s garden IS gorgeous.

    • 6

      Thanks Heather, you are so kind, (although I only work part time). I remember how difficult it was when I was travelling with my job, it seems there was always soooo much to do when you got home.

  4. 7

    Laurrie said,

    I have been asked to water my neighbor’s garden and pots while they are away, and I come back to my yard each morning so discouraged. Her garden is so awesome and mine, just feet away, is so not. Envy. I absolutely love that Wolf Eyes cornus in your photo. Nice shots of a great garden!

    • 8

      I love that Cornus as well, Laurrie, they have them at a nursery in Owen Sound, just watching to see if they go on sale.
      We always think the grass is greener on the other side of the fence (and sometimes it is, lol).

  5. 9

    Well, your friend does have a spectacular, mature garden. Mature being the operative word. Your garden is young, and time makes all the difference. Don’t despair, your garden is amazing and after visiting your blog I often feel inadequate about my own!

    • 10

      Thanks Rebecca, you are right, mine is very, very young and those trees, hedges and shrubs take a long time to grow, damn them!!! Don’t feel inadequate,(we need to start a club)!

  6. 11

    Never feel inadequate though I know its hard to as sometimes when I see others gardens in their blog I wish mine could look just like that! Barry has been working on his much much longer than yours – look at that box hedging for starters – it must be atleast 10 years old. The first few years trees and shrubs settle their roots and grow more roots – its a few years before they start to show a big growth spurt on top. Your garden is so young……….. you’ve so much to look forward to and you have Barry’s garden to get ideas from.

    • 12

      Oh Rosie, thank you so much. It has always been a bad habit of mine, used to be my figure, now it is my garden. Why can we never be happy with what we have?
      I’ve already stolen at least one idea from Barry…..read my post on Friday.

  7. 13

    teza said,

    Dearest D:
    Barry [as in Parker] leaves me feeling inadequate as well…… there is company in misery my friend…… His Hakonechloa is indeed splendid fantabulous! I am wondering if that beguiling Cornus is my lusted after C.a ‘Argentea’….. I think so! It is so wonderful to see other passionate plant people’s gardens…. the inspiration one derives from a visit is most encouraging. His is a garden that I have on my Must See list for next year!

    • 14

      I am glad that we are keeping company T, such good company it is, lol.
      I will double check on the cornus, but I am sure that he said ‘Wolf Eyes’. The only Argentea that I have seen in real life (in Canada) is at Marion Jarvies.
      Do visit Barry’s garden, you need to get down to TO!

  8. 15

    Jean said,

    Deborah, Barry’s garden is beautiful; thanks for taking us along. It does take trees and shrubs quite a while to reach maturity, so the lovely bones you are creating for your garden will take patience. On the other hand, most perennials start looking pretty mature in about 3 years — which gives us all hope for having our new flower beds look marvelous soon.

    BTW, the pretty pink plant is a hardy geranium in the endressii family. Most likely candidates are G. endresii ‘Wargrave Pink’ or G. x oxonianum ‘A.T. Johnson.’ I can barely tell these apart in my own garden, but one has a slightly more salmony flower and the other has a slightly more silvery flower.

    • 16

      Jean, I have (tried) not to purchase too many perennials, so most of my money could go to the more expensive planting, but I still have a bit of yearning for them.
      Thanks for the info on the geraniums.

  9. 17

    Barbara H. said,

    What a beautiful garden. Thanks, I enjoyed the tour! I agree with the others – maturity is the operative word. Look how far you’ve come in such a short amount of time. Patience, patience, patience.

  10. 19

    jim groble said,

    What a wonderful garden. The hostas and ligularia look great. Hakonechloa goes on my must have list. jim

  11. 21

    kimberly said,

    It’s so easy to feel inadequate when comparing. However, I’ve seen your garden in your lovely posts and you have nothing to be worried about! You’re FAR from inadequate!!!! With that said, your friends garden is truly spectacular, as is your photography!! Lovely photos and views!

  12. 23

    I predict a rush on that ligularia once people see your pictures. Nice post!

  13. 25

    fairegarden said,

    I am also feeling below par with the looks of this fabulous garden, Deborah. Every corner of it seems perfect. That forest grass is beautiful and would be perfect to cover your muscari, IMHO. Oh that we could grow it here. The plant combinations and use of foliage are terrific. He is ready for those garden visitors! Thanks for the preview. 🙂
    Frances

    • 26

      Frances, I did not see an area that wasn’t perfect, even the lawn is perfect. I have actually planted a hakonechloa in the Lime Walk, I will see how well it covers the muscari, may take a few years to get this big.

  14. 27

    noel said,

    i’m a fan of the haconeckhloa, its beautiful as a whole stand with something contrasting or complementing them….this is an awesome garden and your photos are great 🙂

  15. 29

    debsgarden said,

    Wonderful photos of a wonderful garden! I’m not sure inadequacy is the right word, but don’t those feeling motivate us? I see something fabulous, and I want to do something similar!

    Deborah, your garden is headed toward fabulousness, and already you are inspiring other gardeners to try something similar in their own gardens! Rest assured that time will reveal what all your hard work has done.

    • 30

      It did motivate me on the weekend (actually Ian, lol) and my post on Friday will show you how.
      Thanks for the compliment Deborah, sometimes I wonder if it is good to show so many horrible pictures of my garden instead of just the good ones, but I want it to be a record of its journey, and growing up is never easy!

  16. 31

    Melissa said,

    BE PATIENT with your Hakone grass. Over time it will look like Barry’s. I started with three tiny pieces of it and now I have it in waves (admittedly, years later). And be patient with your garden as a whole. It’s good you are taking photos along the way. I got out my old garden journal the other day, with film prints dating back to 1997 and was astounded at the difference.

    And yes, your ‘snaps’ would do a professional proud! You have an “eye” for composition so keep it up!

    • 32

      Melissa, thank you for such lovely compliments, you are a star.
      Patience is not my strongest virtue, probably as I have started gardens in so many different homes, I just want my last one to look like I see it in my mind. I am looking forward to look back at this blog 10 years from now and enjoy the difference.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

