Snip, Snip!

No, not my hair, although I did get about 4 inches cut off the bottom, my summer look, thank you for asking.

No, I am talking about the Lindens or Tilias, in my Lime Walk.

When I was picking up my trees at Yesterdays Garden in early May, I asked the owner, Karen, if it was too late to prune them this year. She said no, as long as they were pruned very soon, Tilias do not bleed like maples or birch.

So when my father came to visit, and I put him to work. He grew up on a grape farm in Niagara,  so was well used to pruning. Pleaching, looks a lot like the way grape vines grow, trained horizontally, and pruned to buds.  I am hoping to start the lowest branch of the Tilias at six feet.

So I got him some secateurs and he set to work.

You can see how low this tree branches.

I like to see a man, intent on his (my) work, lol.

All done! Hey, how come I have to pick up the branches, oh well, I guess it is a small price to pay.

 

22 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Edith Hope said,

    Dear D, You are so right. When it comes to picking up the branches, there is no such thing as a free lunch!! But how exciting all of this is. The first prune and you are now well on the way. And so good to have the pictures to look back on in the years to come.

  2. 3

    Lesley said,

    Love it!
    Lime walks are absolutely fabulous.
    Keep us posted on how the trees take.
    Best Wishes
    Robert

  3. 5

    gardeningasylum said,

    You are so blessed to have your Dad there working with you – what a treat! It looks like you’re well on your way to attaining that special lime walk!

    • 6

      Cyndy, I have to put him to work, he would think something was wrong if I didn’t ask him to help out, lol. I was actually surprised at how much the trees had grown, when I planted then, they were 5-6 feet, now the lowest branches are 6 feet, yay!

  4. 7

    Laurrie said,

    The evolution of this lime walk is fascinating. How great that your Dad is an expert pruner!

  5. 9

    Gloria Bonde said,

    How nice that your Dad helps you in the garden. You must of inherited some of your “gardening gene” from him. Funny, as I say that, I remember, I once took some of my dads old Jeans and took them in to fit me to use in the garden. 🙂

    • 10

      I think that I did get some of his ‘genes”, but not any of his jeans. My dad always says “You can take the girl off the farm, but you can’t take the farm out of the girl”, meaning gardening and farming are the same thing.

  6. 11

    When your Dad is finished can you send him over to me? I had to get snipping on my grapevines and I have no idea what I am doing other than “thinning the fruit”. 🙂

    • 12

      M, if you have any questions, let me know, I can ask him. All I remember of growing up on a grapefarm, is suckering the vines (easy to do when you are short).

      • 13

        Hi D,

        Would you ask your Dad how brutal I should be on my vine prunings. I had a ton of grapes in the making on both vines but I snipped those off and left just one bunch on each. I also trimmed off some of the new growth on the main stem (from the ground up). I am trying to train them to grow up and over my veggie garden gate.

        Thanks ever so for offering to ask your Dad questions. I sure do appreciate it!
        M

      • 14

        M, I will ask him on the weekend. Have a great one.
        D

  7. 15

    I’m sure we could put your Dad to work too! Keep these photos somewhere safe, in a few years it will be interesting to compare them once the trees are trained and filled in.

  8. 17

    Deborah I commend you for your patience – the walk will look just fabulous once its established

  9. 19

    debsgarden said,

    Pruning is my favorite chore in the garden! My sons used to pick up all my clippings for me, but, sadly, they grew up and moved away. And my dear hubby is always conveniently busy, so I end up hauling away all the clippings. My least favorite garden chore!

    Your lindens will be wonderful!

  10. 21

    Wendy said,

    It’ll be great to see how these trees progress! Glad you got to put your dad to work – picking up branches is little payment for his expertise. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

