Up, Up In the Air

To all those lovely people who wanted to see more pictures from my roof, here you go! I am remembering who you are, yes, you Rebecca, all of you who wanted me to take my life in my hands again, (ok, it is a flat roof, so not that dangerous, but it sounds good) just to satisfy your curiosity!

It looks quite different from early April. Then the grass was quite brown, now it has greened up quite nicely.

The Croquet Lawn

My Daybreak had another bloom, yay!!! Can you see it?

Look how tiny she is, poor girl.

You can actually see the linden trees in the Lime Walk. You can also see an old wild apple growing back from its stump. This was cut down before we bought the property. I haven’t worked up the nerve to tell Ian that he has to dig it up, yet.

The Lime Walk

Notice how nice it looks with the Deliverance house gone, still have heard nothing.

The Yew Garden

Still have not decided what to do here yet, now it is an outdoor dining room.

The Serviceberry Allee

This is one of the hardest spaces to see with the trees out in leaf. You can see the foxglove are just starting to flower.

The Kitchen Garden and The Flora Glade

The Kitchen Garden is the garden furthest from the house, so very hard to see.

A closeup of the Flora Glade. This is the most flowery of the gardens. That is not a black smoke, just the red maple.

 

48 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Edith Hope said,

    Dear D, What a transformation from April! All these tantalising glimpses of the garden in the making which, to the outside observer, is coming on in leaps and bounds. The advantage of your risking life and limb on the roof is that it does enable these overviews which show so clearly the structures which are beginning to emerge and which will, before very long, define the garden and its separate rooms in a very clear and purposeful way. If I were you, I should be thrilled with the progress that is being made and which promises so much and so well for the future.

    And yes, be ruthless, with anything which is in the way of the overall plan. Bonfires [if you are permitted] are very satisfying things! I love it all and feel so privileged to be able to follow its development.

    P.S. Have you considered building a permanent look out tower?!!

    • 2

      Oh Edith, I can’t wait to see the “rooms” a bit more defined. It seems like my hedges are taking forever to grow, and everything hinges on them. I would love to have a permanent tower, didn’t David Hicks get one for his 60th birthday. I shall have to mention it to Ian, lol.

  2. 3

    Liisa said,

    Wow, Deborah! It is wonderful to see your garden from this view, as it really makes one appreciate all of the hard work that has gone into it. I would imagine that from this vantage point you must get quite a feeling of satisfaction as well. I must agree with Edith… perhaps a look out tower is indeed in order! It has been great fun watching the transformation of your garden paradise, and I so look forward to more.

    • 4

      When I stand on the roof and look down, I think the garden “rooms” look small, however when I am on the ground they feel much more spacious. I am always amazed to think just one of the rooms was bigger than the garden at my first house.

  3. 5

    Laurrie said,

    Deborah, I love these whole garden views. I thought of you as we toured Edith Wharton’s home last month in Lenox, Mass. (The Mount) and strolled her lime walk. It was shady, long, refreshing and impressive…. as yours is about to be!

  4. 9

    Valerie said,

    Looks sparse right now but I bet in ten years you will be hard pressed to see a space between. Going great. Valerie

  5. 11

    Jenn-na-na said,

    I love the look from above. It’s my favorite way to take pics of my small lot, though I’m not actually on the roof, just looking out a second story window. Still, it offers a great view! Lovely space you have!

  6. 13

    catmint said,

    Hi Deborah, I haven’t visited for a while – it’s exciting to see how the garden’s coming on. cheers, catmint

  7. 15

    debsgarden said,

    What great views from above! The birds must love it! Everything is so perfectly ordered. You have done a lot of work, and it shows. In a few years the view will be quite different. It will be great to see the changes as the plants grow and fill in.

  8. 17

    Jen said,

    You know, it’s very interesting to see a garden from that perspective. Makes me want to climb onto the roof of the condo, but no, I would be in trouble…

    Your garden is very nicely laid out, and it looks great. A outdoor area would be fun, imagine, lovely balmy evenings…candle light.

    Jen

  9. 19

    Turling said,

    Sweet Jesus, you are brave. You would never find me on my roof, unless there was a hole in it.

    Very nice views, though.

  10. 21

    Hi D,

    Your garden looks beautiful. The lime walk is wonderful. It looks green and lush. Now of course we must see the garden in all its Autumnal finery, provided its not slippy and treacherous up there!
    M

  11. 23

    Barbara H. said,

    A very belated happy birthday wish(es!) to you, Deborah. Thanks so much for this green view of all the hard work you’ve done. It must be very satisfying. I credit you for the inspiration to start digging holes in my expansive lawn and planting shrubs, etc. I loved the expanse but discovered that there is part of it that will look and feel good being curtained off from the road. I’m only beginning and have a long way to go but without your wonderful garden inspirations I wouldn’t even be at the starting gate. Best wishes on the coming year!

    • 24

      Thanks Barbara, it is satisfying, although I wish I could see more colour from the roof, obviously a lull in the flowering season. And thank you for all the compliments, I am glad I have inspired you, maybe one day, I will get to see some pictures. Remember, lots of befores.

  12. 25

    I love your arial shots Deborah! Lovely to see how your garden is morphing into your desired design. Very beautiful! ;>)

  13. 27

    Fantastic post! Thanks so much for risking life & limb for my benefit, much appreciated. I laughed out loud when I saw your title in my blogroll, I had a feeling of what to expect! Everything is looking wonderful, even more so without the delioverance house ;). You have so many great lines & curves in your garden. Best wishes with the apple tree….

  14. 29

    fairegarden said,

    It’s wonderful, Deborah, but you did make me a little queasy up there! I do love the Lime Walk, especially now that I have seen one in person at Sissinghurst. Yours is going to be just like that! It already is showing the shape and how fun to keep it pruned. In fact, it all looks like there has been tons of growth since last year. You have been keeping busy! Well done! 🙂
    Frances

    • 30

      Frances, isn’t the one in Sissinghurst amazing!!!!! I just love it, too bad I don’t have that much space to devote to one that large. I think when I get a training structure up, it will make a huge difference.

  15. 31

    ellada said,

    Hi,
    Nice view and beautiful garden.

  16. 33

    Thank you for risking vertigo and nosebleeds to share that with us. I agree, much much better with the Deliverance house gone! Still crossing my fingers for something beautiful that replaces it.

  17. 35

    Chen said,

    Glad you came back down safely to show us these nice views. You have such cool names for your garden zones!

    • 36

      Thank you Chen, I love Engligh Garden literature and I have borrowed (stolen) a lot of names. But it is very handy when you go outside and can say to your spouse, I will be in the Flora Glade, at least he knows where I am.

  18. 37

    Gloria Bonde said,

    Hi Deb – Great view! I have an upstairs window and have considered taking a picture from above. I think you are inspiring!

  19. 39

    Deborah, thanks for getting up there! I agree with Edith that you need a lookout tower. 🙂 Your garden has so many intriquing elements. I am in awe of all the work – design and labour – you and Ian have put into this. I think you are building something extraordinary. Beautiful!

  20. 41

    Debbie said,

    Wow! What an amazing garden. I love how you’ve used the various beds to carve out smaller spaces. Of course, one of the first things that came to mind is how much time do you spend maintaining it all?

    • 42

      Debbie, not as much as I should. I live Mon-Fri, in Toronto, and this garden is 2 1/2 hours north west of here. So I have weekends only, and not every weekend either. It could be much better maintained, I do use a thick layer of mulch to try and supress weeds. The lawn cutting takes the most time, was 4 hours when we moved in, now down to three, but that doesn’t include any edging. I always resent the time the lawn takes, but 3/4 of an acre is a lot of lawn to get rid of.

  21. 43

    wendy said,

    whoa. I was just about to yell at you for climbing back up there until I saw the garden photos! It’s really such a good perspective – the Lime Walk looks amazing, and you can really see all the curves in the glades. It all looks beautiful!

    • 44

      Thanks Wendy, so it was worth it. I actually thought the trees would hide more then they do, I was pleasantly surprised. I think that I should do this a couple times a year, and then compare them over the years. Hope I see a big difference.

  22. 45

    Grace said,

    Hi Deborah, Would you believe I tried to do a similar roof photo-op but chickened out? You are way braver than me. I’m going to get my hubby to do it for me next winter when the trees are naked. Such a fabulous idea. Hope you don’t mind copycats.

    I’m amazed at the amount of room you have for growing just about anything you choose. Your trees and sense of enclosure are fabulous. Lucky gal! Thank you for being careful and living to tell about it. 🙂

    • 46

      Grace, I do have a flat roof, that makes a huge difference. I think that it is a great idea to get your husband up there, I would love to see a birds eye view of your garden.

  23. 47

    puppyparents said,

    LOVE love LOVE these pics! You really get a feel for the overall look…its fabulous!!!

    I wish you could do a consultation at my place….full sun, containers on concrete, and high winds! Its been a challenge!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

