Happy Birthday to Me!

Wow, it’s my birthday. I will not tell you how old I am, except to tell you it ends in a zero. Actually, it was my birthday yesterday, but I do not post on the weekend, so I had to wait unil today.

The best part about being born on 06/06, is you never have to remember if it is month or day first when filling out forms, love that! I am also wondering if my parents picked a “D” name, as it is D-Day, I guess I will have to ask, inquiring minds want to know!

When I was a little girl, my Nana (the first garden influence I had) always used to put the first peony blossom on my birthday present. This has led me to a life long love for them (Pavlov’s Theory has nothing on this). I thought that I would share a picture with you of one of the gorgeous peonies currently blooming in my garden.

Meet ‘Do Tell’!

Hope all your birthdays will be as fabulous as mine was, Do Tell!

46 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Happy Birthday xxxxxxx

    (alll the best people are born in June ;))

  2. 3

    Happy Birthday, Deborah. What a great way to celebrate your birthday with a beautiful peony. Continue the celebration on the 12th and 13th with a visit to the Oshawa Valley Botanical Gardens Peony Festival…..1000’s of peonies in bloom and this year, it’s the Canadian Peony Societies Annual Show.

  3. 5

    Valerie said,

    Happy Birthday to you and I hope many more enjoying your garden. Valerie

  4. 7

    Hey D, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I hope you had a lovely day. So you are 20 hey? Must be nice. I planted a peony this weekend and they are such lovely flowers for such a lovely lady. I’m a 09/09 girl so we have the same convenience in writing down our birthdates. 🙂

    Have a super birthday week, for all birthdays ending in a zero last for a week…at least. Take care, M

  5. 9

    Laurrie said,

    Happy Birthday Miss Peony!

  6. 11

    Sandra Jonas said,

    Happy Birthday!! Hope the year is as great as the day was!

  7. 13

    Hope you had a wonderful day, and did something special for the ‘zero’ bday. Do Tell is amazing, I also associate peonies with my grandmother.

    • 14

      I think that they are such an old fashioned flower, and so long lived, one our grandmothers would have had in their garden. But I am very happy to have them flower for my b’day.

  8. 15

    Jen said,

    Oh Happy, Happy Birthday to you.

    What a great time of year to have a birthday.

    Jen

  9. 17

    Happy Birthday to you, and thanks for the reverse birthday present you gave all of us: the lovely peony photo.

  10. 19

    gardeningasylum said,

    Oh Happy Birthday, fellow Gemini! That is a really nice peony – great photo 🙂

  11. 21

    Jennifer said,

    Happy Birthday!
    I was born in the cold dreary month of December (with only Christmas to make thing seem brighter). It seems to me that June is a much more pleasant month to celebrate your birthday.
    I love the peony that you photographed! I have never seen a white peony with a pink center before.

    • 22

      Jennifer, June is a great month, lots of gardening presents. Do Tell is such a gorgeous peony, it starts pale pink with deep rose stamens and fades to white/blush with pale pink stamens. Try to find one for your garden.

  12. 23

    Hope you had a great birthday Deborah – you summer babe! Great photo!

  13. 25

    Hope your birthday was at least as fabulous as that peony blossom looks! 😀

  14. 27

    Carol said,

    Hope you had a very Happy Birthday Deborah !! Sorry I`m late in the wishes. We just moved and have been trying to get the yard and gardens in shape. I love the peony !! They smell so nice . We have one just like that plus a couple of pink ones.
    We actually found one growing in with the weeds. Anyway hope you Birthday went well….

    • 28

      When we bought Kilbourne Grove, the owner/developer had covered up the two peonies that lived here with sod. Next thing we knew the sod had started poking up, and there were the peonies. Not this one, I had to buy it. Luck you to get some as well in your new home. And thank you for the birthday wishes.

  15. 29

    michael said,

    happy birthday, it was my wife’s birthday too!

  16. 31

    Joy said,

    Hey Happy Birthday again girl and that is a gorgeous peony .. if I had room .. I would have to have more peonies ? and ones that would smell amazing would be the requisite ! LOL
    Joy

  17. 33

    A BIG HAPPY BIRTHDAY wish! That is the most beautiful peony I have ever seen. What a great tradition to remember your Nana by.

  18. 35

    Belated Happy birthday! The ones ending in zero are always extra special so I hope you had an extra special day!

  19. 37

    mew said,

    Happy birthday, Deborah. Sorry I’m a bit late with the wishes, but I hope you have a great birthday *month* — how about that? 😉 I was born just a day after you, so unfortunately I have to keep up with the date and month placement. Apparently I just missed getting lucky.

    Your peony is luscious, and I can’t think of a more beautiful association to have for the day of your advent into the world.

  20. 39

    commonweeder said,

    Happy Birthday – slightly belated. I love the idea of putting a flower on a gift, and nothing could be more beautiful than a peony. Mine are just coming into bloom. My husband, son and granddaughter and I all have zero birthdays this summer. It makes easy to figure out how old I am – if I were trying.

  21. 41

    Diane said,

    Happy belated Birthday. I have one coming up with a zero in it too. ‘Do Tell’ is very pretty.

  22. 43

    Liisa said,

    Deborah,
    I do hope you enjoyed a fabulous birthday. Your peony is just beautiful, and what a lovely tradition established by your Nana. I do hope to add more peonies to my garden – they are one of my favorites as well.

  23. 45

    Melissa said,

    And I am VERY late, because I have so little time to read blogs these days, but a belated happy birthday and thanks for sharing the ‘Do Tell’ photo – very nice!! I am about to link to you in a blog about my struggles to put together container plantings for clients. Hope you’re well!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

