A Year Of Love

My mother always said, when you get older, the years fly by. Once again, she was right (would that woman, never be wrong), and how the last year has flown by.

 This picture has nothing to do with this post, I just liked it!

One year ago today, I (with much trepidation) typed my first blog entry, and with trembling fingers, hit Publish.  WordPress automatically sets up your first post and titles it “It Is A New World” and I didn’t change it, it was a whole new world opening to me.

I didn’t have a clue what I was doing, (still don’t), but a very good friend of mine had just started her own blog with WordPress, all about the joys of Bringing Home Puppy, and she was enjoying it. So, I thought I would start my own garden blog on WordPress instead of Blogger, and if I had any problems, there was always a sympathetic ear to go to.

I originally started writing this as both a garden journal/record,  and as a way to keep distant family and friends , informed, on the changes to my “forever” house. With Ian and I moving so much for his job, everyone is  very spread out and not always able to travel the distance to see the progress.

Imagine my surprise, when some one I didn’t know, made a comment on my blog. It was shortly after I had visited Kingston, Ontario (where I used to live) and published a post on Trugs Flowers and Gifts, a lovely flower/gift shop in downtown Kingston. Joy (bless her heart) read my post, (how she found it I will never know) and made a very lovely comment. Next thing I knew, Linda from the Crafty Gardener, commented how she had followed Joy to my blog and also left another very nice comment.

It was all downhill from there (or uphill, depending on your view). More and more comments and visits ensued, and I quickly became hooked on the social interaction.  Then, my big moment arrived, Teza, left me a very lovely message on my About page asking if he could e-mail me. A very warm e-mail correspondence went back and forth, and after a while, the subject of Blotanical came up. I had numerous question, as to what it was!  Lured in by the promise of so many garden bloggers in one spot, I joined September 30, 2009.  By the end of October 2009, my visits, had increased  40%. I discovered so many new and exciting garden blogs to read, and found a very warm group of people, who always encouraged and supported.  Thank you. thank you, for making this garden blogger feel so welcome.

In honour of my first anniversary blogging, I would like to have a draw for a book. Most people know that Beverley Nichols is near and dear to my heart. He was one of the first garden writers that I read, I think I might even have been in high school. When I was in Sissinghurst village book store, I discovered a whole stack of his books and I would like to give one away. If you would like to own “Down the Garden Path” (please remember it is a second-hand book, and has the lovely patina of one), just leave a comment on this post, before June 9th.

Ian (who got a lovely black straw fedora just for this draw, lol) will pick a name out of his hat and I will be pleased to send you this Beverley Nichols masterpiece.

42 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara H. said,

    Deborah, I can hardly believe that it’s only been been a year. Just like your lovely garden, you’ve been growing by leaps and bounds. I so love Beverley Nichols. A close friend introduced me to him decades ago and I was overjoyed – gardens and houses. What could be better? Thank you for all the pleasure you’ve given me.

    • 2

      Just as long as my bum isn’t growing in leaps and bounds as well, lol. I am so glad that you have enjoyed my blog and I hope to continue seeing you for years to come. Thank you for all your lovely comments.

  2. 3

    Laurrie said,

    I felt just as you did when I started my blog this past January. Some one commented! OMG!
    You popped into my world the first week and I’ve enjoyed our blog relationship ever since. What a wonderful world I discovered. Congrats on your one-year milestone!

    • 4

      Laurrie, isn’t it a rush when you get that first comment, you wonder how they found you and you are grateful that they did. I too have enjoyed our relationship, we have very similar taste. Looking forward to your blogaversary.

  3. 5

    Congratulations on a terrific year, Deborah. I’ve enjoyed our blogging relationship too. And you’ve “introduced” me to so many other bloggers that have enriched my life.

  4. 7

    Tatyana said,

    Congratulations on the first blogiversary, Deborah! Your blog is terrific!

  5. 9

    Hi Deborah, it’s so intersting how a little blogging network develops after the first few somewhat tentative posts. I think we all start under the premise of ‘this is for my records, any comments are just a bonus’, but then it becomes so much fun to get to know others and become ‘regulars’. Your blog is wonderful and certainly has the feel of a blog that is older than 1 (in a good way). Thanks so much for all of your visits and comments, I truly appreciate it. Happy Blogoversary, and I would love to be entered in your draw.

    • 10

      You are in the draw Rebecca, and thank you for all your lovely comments and introducing me to your very cute children and the Golden Garden Eater. I have enjoyed our relationship.

  6. 11

    Lynne said,

    Congratulations Deborah! I, too, thought your blog was older than 1 year because it is so good and has such an established feel. I’ve toyed with the idea of starting a blog, but have no idea how to do it, so it is well and truly on the backburner for a while – maybe forever 😉

    Meanwhile, I get immense pleasure from reading yours, so thank you.

    • 12

      Oh, Lynne, thanks for that lovely compliment, it is very much appreciated. I do hope you start a blog, if you have any questions I would be very happy to help, it is a pleasure writing one.

  7. 13

    teza said,

    D:
    Its only been a year…… seems like our correspondence has been going back and forth for ages. I am sure the tired out ear probably thinks so! I have come to consider your posts as the equivalent to my daily dose of sunshine, and revel in watching as you transform KB into your very own personal sanctuary! So much has transpired in that first year! And better still, so much is yet to transpire. Happiest of happy 1st Blogaversary my friend. Many many more!

    B

    • 14

      Thank you Mr T, you have been such an inspiration to me and certainly convinced me to join Blotanical, lol. Now when are you going to get your cute little booty up to KG!

  8. 15

    Sandra Jonas said,

    Happy anniversary!! You were the very first comment on my bog! I can’t tell you how much I appreciated it. Your blog is delightful, I enjoy it immensely!

  9. 17

    Sandra Jonas said,

    Oops! Forgot to mention I am presently reading Beverly Nichols!!

  10. 19

    Jean said,

    Happy Blogaversary, Deborah. It has been a joy getting to know you and your blog via Blotanical. I hope you had a happy and productive “Gone Gardening” interlude at Killbourne Grove. Looking forward to hearing what you were up to while you were there. Best, -Jean

  11. 21

    Jim Groble said,

    Happy blogaversery. I enjoy visiting your blog. jim

  12. 23

    I have often wondered have I made the right choice going with blogger, not really familiar with the workings of wordpress so still dont know. Inspired by my blog, my parents asked me to help them set up there own blog so they could share the goings on at there organic farm and holistic retreat. Unfortunately they aren’t very computer literate (once spent 2hours on the phone to my mum when they were on holidays, trying to explain how to upload photos onto facebook)
    In the end I decided to set them up a blogger account because from what I can tell, it just seems more user friendly. So now I am busy writing out step by step instructions for them on how to create a blog post.
    Happy blogaversery. Love the photo by the way.

    • 24

      Sunny, I have hear that blogger is more user friendly, but as my friend was on wordpress, I decided to go with it, and like you, I have no experience with the other. You should publish a post on your step by step instructions, other people (besides your parents) may need it so they can start their own blog.

  13. 25

    Melissa said,

    So glad to see you’re back from your vacation (although perhaps YOU aren’t!). Happy anniversary for the blog! Work is busy now so my posts are less frequent but I love reading yours, so keep up the good work!!

    • 26

      I set this post up to publish while I was away, as I knew I would be missing my own anniversary, boo hoo. I look forward to when you can post again more frequently Melissa.

  14. 27

    Happy Blogaversary Deborah. We have a lot in common. This month is my blog anniversary too, we’re both on WordPress and both have enjoyed all the gardeners who we’ve met on Blotanical. I only joined in February, and it’s been lovely. In fact you welcomed me near the start and that was great as it introduced me to your wonderful blog. I’ve enjoyed it. Here’s to another fun year.

  15. 29

    Deborah, your mom was right – this year has flown by! I have enjoyed your blog so much and love following along on your progress at KG. Happy Blogaversary!

  16. 31

    Rosie said,

    I know how it feels when you get your first comment. I never expected a single comment and I had not even allowed comments on my blog and it was only someone sending me a message on blotanical alerted me to the fact that someone wanted to comment.

    Congratulations on your first year – I enjoying following you (((hugs))) Rosie

  17. 33

    Anna said,

    Many,many congratulations to you on your first blogging anniversary Deborah and here’s to many more 🙂 A wise woman ~ your mother.

  18. 35

    Congratulations on your first year! And how generous to be giving away Mr Nichols. M

  19. 37

    Deborah, your blog has given me a great deal of joy over the past year, I always enjoy popping by with a cup of coffee and stopping to see what is new with you. Happy bloggiversary my dear,

    RO xxxx

    • 38

      RO, thank you so much, we are anniversary twins, starting our blogs at almost the same time. I enjoy yours (as you know) and am always amazed at your brilliant photography.

  20. 39

    Kathleen said,

    I can definitely relate to your nervousness at hitting “publish” on that first post. I don’t know what I thought would happen but it was definitely a moment to remember. Congrats on your first blogaversary. I think you’re doing a terrific job with it even if I don’t get by as often as I’d like.

    • 40

      Thanks Kathleen, that is a lovely compliment. It is hard to find the time to read other blogs, keep up your own, garden, and other life responsibilites, and new blogs are coming out on Blotanical every week!

  21. 41

    puppyparents said,

    Congrats on YEAR 1 Deb! What a fabulous achievement!!!!
    Loving all your posts and great pics!!!!
    xoxo


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

