What’s wrong with Hakonechloa?

I am sure I am not the only one to obsess  occasionally look over my blog stats. I have read other bloggers posts on the weird and wonderful search terms that they are found through. I have had a few myself, although nothing suggestive (not quite sure why I am missing out on that), lol.

But, I find it fun, to look back at what are my most popular and (unfortunately) least popular posts. The most popular, I can understand why, but my least popular, I am not quite sure why no one liked it. Only 1 person read it, no that is not a typo, one!!!!

Do you not like hakonecholoa? Maybe, you just don’t like the name, or know how to pronounce it?  I looked it up, it is hak-on-eh-KLO-ah, see, easy. I can’t understand what else it would be, it is the most gorgeous grass and my favourite.

Could it be because I showed you pictures like this?

I should be showing you pictures like this,

darn, this is not my garden, (yet)! It is a friends.

If you want to read the very insightful and poetic post (lol)  I first wrote about it, you can here. Otherwise, just take my word for it, plant some in your garden, any and all of the varieties are admirable, you won’t regret it!

48 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara H. said,

    Amazing that only 1 person has read that post. Even more amazing that I’m not that 1 person, at least I don’t think I am. Now I’m really going to have to go look at the post!

    I love it, can’t pronounce (even with the help above it’s hard), and never see it available to buy. Maybe that last item is the real reason?

    • 2

      Barbara, I have found it easier to buy in the last few years. The first time I planted it, I had to purchase it through mail order. Last year, a large grocery chain, with a garden centre promoted it heavily. Hopefully, lots of people in Ontario are now growing it and enjoying it too. Hope you find it.
      A couple of the very first posts I published have only been read by one person, but not this one anymore!

  2. 3

    Laurrie said,

    I love the hakonechloa, so much so that I planted 3 in full sun (because that was the only spot and because I just had to have them). We’ll see how they do. The strangest search term I got recently was “those weeds that look like tulips”. Huh?

  3. 5

    Hi Deborah – didn’t see the hacho posting the first time around – couldn’t have “met” you by then as hacho is my favorite grass of all time and I know I wouldn’t have missed it.
    It is funny how some posts are more popular than others – my ‘hosta leaves unfurling’ has been one of the most popular of my posts and all it’s only just one photo. Weird – sometimes I put so much time and effort into photos and comments and hardly anyone reads it. It’s dissappointing and unpredictable.

    • 6

      Heather, your hosta leaves was a beautiful shot, but I prefer your posts where you tell me some thing about yourself, rather than just a picture. You have to wonder what readers look for.

  4. 7

    It is always a surprise when a post doesn’t attract the expected readership. What is more important is that you have developed a loyal following because you are an engaging writer. Whenever I click on to your site, I wonder if the saga of the ugly burnt down home next door will continue and how your grand allee is progressing.

    • 8

      Allan, thank you so much, that is a very lovely compliment. I do feel like I have some very loyal readers, and found out how many when Blotanical didn’t publish my post. They all found there way to me anyway.
      I will be sure to keep you posted on the house saga when I hear something.

  5. 9

    commonweeder said,

    Allanbecker is right – it is important to develop a loyal following who will visit whenever there is a new post. When I try and find out why a post got many readers I can find no reason. Unless they are on a search for a particular topic readers don’t know what they will get. The only time I saw a direct relation between the topic and readership was when I posted about ‘femivores’ in response to a NYTimes column – and it was getting a lot of attention across the blogosphere. Another posting that continues to get steady traffic is about ‘mycotecture’, building-insulating material made of mushroom roots! But readers are searching for words – not photos. All very mysterious.

    • 10

      I think I am slowly building a very loyal readership, they seem to read all my posts, no matter how boring they may be, lol. I am never sure which direction my blog should follow, more factual or just continue like I am talking to my friends, which you all are!

  6. 11

    Hi Deborah, nothing at all wrong with hakonecholoa or your pics, I just hadn’t found your blog yet! It is impossible to predict which posts will be widely read and commented on, and which will be somewhat overlooked.

    • 12

      Rebecca, I find it interesting that so few readers go back and read previous posts. When I really like someones blog, I love to read the first posts, it really tells you a lot about them and their garden.

  7. 13

    I love this grass! I am sure I would have read this post had I been into blogging then. This is definitely on my wish list and I enjoyed both pictures. I cannot pronounce it nor spell it – ha.

  8. 15

    I love that japanese grass – though mine just now looks like your first photo – I was splitting clumps of it this weekend too as I want more of it! I love the way you call it Haks in your original article – thats good as I can’t say the word properly!

    Its a sharp learning curve this SEO stuff – I’m trying to get a grasp on it so that I can write for viewers and still keep the google search engines happy. You had your key word in the title and quite a few times in the text so I’m a bit baffled why you only ever got one reader…………. well its more than one now as I’ve read it now too. 🙂 Rosie

  9. 17

    Jen said,

    Vividly in love with this grass. But sadly it didn’t do very well in a container in my garden. Not having a land garden, I make do with containers.

    It still invokes that wonderful feeling of pure joy in my heart when I see a great looking specimen. Love the golden tones.

    Jen

  10. 19

    Anna said,

    Oh what a shame to have such a lonely post but I am sure that a few more of us have read it now. I have grown hak mac for some time now and although not my favourite grass I would not be without 🙂

  11. 21

    miss m said,

    Well, I read it ! I just didn’t comment ‘coz I was so bitterly jealous. 🙂 *rofl*

  12. 23

    teza said,

    D:
    I love Hakonechloa ‘All Gold’ and am having a hell of a time finding it to bring into the nursery. I think we are too early- needs heat [but not a lot of sun as you know] before it looks good. And heaven forbid, image is damn near everything when it comes to plants on a bench.

    As for the blog stats – I grew too tired of it all! Work your heart out to create a post and have one person read it, while a whimsical half-baked post gets you 50 readers. Will be interesting to see what happens when Blot drops the new rating system into place. More competitive silliness!

    • 24

      Teza, image is everything dahling, as you so well know, lol! I am sure the All Gold would be a huge seller, I love it, if you ever find a source.
      One of my top 10 posts was my “Oops, what have I done” post where I wrote about sending you my picture to post on the very first forum. I wrote it in 2 minutes, just to give the post some publicity and it is in my top 10!

  13. 25

    Lynne said,

    I’m curious how you know only one person read it. Your post comes up complete in my reader, so I don’t need to ‘open’ it to read the content and view the pictures. Maybe there are lots of others like me who read it ‘unnoticed’? You may be doing yourself an injustice 🙂

    • 26

      Lynne, I am really not sure how wordpress keeps track of the stats. I am told that there is one “pageview”. Under referrers, it will tell me where my readers come from, for example, Google.co.nz/reader/view (I think that is you reading in your reader.) But, maybe I am wrong.

  14. 27

    debsgarden said,

    A lovely plant! Once you are use to the name, the sound rolls right off the tongue. I suspect people weren’t drawn to the post because the name was unfamiliar or else you posted on a really bad day when no one was blogging. I don’t know that I can tell how many visitors my individual post have had. i will have to explore my statistics. It would be interesting to know!

    • 28

      Deborah, this was published, long before I joined Blotanical, now, I get a lot more views then that, lol. I have the numbers for each post, as well as the referrers, so I can tell most of my readers come through Blotanical, or Google reader, or directly from their home page, it is fascinating.

  15. 29

    I still can’t say it no matter how many times I try, but I did go and read your earlier post 😉

  16. 31

    Thanks for the tip on how to pronounce the name! I can’t believe only one person read your original post. Maybe the stats were wrong? In my own defense, I don’t think I’d been blogging more than about 10 days when that was posted…and I don’t think I’d found your lovely blog yet. But I did just go back and read your post…and I agree, it’s a lovely grass!

    • 32

      The first few months are very lonely for a blogger, not many readers or comments. But when I joined Blotanical, things really changed. I just love this grass so much, I want other bloggers to try it, it is wonderful.

  17. 33

    Hi, Deborah ~ Well, I liked your past post and I especially like the color of that grass. I never know what posts will get a lot of picks and what ones don’t … who knows. Maybe, it was a great day for people to be outside gardening 🙂

    • 34

      Amy, I read a lot more blogs in the winter and during the week in the summer. If someone publishes on the weekend or when I am away, I can miss fascinating posts. Glad you like the grass.

  18. 35

    Hey D,

    If it makes you feel any better…I barely get any traffic let alone get someone to read all my stuff. Those that do visit me just make my day!!! I love all your posts so don’t worry about one not getting any attention. Its just that we haven’t got to it yet! Lets have a pity party….I’ll bring the gin and we can sit in your fabulous garden for a chin wag.

    Have a good one

    M – Urban Dirt Girl

    • 36

      M, it was like that for me in the beginning as well, and that was when I published this post. I just want everyone to grow this grass, it is so fabulous.
      Get that gin over to my house, we can park ourselves right by the hakonecholoa and toast its beauty!
      D

  19. 37

    Sandra Jonas said,

    I love Hakonechloa! I have not had any luck with it here in Georgia.
    Just found your blog, wonderful! Lets go on another garden tour!

    • 38

      Sandra, what a shame it has not performed for you in Georgia. It is such a beautiful grass.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment, I am glad that you enjoyed it.

  20. 39

    Can’t wait to see when your Hakonechloa looks as great as your friends! I love Hakonechloa, it brings color and texture to the shade garden. Teza ‘All Gold’ in my garden and love it! Check it out here. Has anybody successfully tried Hakonechloa ‘Nicolas’ or ‘Naomi’? I’d like to know if they really have the fall color that is promised.

    • 40

      Another hakonecholoa fan, yay! I have the all gold, albo striata, macro, and macro aureola. I am also curious about the other two, and a local nursery lists “Beni Kaze” which translates as Red Wind. I might have to get a few more, lol.

  21. 41

    Melissa said,

    Deborah, this is my favorite shade grass bar none. I call it ha-KON-ee grass for short. Some clients don’t like it because it’s too chartruese (I only grow ‘Macra’). I am hoping to do a shade plants post soon and it will feature prominently!!

    • 42

      Melissa, how can they not like Chartreuse (I am such a fan, I even named my cat that once). I also grow the albo striata, that is a very nice one, and white and green instead. I just love the shape of it.

  22. 43

    Wendy said,

    I did NOT know how to pronouce that! I have several that dot the slope in my backyard. I lOVE this grass and I’m sure more than one person will now too!

  23. 45

    Racquel said,

    This is a plant I’ve been meaning to add for some time now. Got to remember to put it on the wishlist. 🙂

  24. 47

    Gloria Bonde said,

    Hi Deborah, I just went to your past post and read it. You wrote with such affection! The waterfall effect indeed must have been a beautiful thing. I have never heard of this lovely grass until now. Perhaps because we are in zone 4. –Tracking visits can be quite odd. There was a time my stats were going backwards. It drove me crazy until I figured out that when I changed my wordpress theme the analylitics was someone discontinued. I put it back in and all was well.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

