I’m So Excited!

And I just can’t hide it!

I had a wonderful weekend at Kilbourne Grove. Arrived to see snow on the ground, but while doing my walkabout, I noticed something in the distance.

Could it be?

Yes, it is!!!!!

I was pleasantly surprised by this, certainly did not expect this to be the first flower in my garden. I had noticed buds in November on the helleborus, but I wasn’t sure that they would be ok in the spring, a few marks, but looking lovely.

By the end of the day, the snow was all melted.

There are a few more coming up.

These are all free plants, yay, from work. We used them in a clients lobby, and then I took them home afterwards and planted them in the Kitchen Garden. Last June a couple of them even flowered. You can read about that here.

The snowdrops are just coming up.

By the end of the weekend, 90% of the snow was gone. Is it going to stay warm, are we going to have an early spring?

Fingers crossed!

54 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gardeningasylum said,

    Hurray for your hellebores! It’s supposed to be warm here right through the week, so hope is alive…

  2. 3

    Laurrie said,

    I love how you create suspense with the first photos, until the lovely hellebores appear in their close-ups. Such fun to find the dainty sprouts and blooms in the snow this time of year, and you gave us a sense of the joy of discovery!

  3. 5

    *Squeal*! Wonderful hellebores! They have such exceptionally nice flowers and foliage, I will try to find some this year. The white blooms are gorgeous against the dark leaves in the beds. I’m so glad you had a pleasant surprise waiting for you at KG, I can only imagine what will be going on in the next few weeks. 🙂

  4. 7

    Edith Hope said,

    Dear D, I am absolutely thrilled for you for I know, since I first began blogging at the start of January, that your garden has been under snow. You must surely reach the point when you do see the earth again that it cannot really be true. I do so hope that you will not have another fall of snow this side of summer!

    The hellebores, white, I notice, are lovely, even more so as they were a present from work. Are there any more lobbies with plants to be removed?

    • 8

      Thank you Edith, the snow has dragged on. And this is an early spring! Usually my husband is snowboarding at this time of year, but they are closing the runs as it is to mild. Unfortunately no more helleborus in the lobbies, but there is some rhododendrons this week, I have an alkaline soil, so I do not think they would be happy.

  5. 9

    fairegarden said,

    I love the squeal, and join in the chorus, as my voice is quite high pitched anyway! HA What a terrific surprise, and they look fabulous. I did not know flowers would bloom while covered in snow, except maybe crocus. What a great start to spring for you and your garden there. 🙂
    Frances

    • 10

      Isn’t it amazing Frances! This is my first spring with them, so I did not know what to expect. It has been a very mild March, so I do not think they will flower this early again. But I was out cutting all the old leaves off on Sunday, a la fairegarden.

  6. 11

    Heather said,

    Yippee! I figured you would have snow in Owen Sound for a lot longer. And congrats on the hellebores – don’t have any (yet). But my crocuses are blooming a full 2 days ahead of last year!

  7. 13

    Congratulations! Flower definitely mean spring can’t be far behind! Can’t wait to see the snowdrops.

  8. 15

    miss m said,

    Oh, what a delight ! 😀
    Next time, snowdrops !
    You’re so fortunate that snow cover melted in a day. I’m possibly the only one left with a yard full of snow … Lucky me ! 😛 lol !

  9. 17

    Jim Groble said,

    Wonderful, wonderful helleborus pics. jim

  10. 19

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    The Helleborus are beautiful, and a most pristine and welcoming white – even after all the snow that we were graced with. I am actually keeping my fingers crossed that I will have a chance to enjoy some of mine this year….. in past, they have been buried far too long and most have finished flowering before I get a chance to enjoy them.

    I note that you mentioned Rhododendrons in your response to Edith’s comment. If you care to try something a little different, seek out potato sacks, or another porous ‘bag’ of sorts, fill it with acidic soil, and then sew up the end. Dig a large hole. bury the bag on its side and then slit a hole so that you can set the rootball into the bag. Cover it up……. I did this when I wanted to add my Disanthus shrub to a property that was essentially clay. It worked wonders.

    Hope all is well with you.

    B

    • 20

      T, I actually thought that they were just big knobs of snow, until I got a closer look. I am surpreised you didn’t hear my scream at your house! Interesting about the flowering under the snow, I just read somewhere about putting an upside down pot over them to keep most of snow off, then remove in late Feb, or early March, would keep them from being buried too deeply.
      Good to know about the rhododendrons, we will see if any are alive after the client has tortured them for two weeks!

  11. 21

    kate said,

    Now that is a lovely sight ~ the Hellebores are beautiful. I was struck by the way the snow disappeared. It would be wonderful if that happened here. (Regina, SK). This is my first visit to your blog ~ a delightful treat to meet up with a fellow Canadian. I hope your wish is granted and it stays warm throughout the spring. Happy gardening!

    • 22

      Kate, I was shocked at how fast it went, we have had such a beautiful March here, has not gone below zero during the day. I fully expect next year, I will be paying for it and not see them until June, lol.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment, I hope to see you again soon.

  12. 23

    Chen said,

    I thought I can hear your scream of joy here in Milton; fully understandable. The snow made it look extra elegant.

    • 24

      I am not surprised you heard it, I was very happy! I think I need more of them now.
      Thank you for making a comment and visiting my blog. I do hope that you will pay me another visit, I promise not to sceam too loudly if you do, lol.

  13. 25

    Meredith said,

    How wonderful, Deborah. I’m so happy for you, and certainly keeping my fingers crossed for an early spring for all who so need the color and light and warmth after a long, dark winter. That first shot of the hellebore coming up out of the snow is just beautiful — and so symbolic somehow! (You know how I love symbols in the garden. ;))

  14. 27

    Hi Deborah, What a lovely surprise and gift for you! Great start to your flower parade!! Such beautiful, robust clumps you have there! Congratulations!! ;>)

  15. 29

    Wendy said,

    wow, good eye! Aren’t they just the most amazing plants in the world?!!

  16. 31

    Thrilling to see your first blooms of the season! Especially such lovely ones. Yay Spring! 🙂

  17. 33

    Joy said,

    Deborah girl !!! I would be jumping up and down (no matter what neighbors might think) if I saw buds up and smiling at me that way too !!
    What a wonderful surprise for you : ) See .. even though you had to wait what a perfect gift the hellebore gave you : )
    Joy

    • 34

      Joy, I think the neighbours think I am a little crazy. Ian and I have not “fixed up” the house, except for a couple of rooms, the garden is WAY more important. So they were not too surprised to see me doing the happy dance.

  18. 35

    kimberly said,

    What a wonderful surprise! I agree that this is not the first bloom I’d expect, but Woo Hoo!!! 🙂 And an added bonus that they were all FREEBIES!!!!

    • 36

      Kimberley, the free is a huge bonus! I have never grown helleborus before, although had long admired them. If they died, well, they were free, but they all loved and thrived, yay! Now, I will be buying more.

  19. 37

    Oh, how I loved creeping up on that hellebore! What fun and what a beautiful surprise. Hellebores are sadly STILL on my WISH list … but this fall you can bet I will be starting at least one of these beauties.

    • 38

      I could not believe my eyes when I saw it! If they hadn’t been free, they would probably still be on my wish list, wasn’t sure how hardy they are, but if they can bloom in snow, I’m getting more.

  20. 39

    Melissa said,

    Hooray for hellebores! I just pruned the ratty foliage off mine a few days ago and was amazed what a different it made in the garden’s appearance. The only other flowers up are a few (A FEW! DON’T GET JEALOUS!!) snowdrops. I absolutely love these plants – they have grown on me over the years.

    • 40

      Melissa, I pruned the old foliage off as well on Sunday, after all the snow had melted and I could see it, lol. I’m very ENVIOUS of your snowdrops, hope I get to see them make an appearance. (And I hope mine will soon too!)

  21. 41

    Karen Sloan said,

    How wonderful! Hellebores… the flagship of Spring : )

  22. 43

    These are lovely indeed, what a lovely surprise it must have been

  23. 45

    Anna said,

    Yaaaaaaaaay – pure magic! I imagine that you can’t wait to go back next weekend 🙂

  24. 47

    Grace said,

    I feel your elation, Deborah! What a pleasant, wonderful surprise to see them from a distance and have your suspicions confirmed upon closer inspection. Then a bonus with the melting snow. They’re just lovely! I predict no more snow, just a nice, gradual transition into spring. Sounds good, doesn’t it? My fingers are crossed.

  25. 49

    puppyparents said,

    Hooray! What a gorgeous surprise!
    Loving the blog Deb!

  26. 51

    commonweeder said,

    Hooray for hellebores. I was chatting with the husband of an acquaintance at a Christmas concert and learned he had lots of hellebores. So many hellebores he invited me to come and get some at the proper season. Maybe soon. Hooray for husbands of acquaintances and holiday concerts. He, his wife and 3 children are much given to singing in 5 part harmony around the house. More gifts.

  27. 53

    Valerie said,

    Aren’t they brave little souls coming up through the snow!! Your garden in Kilbourne grove is lovely. I will check back to see how it evolves. Valerie


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

