Bleak or Beautiful

Is your glass half full or half empty?  Is this scene bleak or beautiful?

Sorry, with Valentines Day on Sunday, I do not have time to write about my garden,  spending the next four days with my nose to the grindstone. But I will return next week, (try not to miss me too much, lol).

36 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Edith Hope said,

    Dear D, It is definitely hauntingly beautiful. Do not work too hard, and your faithful readers will all be here for your return!

    • 2

      Thank you Edith, Valentines Day is not as intense when it is on a weekend, people do other things to celebrate more than when it is a weekday. The flower deliveries get spread out over a three day period as well.

  2. 3

    gardeningasylum said,

    Gotta go for the beauty!

  3. 5

    Beautiful, of course. There’s nothing like a fresh snow. Just glad we don’t have too much of it.
    Try not to work too hard. Although I know that’s impossible at this time of year.

  4. 7

    Melissa said,

    Beautiful. And I say that as someone with a LOT of experience with snow these days. Yours is a complement to the landscape, instead of obscuring it. Good luck with all those Valentine’s Day projects!!

    • 8

      I think that you have more snow then me Melissa. This is the first year since we have owned the house, there has been so LITTLE snow, I think that you got it all. (although I saved a little for the UK as well)!

  5. 9

    Teza said,

    The imbued blues that permeate the photo make it a definite winner. Do try and keep your sanity between now and the 15th!

    • 10

      Teza, did the picture look familiar. I was so inspired by yours. I got up early one morning, put the kettle on and looked outside. Realized the light was the same as your old header, and took this picture.

  6. 11

    Rosie said,

    Its bleak if its in my garden and I am looking out on it – beautiful if its someone elses scenery just now.

    Hope you keep sane over the next few days Deborah …………….. I too will be glad when its over but Mothers Day in March here is even busier than Valentines day for me.

  7. 13

    goodtogrow said,

    Beautiful. If you’re a floral designer, I’m surprised you even had time to post a photo this time of year! Good luck getting through the next few days!

  8. 15

    Normally I would appreciate the beauty in such a picture, but at this point in the year, I’m definitely more ‘half empty’ with regards to winter landscapes, so I will be a bah humbug and vote bleak.

  9. 17

    Joanne said,

    Beautiful when viewed from the warmth of being indoors, but perhaps bleak when you need to step out into it and the cold.

    have a lovely day on Sunday.

  10. 19

    Miranda Bell said,

    This is such a stunning shot – don’t work too hard… allow some time for yourself too 🙂 life is precious. Miranda

  11. 21

    Anna said,

    Probably your busiest time of year – see you on the other side 🙂

  12. 25

    Beautiful to look at…but my heart is ready to say “good-bye” to it for another year 🙂

    Here’s wishing you some relaxation after the craziness coming up this weekend and some time to enjoy those you love.

  13. 27

    Wendy said,

    hmmm, maybe bleakly beautiful? Is that cheating?

  14. 29

    Beautiful! See my “A rare sight” post!

  15. 31

    Beautiful. But you must admit the audience for this poll may be considered slightly biased. Still beautiful, though.

  16. 33

    Joy said,

    Deborah … I think the “Blue Woods” picture is beautiful ! .. and I am glad to say I have always seen the glass half full (and wonder exactly what that liquid is ? .. does it change with your mood I wonder ? LOL)
    Don’t work too hard .. enjoy Valentine’s Day girl : )
    Joy

  17. 35

    Barbara said,

    I think it’s bleak AND beautiful – not necessarily mutually exclusive. I hope you do lots of Valentine’s business and look forward to further posts. Let us know what your Valentine’s bestseller was. Barbara


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

