Silver Wood

This is the centrepiece to the Christmas decorations in the flower shop this year. I was inspired to show it to you in more detail after reading Christine at Idora Design post about Manzanita.

We get these branches in from California with the bark sandblasted off. They were used for a few years in their natural state, before we decided to paint them silver for Christmas.

I love these branches, they are so architectural in their shape, and make quite a statement.

These are big branches, about five feet from bottom to top. You can get much smaller ones as well.

We had to put some big stones in the base of the galvanized container they are sitting in. You need the weight to stop it from tipping over.

Then did the usual stuffing chicken wire in and hiding it with sheet moss.

We had these up last year as well, wound tiny white lights around the branches and hung silver and crystal ornaments from it. This year, a more natural look, no lights and there are moss balls hanging from ribbon tied to  the branches.

24 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Joy said,

    Oh Deborah ! That is gorgeous ! .. I love trees and branches … these ones are wonderfully detailed .. perfect .. but I may have had to have the little white lights on them for the “twinkle” affect .. I’m just a big kid ? haha
    There are so many different styles of decorating something as dramatic as these branches .. makes me wish I had that in the house .. but the “girls” would be swinging off of them in no time ? 😉
    Joy

  2. 3

    fairegarden said,

    This is lovely, Deborah. A big table deserves a big arrangement. I love branches of all sorts, no mess and they last forever! I bet they were stunning with the lights and crystals, but can also stand alone. Moss is unbeatable, my favorite decoration. I made moss balls and sold them way back when, only they had gold thread. It looks like these have silver, which is perfect for the theme. Those balls will last a long time, mine have been on display year around in several houses for well over ten years.

    • 4

      These are big branches, almost five feet tall. They go down all the way to the bottom of the container. I love oversized arrangements, so much more dramatic. We did not even use the styrofoam ball, just moulded the moss into a round and tied it with the wire.

  3. 5

    Stunning! It is wonderful to include the natural world in your shop displays. Your trees bring us closer to the heavens… the perfect compliment to the earthy flowering bulbs. I love the moss balls. You must inspire many customers, clients and passerbys… not to mention those of us here in the blogspere. Carol

    • 6

      Carol, thank you for another lovely compliment! I love the natural world, this flower shop is actually the most “urban” I have worked at. Mostly corporate offices. Private homes like the natural world better.

  4. 7

    kiki said,

    Wonderful..super fabulous..unique and stunning! Great post!

  5. 9

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    After attending my first ‘urn display’ workshop at the nursery ( the staff guinea pig that I am!) I have come to appreciate branches as a wonderful decorative element. It adds a naturalized earthiness to even the ‘kitschiest’ of displays.’Oh, isn’t THAT interesting!’ seemed to be the favoured response…. until I found some twisty corkscrew hazel and dogwood, and a bright red cardinal….. and then everyone wanted to take it home.
    I love the store display – that is one mondo sized branch, but as Frances says, ‘ a big table needs a big centrepeice. I prefer the natural look – minus the lights and other glitz that might take away the natural look, and moss balls – there’s a concept that I haven’t thought of before!

    • 10

      Teza, are you going to post pictures of your “urn”. I would love to see it.
      You know I love them big, go big or go home is my motto. When I was studying floral design at school, we would get an assigned amount of flowers for an arrangement. I would make my base so large, there was never enough flowers to fill it.

  6. 11

    What stunning branches, love how they look painted silver. Great holiday display, so tasteful and unique. 🙂

  7. 13

    Deborah, those stunning silver branches remind of the beautiful shape of coral. I love that the bold shapes are contrasted with subtle colour and muted textures – fab!!

    • 14

      They are a bit coral like aren’t they. They had way more little “fingers” at the end of their branches. WE have had them for a few years, and some have got broken every time we have moved them.

  8. 15

    catmint said,

    Hi Deborah, those branches do look great, and funnily enough reminded me of reindeer horns. cheers, catmint

  9. 17

    Wendy said,

    You always give us the best ideas!

    I like the silver, but I think I actually like it as it looks in the first photo – a more goldish color!

  10. 19

    Pure drama. You’ve done a beautiful job. I’d love to have the space to showcase something like this!

  11. 21

    They are so beautiful. I love that you painted them silver for Christmas. I think this will have many people looking outside for pretty branches to bring inside.

  12. 23

    leavesnbloom said,

    Love your branches – hanging moss balls is an excellent decoration. I would love to be able to do things like this with my displays. You’ve given me a few ideas.

    • 24

      I am glad that I have given you an idea or two. The moss balls are dead easy. You can glue the moss to a styrofoam ball, but we just rolled the moss into a ball and wound silver wire around it to hold it together.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope to see you again soon.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

