A Multitude of Riches

I was away at Kilbourne Grove all weekend. We do not have any internet up there. There are two reasons for that, one is financial, why pay for internet all month, just to use it at the very most eight times per month, and in reality 3 or 4 times. The second is even more important. As I am sure every blogger knows, I have fallen prey to the great internet time sucker. How many times have you gone on the internet, just to check your e-mail, only to look up 2 or three hours later. As my time is very limited at Kilbourne Grove, every moment is precious. I do not have the time to “waste” on the computer, there is too much to do in the garden.

So, I was very surprised, pleasantly of course, when I arrived home on Monday to find that I had been awarded the Best Blog Award.

And not just once, but FOUR times. Thanks you to Teza, Anna, Rebecca and Gloria. You have complimented me beyond belief.

Post the award on your blog along with the name of the person who passed it on to you and link to their blog. Chose 15 blogs which you have recently discovered  and you think are great and pass it on to them. Don’t forget to leave a comment on their blog to let them know that they have been chosen for this award.

It is hard to pick 15 blogs that I have discovered recently, I have only been blogging a few months, so all the blogs that I read have been recently discovered by me! I am going to pick different blogs then the ones I chose for the Honest Scrap award.  Some of these bloggers have been writing for a while, but they are all new to me!

So please look at:

Francesa true lady and brilliant gardener, she was one of the first to visit my blog on a regular basis and taught me to be a gracious commentee/commentor.

Helena fabulous Canadian/Toronto gardener, who with her sister Sarah writes a very witty and informative blog. I have found out a lot about Toronto and its gardens/gardeners through her.

Racquelwas also one of the first bloggers to visit my blog. She is also very gracious to “newbie” bloggers, and always has a kind comment. And her blog is beautiful.

Charlotteshe is lucky enough to visit the most beautiful gardens and thoughtful enough to share them with us.

Catminta fellow smoke bush lover from “Down Under”. It is fascinating to witness spring/summer through her blog as my garden goes into fall/winter.

Joannewho has had some health issues in her personal life, but has risen above and inspired me with her amazing garden. Is everything in her garden grown from cuttings? It seems so!

Wendy-a fellow(in our dreams) landscape architect, she is inspiring in her very strong work ethic. I would love to follow her example and build my own wall, nah, it is easier to look at her pictures!

Jeana fellow “cold climate” gardener. She is knowledgeable and very hard-working, and I am hoping I am in her “research”. (I always wanted to be researched!)

Mary Dellea very beautiful soul with a beautiful garden. She is always there to encourage me.

Gracea fellow Garden Renegade, a lover of pink! She has the most inspiring garden, and it is so well-maintained I am envious. I am looking forward to our monthly “debates” in the New Year.

Johnsona lucky man who lives in one of the most beautiful parts of England and is nice enough to share it. (and he has a gorgeous dog too!)

Deborahwith a name like that, you know she is blessed. A new blogger with a most amazing garden. And she is so nice, (does she not have it all!)

Miss M –another Canadian!!! who lives in an even colder area then me. She is thrifty(finds good stuff at the dump), hard-working (and loves to research leaf composting, how cool is that)  and so very nice.

Lindaa gorgeous garden, of course, and we seem to have the same taste in books and movies. Her posts with her husband (he said, she said) on the evolution of their garden were fascinating.

Deborah-(are all Deborah’s geniuses, lol) she is a garden designer in Detroit, and designs the gardens that I would want to (if I was that talented). I have not seen anything that I haven’t liked! (I also want to buy everything in her shop, but that is another story).

Please do visit one or all of these blogs, I promise you, you will not be sorry!

 

28 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Anna said,

    Ooooooh – some new to me blogs to discover. Thanks Deborah 🙂

  2. 3

    Deborah, What kind words. Thank you for the honour!

  3. 5

    Congrats on the 4x award! I will be sure to check out the links you posted, the awards have been a great way to discover more beautiful blogs (ie more time wasting online 😉 )

  4. 7

    Jean said,

    Deborah, Thanks for the honor, and I can assure you that you are in my research!

  5. 9

    miss m said,

    Maybe I should change my name to the freeloading gardener. LOL ! I adore your sense of humour, Deborah, I’m sure we’d have a great laugh !
    Thx for passing the award along. (Now I gotta come up with a post !)

    • 10

      That is a great name, can I be your sidekick? I certainly freeload off the flower shop, I am already thinking about the spring bulbs that will be arriving soon. You can never have too many bulbs right?
      I am looking forwar to your post! (and a great laugh).

  6. 11

    Grace said,

    Hi Deborah, Congratulations on the award. I can totally understand the conflict between computer time and life in general. I too can spend literally hours on here. And a huge wheelbarrow-full of thanks for choosing my blog. I can without a doubt say, back at cha. And now, I’ve got more reasons to stay online. New blogs to check out. Thanks again, friend. I look forward to our forum-ing too.

    • 12

      Grace, I am glad Teza is starting in January, December is always so crazy, both at work and in real life. In January, with no gardening, I will have lots of time check out some new garden blogs. And your award is very well deserved.
      Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. 13

    Joy said,

    Hey Deborah congratulations girl ! : )

  8. 15

    Congratulations on the award – very well deserved. There are some terrific blogs on your list too – I follow Frances, Helen, Raquel and Charlotte too. Will be checking out the others when there’s more time to browse.

    My hyacinth is up about an inch since my posting earlier this week. Love watching them grow. I need more glasses to create a collection like you have.

    Thanks for visiting my wee blog. Take care.

    • 16

      Thanks Heather, isn’t it always nice to find some new blogs. I do not think I will have much time to do anything until after Christmas, work is crazy. (including my hyacinth glasses, I actually prefer them in Jan anyway, when it is so barren, both outside and in)

  9. 17

    Tatyana said,

    Congratulations on your award! Love your blog!!!

  10. 19

    Christine said,

    Hi Deborah,
    It’s true that the internet can be a time-suck, but if I had just checked my email this morning, I wouldn’t have found your wonderful blog!

  11. 21

    Wendy said,

    Thanks so much Deborah – you are so kind! I would give you a best blog award right back!!! Can’t wait to check out these other blogs you love…

  12. 23

    fairegarden said,

    Oh Deborah, you are too sweet, thanks for that. I will add your link on the awards page. I love your blog and am so glad your have joined in the conversation of garden blogging. You are a wonderful addition with a unique and talented *voice*. About that time suck, you are so right! We need to set the timer when just checking the email, don’t we? 🙂
    Frances

  13. 25

    catmint said,

    Hi Deborah, thanks for the award. I look forward to checking out the blogs from your list that I haven’t visited yet. And thank you for your kind words, cheers from your fellow smoke bush appreciater.

  14. 27

    johnson said,

    Very many thanks for the honour which I am delighted to accept.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

