Garden Visits: TBG, Containers

When I was at the Toronto Botanical Gardens, I was blown away by the urns. I felt that I had to do this visit in two separate posts, I had so many pictures. I didn’t want you to get bored part of the way through!

TBG 005

This was the first one I came across when I entered TBG. There is a teaching area, right behind it, you can see the pots and dirt on the ground. There was a girl there planting an autumn pot.

TBG 015

Near the parking lot. I wish I had more time to study the plants in the urns.

TBG 018

Framing the entrance.

I love these colour schemes.

TBG 020

and the other side.

TBG 022

A softer colour scheme for those of you that like things pastel, very pretty!

TBG 023

A bit closer look

TBG 024

Hot colours.

TBG 039

love those leaves!

TBG 040

I don’t know what kind of plant this is, but I love the feathery foliage.

 

32 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    elephant's eye said,

    These combinations are wonderful. I love interesting foliage. It has got height, and traily bits. Big dramatic leaves and delicate feathery ones for contrast. And striking foliage colour contrasts. Very inspiring. I hate watering containers, in our summer it is hard work. But I could try some of those ideas in the ground …

    • 2

      Diana, I thought the plantings were very inspirational. As you said, good contrast in colour and textures. I don’t have any containers planted as well, I also hate watering them, but I can’t even water them as it is a weekend house, and they could not go all week without water. Maybe, I will have the one day….
      Thank you for visiting my blog and your very insightful comment.

  2. 3

    Sylvia (England) said,

    Lovely dramatic pots, I love the green and purple foliage together. The phormium against the cannas (that is what I think they are) are very effective. Perhaps next year…

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    • 4

      Sylvia, you are bang on in your plant identification. It is interesting how container planting has changed over the years, from tiny containers with a huge variety of plants, to big containers with 3 or 4 varities.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and your kind comments.

  3. 5

    Joy said,

    Deborah … these are stunning plantings ! I have always wanted something so dramatic like this type .. I love crowded urns pack full of plants with different levels in height .. colours can be mixed or monochromatic (something I have a quirk for too) .. but these are truly gorgeous girl !!

    • 6

      Joy, I LOVE monochromatic. At the flower shop, I am always trying to talk customers into a monochromatic bouquet. Love the contrast of different textures and shapes, all together. Most people aren’t sophisticated enough to get it, but I knew you would be!

  4. 7

    Janie said,

    Do you know the grass in the pot, 2nd picture?

    These pots are beautifully planted. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 9

    Amazing containters!! The second one is just stunning, so very dramatic. Great pictures. 🙂

  6. 11

    Deborah, These are absolutely blow-awayable! We loved the containers we saw at the TBG back in spring. Considering I live less than half an hour away, there’s really no excuse for me not to visit in every season. Thanks for the show.

  7. 13

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    I have always had a love/hate relationship with planters – and even now find myself inwardly cringing when I see a customer planting an expensive conifer or Japanese maple in a container and then thinking it will survive on its own! Needless-to-say there is always a mini info session when a customer comes in with this idea! LOL!
    On the other hand, when people are educated regarding over-wintering (or not in the case of annuals) and I see spectacular containers such as the ones that you have highlighted to beautifully…. I have only one question. Why have I not considered using pots in the garden before now??? I am always whining about not having enough space. This year marked the first official container planting…. you guessed it, a freaking expensive Japanese maple…… but then I have never been complacent when it comes to gardening! Gorgeous post as always!

    • 14

      Teza, is this the start of one of the R Gardener’s Forum rants? I actually love seeing/using trees/shrubs/perennials in pots, but, you are right, they must be over wintered properly. That is the job of the “trained” nursery staff, to educate the consumer. And I think that you can fit a lot more “kids” in your garden, if you use pots!

  8. 15

    Mary Delle said,

    Great containers!! The arrangements in them are inspiring.

  9. 17

    Grace said,

    Hi Deborah~~ Boy I need to bookmark these for reference next spring. Flamboyant and edgy and so worth a second look and maybe a prolonged third.
    I beg to differ on one point. I believe the lance-leaved burgundy plant is Cordyline as opposed to a Phormium. Barely hardy here in my Zone 8 garden, they definitely need winter protection. I love how it mingles with the canna. I also love maroon, leafy, tall centerpiece in the second and third photos. Thank you for a great post.

    • 18

      Grace, you are so right, it is a Cordyline, not a Phormium, you spent a lot more time studying this picture then I did. It wasn’t until you pointed it out that I saw the stem.
      But, I am glad you like the pictures, the containers are amazing. I actually wish they had a plaque of some kind to let people know what is planted in the containers, I am sure that I can’t be the only one to want to know, and there were no employees around.

  10. 19

    Racquel said,

    Gorgeous plantings, I am particular to the first one myself. The combo of burgundy & green is my favorite. 🙂

  11. 21

    Hi Deborah, these combinations really do appeal to the eye! I find it refreshing to see combinations that might not ‘typically’ be planted together. It proves that there really is NO ‘right & wrong’ when it comes to garden arrangements…although I’m sure there are some purists out there who’d disagree with me!.

  12. 23

    Scott said,

    I’m particularly fond of the scale of the planter with the banana, crotons, ruellia, canna, etc. upon a close look at your image the planter seems to be made in sections like the staves of a barrel. Very cool.
    Scott

  13. 25

    jaw dropping gorgeous! left me very inspired deborah, thanks for sharing.
    i know! you come for the house tour/pumpkin pie martini’s and i will come for TBG and………………..??? surprise me!
    debra

  14. 27

    Hi Deborah – As a florist you must have a special eye for great containers – but even a lay person like myself can see how gorgeous and proportional these are. I especially like the first few with the cannas in them. I actually prefer the leaves of the canna to the flowers – they always seem a dissapointment to me after the beauty of the leaves. Gorgeous. Thanks for sharing these.

  15. 29

    Alice Joyce said,

    I returned to this post to soak up more of its summery energy!
    Fall is welcome, but I realized that I hadn’t left a comment.
    Then I realized there were blowsy (blowsy is good!) combinations for the autumn.
    Interesting to think about showy displays for big container plantings to transition from hot weather to cool. Cheers! Alice
    aka Bay Area Tendrils Garden Travel

    • 30

      Alice, when I returned 3 weeks later they had changed all the container plantings. I do think that they could have incorporated some of the plants that had already been there, but they took them all out.

  16. 31

    Marie Sande said,

    Did anyone ever tell you that the plant you didn’t know appears to be a Calliandra haematocephala ‘Nana’ (Dwarf Powder Puff) Beautiful year round down here in Florida.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

