Bulb-mania

 Ok, I have a problem. Actually, it is a serious illness. I cannot resist buying bulbs.

Shoot me now.

gardenOct09 126

This is only a few packages that I purchased this week (on sale, yay) and does not include the mail order bulbs that were not in pretty packages.

So far this year, (and until the ground freezes, and even then, I might still be sucked into buying more) I have purchased,

100 scilla siberica                              12 crocus-Flower Record

50 chionoboxa luciliae                    12 crocus-Grand Maitre

100 chionodoxa forbesii                 20 Crocus-Zwanenburg Bronze

40 anamone blanda                           4 Camassia

7 allium gladiator                               1 Fritillaria imperalis-orange(just to test it)

4 allium christophii                           25 winter aconites

12 daff-tahati

5 d. orangerie

10 d. pipit

10 d red devon

15 D. -Accent

15 D.-Bell Song

15 D.-Golden Ducats

 

This numbers 457  and does not include the 3 colchicums that I purchased the beginning of Sept. I am on an upward spiral, I only planted 245 in 2008,  225 in 2007 and  127 in 2006.

Now, these are bulbs that I paid good money for and purchased in the autumn. It does not include all the free forced bulbs that I received from work, all the bulbs that were given to me by my mum, and the very few bulbs that were here when we purchased the house.

Why, oh why, when you add all these up, does it look like nothing in the garden. How many bulbs does a garden need before it starts to look full?

34 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    catmint said,

    that question is one of the great imponderables, equivalent to what is the meaning of life, or how many angels fit on the head of a pin.

  2. 3

    tina said,

    You are my kind of gardener for sure. I went rather overboard last year when our local big box store marked down bags of bulbs to like 25 cents to one dollar. I was planting for days. This year I am being much more restrained although if I find that sale again the bulbs will surely have a come. I am interested in the camassia. I’ve not tried it but have seen it everywhere in Indiana (I live in TN but it is not real common here). You’ll have a fabulous show in the spring and bulbmania will pay off in bright colors.

    I have to smile at “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”. That dates us a bit but such a good song. I suspect I’ll be singing it in my head all day:)

    • 4

      Tina, I am half hoping that I can find a deal like yours. The problem lies in not visiting my garden as often as I would like, I won’t be up again until Hallowe’en. Last year, I was planting in the snow!
      Thank you for visiting my blog and your kind comments.

  3. 5

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    Who was it that said, ‘You can never be too thin nor have too many bulbs!’? I discovered a few choice places to put a few… and compared to your inventory I mean an all to brief ‘smattering’ – but see that we share good taste: Allium christophii is a favourite as is a new variegated Cammasia that I am trying anew! Bulbs are beautiful to say the very least!

    • 6

      Can I add, “or too many books” lol. I would like to try the variegated cammasia, I have a bit of a weakness for anything variegated!
      I hope that I am blown away in the spring by the beauty of it all!

  4. 7

    Racquel said,

    You are surely obsessed, but it’s a good obsession. 🙂 That is going to be some work to get all those bulbs planted. I normally order more than I did this fall. Still haven’t planted mine yet, lol.

    • 8

      Racquel, this “vice”is better for me (and all my neighbours) than booze or cigarettes. Funnily enough, I found planting this year easier than other years. I had a lot of small bulbs that I planted in the lawn, just dug up a chunk of sod, planted them and firmed the sod back in.

  5. 9

    Janie said,

    oh, yes, the bulb obsession. I have it too, but it has been treated and I am doing much better. For now.

    When I first got interested (obsessed) in bulbs, I made plans. I cleared space and moved things, and ordered and ordered bulbs, and stored them in my Darling’s refrigerator in the shop that is otherwise only to be used to store (briefly) Lite Beer From Miller. He complained, it didn’t make a whit of difference, I ordered more bulbs.

    Then I planted- for WEEKS! I planted over 1400 daffodils, all in one spot. It was glorious, when they bloomed. The following year, I had only the hardiest of the lot return- maybe a hundred. What do you know! I was bordering on cured.

    Now, I only order amaryllis and alliums, and at that, only the alliums that are good for me. oh, yes, and a few paperwhites for forcing. I may pick up a bag of bulbs in the box store, if I see them and if they are on sale, but I am not going to go looking for them. LOL

    • 10

      Janie, I see you live in Texas, I am not surfe how daffs do there, I do think that they need a cold period every year to do well. That is the one advantage of our winter, snow is for sure cold. I would love to see pictures of 1400 daffs flowering, it must have been glorious!
      Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope to see you again soon.

  6. 11

    tina said,

    You bet Deborah. Here’s hoping you find a great sale.

  7. 13

    Beautiful collection, I have the same illness ;).

    Janie, how awful. I had a bad experience with tulips which put me off for a few years, but I’m trying again now.

  8. 15

    Joanne said,

    I don’t envy you planting them all but what a lovely display you will have I look forward to seeing them in the spring.

    • 16

      Joanne, this was the easiest year yet. I have a new system, when I make a new bed, ie: my Serviceberry Allee, I plant it as full of bulbs as I can. Then, I don’t need to go in there again, they can just increase. Any bulbs that don’t increase, like tulips, I would plant in my Kitchen Garden, where they are easy to pull out of. This way, I am never digging in what I think is a bare spot, only to slice into bulbs.

  9. 17

    Mary Delle said,

    Oh, if I had a larger garden with space to spare, I’d be tempted to fill it with spring joy, bulbs!!!

  10. 19

    Grace said,

    Hi Deborah~~ I’ve been meaning to visit your blog, but I’m a bit of an airhead in the intentions department, among others that I won’t elaborate on right now.

    My big problem with bulbs is that I don’t enjoy planting them. There is no instant gratification. There is no available soil and it’s usually pretty mucky by the time I get around to it. Oh and then I forget where I’ve planted them or what variety is where.

    But don’t get me wrong. I love buying them and dreaming of how cool they’ll look under the lilac bush or the pear tree. It looks like you’ve got a nice collection and I hope you’ll post photos when they’re blooming next spring.

    Who knows? I might have check out the garden center….

    • 20

      Grace, I am looking forward to the spring (already) and I will post lots of pictures. I am trying to completely fill a bed when I make it, and then I hope I will not have to go back in, (and probably slice into some bulbs with my shovel).

  11. 21

    fairegarden said,

    I think the answer to the final question is: we need thousands, not hundreds of bulbs to make that big impact statement. But those little packages will turn into thousands over time, hopefully! I dig fewer bigger holes and just dump them in rather than one at a time unless they are huge bulbs, then still several in one hole. Saves the back and wrist. I had to get the wrist brace out after planting the mail order. I need more! It is an addiction. HA
    Frances

  12. 23

    Okay, I love the fact that you love gardening so much that you buy so many bulbs. I don’t think you can ever have enough if you ask me…

    I look forward to seeing your flowers in the spring.

  13. 25

    Wendy said,

    I love bulbs too! I also think you can’t really get enough of them! The squirrels take half of mine away, so that justifies buying more to ENSURE I have some nice spring color! I have never really bought bulbs in packages. Like Grace, I also don’t really enjoy planting them. I have a clay soil with lots of rocks mixed in, so each bulb is work! I think I’d get overwhelmed by seeing the actual bulb. I love VanBourgondien though. Have you used them? They have lots of great coupons! ( I like to take advantage of the spend $50, get $50 free one!). It will only feed into the craziness, but will save you money!

    • 26

      Wendy, I would love to order from VanBourgondien, but they don’t ship to Canada. I don’t know what this whole restriction thing is, do they not think that animals and birds respect the border. They just go back and forth, dragging soil with them, I don’t think that it has caused any problems.
      Most of my bulbs, I bought through a mail order house, and they just came in a cardboard box, but I couldn’t resist picking up a few more at the grocery store, after all they were half price, and I had to feed my craziness!

  14. 27

    Teresa said,

    I blame the squirrels. They must steal more than half of the bulbs I put it. I am always finding flowers where I didn’t plant them. They are little devils. That’s my reasoning because you are right, it never amount to much those bulbs.

  15. 28

    Teresa, I have not been lucky enough to find something where I didn’t plant it, I just find less of what I planted. I keep hoping they will go to my neighbours and bring me back some of her autumn crocus, but so far they are not producing.

  16. 29

    Pam said,

    Oh the joy when the bulb order arrives! I have to admit to being a bit of a tulip freak, but the other bulbs don’t seem to be so far behind them.
    Alliums – with christophii being my alltime favourite – are a wonder to me each and every year. And I spray the seed heads gold and silver at Christmas time too.
    P x

  17. 30

    Pam, I do love tulips but I don’t plant any except the species right now. My garden backs onto a squirrel “sanctuary” and they love tulips, a springtime delicacy.
    I do plant tons of alliums, I love them. I planted a half dozed allium christophii this year, looking forward to seeing what they are like.
    A gardener I know takes her allium seedheads in June, after they finish flowering and dry out a bit, spray paints them purple, and sticks them back in her garden. When she has visitors tour her garden, they are always surprised to see her allium “flowering” so late.
    Thank you for visiting my blog and making a comment. You know how important those are!

  18. 31

    Barbara said,

    Boy can I ever relate. I find it interesting that your bulb packages look very much like mine, although mine were purchased in Germany. Globalization in gardening I guess, or world domination of the bulb market by the Dutch! How do you get all your bulbs in before the ground starts to freeze? I’m having to really work at it. Thanks for your comment on my blog by the way.

  19. 32

    Barbara, I work in a flower shop in downtown Toronto, the Dutch dominate in the cut flower industry as well.
    My house is 2 1/2 hours north of Toronto, and I only go up on weekends and garden intensively. I got all my bulbs in over two weekends.
    When we bought it was all lawn, and only 3 clumps of daffs. When I make a new bed,(which is all I ever seem to do), I plant it very heavily at that time with bulbs. That way, I won’t have to plant anymore in that spot, no slicing into bulbs!

  20. 33

    JWLW said,

    This all sound like Gardenitce. You know that thing that all gardeners have and no Known cure.

    Enjoy your evening,
    John


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

