C-C-C-Colchicums

Finally, I have colchicums in my garden.

gardenOct09 029

However, these are not the ones that flowered last fall, they are not the ones that sent their leaves up in the spring, these are new ones, freshly planted.

gardenOct09 031

What happened to my old colchicums, I had three clumps last year, where have they gone?

I dug up one to find it was only a paper shell, the inside, its heart was gone! Does anyone know why this happened? I am heartbroken!

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Don’t know why it happens – it happened to me too – it’s like they rotted out in the ground. At least the squirrels didn’t get them as they did ALL my tulip and spring crocus bulbs. Had to replant everything.

  2. 2

    Heather, I have given up planting tulips and crocus while we are not living here full time. The Niagara Escarpment is like a giant squirrel factory!

  3. 3

    Nell Jean said,

    So disappointing to have bulbs fail, they hold such promise.

    Love your lions. My neighbor down the highway put similar lions by her driveway, seated on stacked large stepping stones to form a plinth to elevate them to a greater height. I think yours look good at the bottom of the steps.

  4. 5

    How beautiful, I love colchiums. I planted some recently too, but don’t expect to see them til next year, I thought they needed a winter outdoors to bloom the following fall? Wonderful pictures. 🙂

  5. 6

    Rebecca, the colchicums should flower the same year that you purchase them, unless you got ones that had already flowered. I am not a yellow girl, and they are a nice fall colour!

  6. 7

    Joanne said,

    I have the same problem with some I was growing in a pot and those in the garden get so eaten by slugs and snails such a pity as they are such lovely flowers to enjoy at this time of year.

  7. 9

    Tootsie said,

    do you have an ant problem? I had a colony of ants wipe out an entire bed with the way they work!

  8. 11

    Mary Delle said,

    So sorry your old ones did not come up. The new colchicums are beautiful. I can see why you love them.

  9. 12

    Thanks Mary Delle, they are beautiful and expensive!

  10. 13

    Racquel said,

    Gorgeous little bloomers. I don’t have this plant in my garden, thanks for sharing photos of yours. 🙂

  11. 15

    They have a very pretty flower, and it’s so nice to have a fresh bloomer this late in the year. I didn’t realize that they would bloom the first Autumn either. With luck, these bulbs will stay plump for next year for you.

  12. 17

    Hmm. I love colchicums, and I have lost some of mine but I never dug them up to see what happened. I don’t think it was mammals that ate them since I understand that they are fairly toxic (like daffodils). Maybe it was the ants. Makes me want to go out and dig up the area where I knew there were some before.

    I wonder if they are one of those bulbs that likes to be fairly dry during the dormant period of the summer. I know one of the places I have lost colchicums is down in the Hosta Dell. Maybe they just rotted out?

    • 18

      I am naturally very curious (nosey), os I wanted to know what happened. And they cost $6.00 per bulbs as well!
      I do have tons of ants, everytime I pick up a brick edging the Flora Glade, there is a mad scurry of ants rescuing their eggs.
      I am not able to water the garden during the summer, but it was very wet here this year. Maybe it is that? We will see if these ones come back!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

