The Lion Sleeps Tonight

Am I the only one who has song lyrics go through their head when they are trying to think of a title for their post?

Last weekend when we are up at Kilbourne Grove we bought two sentries for our home. Ian wanted them placed at the front door, where they are quite in the way. I gave in (temporarily, of course) it makes him feel like he has a say in the garden. LOL 

These were heavy, I mean very heavy! They had been at the nursery for so long that the price tag had faded and  no one could remember how much they were. We got them for $50 each, which I was quite pleased about. They are starting to get a bit mossy and I hope that one day they well look like a valuable antique!

gardenOct09 033

Forgive out front steps, I know they need repainting. They actually need rebuilding first. And I am thinking of changing the design, so it could be a while.  You can see that they have been many colours over the years.

I noticed when I was writing this that the doormat is still there. This is one of those items, that you do not notice after a while. I keep meaning to pick it up and throw it away, but keep forgetting. It has been there since we bought, May 2006, and is growing a lovely coat of moss. Maybe I can call it Garden Art!

gardenOct09 034

I like his shield, no burglar is going to get past him. I do worry a bit leaving the house empty so often. There is nothing there to steal, it is vandalism that is my biggest fear. But the neighbours are really nice about keeping an eye on it, and, knock wood, nothing has happened yet. And now we have our guards!

gardenOct09 035

But, I do think that they look a bit like the Cowardly Lion from The Wizard of Oz.  Hopefully no burglar (or salesman) will get close enough to realize that they are just a big pussycat!

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    fairegarden said,

    Oh they are wonderful, Deborah! They do look more friendly than mean though. Maybe they could be on the porch itself it you are worried they might be kidnapped and held for ransom! We have a silly doormat outside too, that I have been ignoring for years. It needs to go but Kitty likes to scratch his claws on it. But there are plenty of other things for him to scratch, like trees. It becomes invisible to our eyes after a while. How funny! 🙂
    Frances

  2. 2

    Frances, we lived in a university city a few years ago. We had 2 cement urns at our front door that were also very heavy. One morning I got up to find one was missing, but found it a few houses away. I guess it got to heavy to carry. I am hoping that it will be the same for my cowardly lions. They are deceptively heavy.
    Deborah

  3. 3

    Barbara H. said,

    Yes, it’s a difficult situation we sometimes put ourselves in. First we want our gardens / houses to be so wonderful that people go by and wish they lived here. Then we have the worry that they might take “souvenirs” instead. I lost a big pot with geraniums that I had overwintered for a couple of years and some other things off a front porch several years ago when I lived in Portland. It was very disheartening, but finally decided I couldn’t live in fear of losing things. If something is very precious to me, sometimes it just lives in the house until I can bear to put it outside. Your lions are wonderful.

  4. 5

    Deborah, I’d like to have these 2 lions flanking my doorway just like how you have arranged them. They look happy now but I’m sure they will be fierce and protective when the situation calls for it.

    • 6

      Auntumn Belle, I love my lions, I am sure they will step up if the need to defend Kilbourne Grove arrives!
      Thank you for visiting my blog and your kind coimments, I hope to see you again.

  5. 7

    rosey pollen said,

    Since I love the Chronicles of Narnia, I couldn’t help but think of ASLAN! (The Lion)
    These are spectacular guards for your house, love ’em!
    Rosey

  6. 8

    Rosey, I love Aslan, (now I have two of him), one of my favs. I do not have to worry with him(s) on guard!

  7. 9

    Oh, they’re wonderful. Lions add such a stately feel to a property. I agree that these are very Aslan-ish. Now I’ll also have the Lion song running through my head.

    I see that you are unable to stop shopping too. 😉

  8. 11

    Joanne said,

    I love the Lions and the steps look well used, one thing about photographing for these blogs it makes you look more closely and critically but all this blogging stops all that necessary work.

  9. 13

    Mary Delle said,

    I love your lions. They are one of my favorite animals in the garden. I know they will protect your garden and house very well, even if they are pussy cats.

  10. 15

    Tatyana said,

    Hi Deborah! What a bargain! I love lions, I have one even inside my house. Yours look perfect at the steps.

  11. 16

    Tatyana, I would love to see a picture of your “house” lion. They were a great bargin, I am very pleased.

  12. 17

    Janie said,

    Someday, they WILL be valuable antiques!

    Those are great lions! Not mean looking, just cute, but still lion-ey.

    I lost a big pig, planted with lovely RED geraniums from my yard! I was and still am very put out by it.

  13. 18

    Isn’t it upsetting when people steal stuff! Thanks for the compliment on my lions and visiting my blog. Hope to see you again.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

