My Garden Design: Part II

The very first garden feature that I drew on my plan was the “Lime Walk”.

I have always wanted a Lime Walk, starting with my first glimpse of Sissinghursts, and I am currently in love with Monty Dons (and him as well). They were in many parks when we lived in England and I love the strong architectural lines.

This is what I wanted to see when I washed the many, many dishes at my kitchen sink. I designed it so you look the full depth of the garden (from the house approx  75  feet) and one day will have a focal point at the end, a statue or a big urn on a pedestal. You can read more about how I laid it out here.

I also wanted a “Kitchen Garden” or potager. I do want to be able to grow some veggies, when we are living there full time, and I also want to use this as a holding area (for those impulse purchases that every gardener makes), gifts from friends, plants growing from seed, and flowers for cutting for the house.

We built this in the second sunniest spot on the property (the first being saved for a swimming pool, hopefully). It happens to be as far away from the house as you can get, most of the bigger trees are planted around the house (great for keeping it cool inside, Mother Natures air conditioner).

We have a berm, on the south and west side of our property, redirecting water run off from the Niagara Escarpment, away from the house.  So after leaving a three foot path at the bottom fo the berm, we started building the raised beds for the Kitchen Garden.  You can read about it here.

The north dividing wall for the Kitchen Garden is a cedar hedge. On the other side of that hedge is the second garden that I made, the Flora Glade.

This is the area immediately behind the garage, and there were two clumps (thats the technical term) of silver maples.  One of two and the other of three, approx 15 feet away.  Also there is a large silver maple and a red maple on the south east corner of the garage. So a lot of trees, actually a grove of trees! This has become the most informally planted area, except for a straight hedge on the south and east side, all the beds in here are curved. You can read about it here.

The last garden I have laid out is the Serviceberry Allee. This was just planted (at least half of it) two weeks ago.  It starts from the Lime Walk and runs to the Kitchen Garden. You can read my post on it here and here.

gardenOct09 021

OK, no laughing, this is a very roughly drawn (on my dining room table) map of what I have accomplished so far.  (Perhaps when I have time this winter, I will attempt a more detailed drawing.) I did not draw on the cedar hedge that separates the Kitchen Garden and the Yew Garden from the Flora Glade.

The Yew Garden consists of two freshly planted yew hedges, running east and west, with lawn in the middle.  You can read about that here. I have not decided what I will put in here, although a million and one ideas are swirling through my brain. Water feature, parterre, oh what to do? Oh well, lots of time to think about it, and certainly no rush to do anything.

You can see how the garden is divided into three sections, one behind the garage, and one behind the house. The third, that we refer to as the Croquet Lawn is currently reserved in my mind for the pool.

In the spring, I hope to address the problem of a path from the driveway to the front door.  I already started by planting a row of Emerald Cedars on the north side of what will be a path. You can read about that here. I will post pictures on that if and when it happens.

23 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    What a wonderful post to wake up to! There is actually blue skies when I look overhead, so perhaps a busier day at the nursery than the past few!
    What a stunning property, and the visions will only add to it’s beauty. I shall compose a more in depth email this evening when I have more time.

    • 2

      Thanks Teza, I glad I could brighten your morning. I work in the Path, so I never see daylight, from when I go into work, until I leave. I’m glad to know there were blue skies today.

  2. 3

    barbarapc said,

    Having a view from the kitchen window preserves the soul. Are you finding deer a problem? I worked on a rural garden a couple of years ago – of course everything had to be symetrical – and didn’t the deer just pick and choose out of the one garden throwing everything off. Over time the garden will tell you what to do – it’s simply a matter of listening.

    • 4

      Barbara, I am lucky, no deer. Millions of squirrels, racoons, skunks (on the neighbours side of the fence, luckily) a rabbit and I even saw a fox trotting down the sidewalk once.
      One of my twelve lindens that I planted bare root this spring, never did leaf out. You’re right, that is the problem with symmetry. Luckily it is in the Lime Walks first growing season, so a new one will catch up easily. The Lime Walk is the view from my kitchen, and my fav(for now) in my garden.

  3. 5

    Ooooh, it’s lovely. I really like the layout of the kitchen garden, and although there are discrete areas they flow from one to the next seamlessly. So nice to see the plan drawn out, I wasn’t able to picture how the lime walk & allee were related to eachother. Your garden is going to be outstanding. Terrific post! 🙂

  4. 6

    Worth the wait?
    I do love the kitchen garden as well, I wanted to paint/stain the wood that was used to form the raised beds, and I still might one day. Sarah Raven, (an English gardener/florist) had done that in her cutting garden and it looks brilliant.
    I really should take some time this winter and do a proper drawing on graft paper, and draw in the hedges as well. I just took a photo of this plan, as I don’t have a scanner.

  5. 7

    leisa said,

    Thanks for the visit! I love the idea of the map, i’m going to draw one of my garden myself this weekend!

  6. 8

    Please post it on your blog, I would be curious (nosey) to see it!
    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  7. 9

    Tatyana said,

    What a good planning! Here, I don’t hear a word Linden often. It’s my favorite tree.

    • 10

      Thanks Tatyana for visiting my blog and making a comment. I do love Linden trees, or Lime trees as the English call them. I am not sure what Europeans call them, I would be curious to find out.

  8. 11

    Yes, absolutely worth the wait. I don’t think there’s any need to do a better drawing, this one looks great.

    Completely unrelated, but could you shed some light on something for me? I’m trying to get info on the Dwarf Ornamental Pineapple. I bought a tropical bouquet many years ago and there was one in the center. It was absolutely adorable, and long lasting. I have’t come across another since, do you ever have them in your shop?

    • 12

      Hi Rebecca, first, thanks for telling (lying) me that I do not need to do a better drawing.
      If we are thinking of the same flower/plant, we do occasionally get them in. Are the ones you are thinking of pink, and look like a tiny pineapple on a long stem?
      Deborah

      • 13

        I’m pretty sure the pineapple was green/yellow, and was a tiny pineapple on a long stem. I thought it was grafted or something, but after doing a little searching today, it was most likely a dwarf ornamental pineapple bromeliad. Looks like a fun houseplant, now that I know what to look for I’ll keep my eyes open.

        And really, I prefer the hand drawn plan, it has more character than a drafted one. 😉

  9. 14

    Mary Delle said,

    This garden design has really captured my interest. I loved having you walk us through it.

  10. 16

    Jackie said,

    I’m impressed…because I could never be disciplined enough to do a plan. I kinda just fly by the seat of my pants…except where the woodlot is concerned…there I need a plan and that’s the part of the whole deal that I hate….I will read with interest and try to learn from your experiences.
    Jackie at Meadowsweet

    • 17

      Thanks Jackie, this is my third garden, and every time before, the seat of my pants came in handy. This time I was determined to be more disiplined, and the fact that there was not one single flower bed really helped. I had no choice but to decide where I wanted beds, before just planting.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope to see you again.

  11. 18

    rosey pollen said,

    The over-all design looks well laid out. I wish I would have done this when we moved into our house 11 years ago. I just patched everything together, willy nilly, and it shows.
    A potager sounds nice!
    Rosey

  12. 20

    Joanne said,

    Such interesting plans I look forward to pictures of your lime walk in the spring when their foliage is such a delicate shade. It will be great having the view from the sink too.

  13. 22

    I love seeing others’ plans drawn out like this. I am unfortunately, notorious for just planting when and where I feel like it, with no ‘plan’ in advance. I try to envision it in my mind, and if I can’t, I just plant and see how things do over time. If things look out of place, I move them. You are organized and a good role model for how things ‘should’ be done…at least in my opinion!

    • 23

      Jan, I have never had a “plan” until this garden. It is unusual for me to get a garden where there was nothing but lawn. I really had to think about what I wanted.
      There is still a lot of moving in the Flora Glade, that area is a bit less structured.
      Thank you for viisting my blog and your very kind comments. I hope to see you again.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

