Let There Be Light…

Usually, I would be happy to see some sunlight in the garden, but not this time. I designed the whole Lime Walk around the shade in the garden. There is two 75 foot long rows of hydrangeas  that were planted two years ago. They have been doing very well, especially this summer, but when the maple tree in the back lost 1/3 of its canopy, (you can read about why that happened here)  this happened…

gardenSept09 085

You probably cannot see it from this picture, but the hydrangeas are looking a little shocky, hopefully that is just temporary. Next years when they leaf out into a more sunlit world, they might just decide they like it.

If not, well, I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    Let’s hope that your Hydrangea respond to sunshine the way I do! Being a shade guy, I languish and sometimes find my face and arms turning red a bit, but then with consistent water, I tend to bounce back. What a stunning scene you have captured for us though! I will definitely have to find my way to Owen Sound next year! Fabulous!

  2. 3

    What a lovely, enchanted picture. Here’s hoping the tree will start to fill in next year, and the hydrangea will get used to it’s new climate. 🙂

  3. 4

    I’ll second that motion!

  4. 5

    fairegarden said,

    Whatever caused the leaf cover to thin is somewhat of a worry? The hydrangeas should adjust by next year, it looks like dappled light rather than direct harsh sun. Hope it works out! 🙂
    Frances

  5. 6

    Sorry Frances, the post wasn’t very clear. We had a storm go through a few weeks before, there were three main branches, and one came down. It seemed like it was the biggest (at least when we were cutting it up for firewood, 3 cords worth, as well as a huge pile of wood chips).
    I’m glad you think that they will adjust to the light, it just means more watering!

  6. 7

    Noelle said,

    What a beautiful photo. I can only imagine how it will look when the Hydrangeas grow larger. I wish we could grow Hydrangeas here in the desert…..

    • 8

      Thank you for your kind words about my very poor photograph. I look at other bloggers photos, and I think I have a lot to learn.
      I am anxiously awaiting the day when the hydrangea grow and fill in. I think that it will be very pretty.
      Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope to see you again soon.

  7. 9

    marydelle said,

    Hopefully they will adjust and the tree will slowly grow back in. I get troubled when these sorts of things happen in the garden. But nature will have its way.

  8. 11

    My hydrangeas like the light up to about 1pm. They actually bloom better with some sun. I hope yours will be ok.

    • 12

      I hope they will be ok too. It is probably just the initial shock of suddenly losing the shade that they don’t like. I hope I am posting next year on how amazing they are.

  9. 13

    Joanne said,

    What a lovely journal of your garden. I look forward to following your progress.

  10. 15

    Barbarapc said,

    Just as long as they get enough water, I think they’ll be great – just think how lovely it will be next year as you take a walk along your border with your coffee in the a.m.

  11. 16

    Barbara, that is the problem. I am only up there on weekend, and not even every weekend. They have to manage by themselves, as there is no one to water them. Hopefully, they will be fine.
    It is my favourite place to stroll, I just imagine I am a character in a Jane Austen novel, taking a turn through the shrubbery!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

