Bulbilicious!

Yummy! In Toronto, we have “Summerlicious” and “Winterlicious”.  It takes place during the slower times in a restaurant, and was planned to bring in more business.  You get a prix fixe for a set price and a lot of very expensive restaurants participate. For a lot of them, it is the only way, you will ever be able to afford to eat there.

For me,  I need bulbilicious. I could never afford to plant the quantities of bulbs that I would want to in my garden, after all how much would it be for 10,000 scillas, thousands of daffs, millions of crocus, etc.  I want what the English have. I want a snowdrop wood, where all you see are yard after yard of snowdrops, crocus lawns, bluebell woods.  In England, they will plant them in the thousands and then give it 100 years or so, it will be spectacular. I want to see Wordsworth vision of daffodils in my back yard.

Whats a poor girl to do? In Canada, we do not have the huge number of mail order bulb companies that England and The United States have.                                                      

I was reading  Gwendolyn’s Garden blog and she was talking about ordering bulbs,,   so cheap from www.Colorblends.com, a wholesale mail order company.

 So, I went on line and found Flower Bulbs R Us.  This is the cheapest place that I could find in Canada. If anyone knows someone cheaper, please let me know.  I did a cost comparison,  Flower Bulbs R Us to ColorBlends.  OK, there is no comparison. Scilla -FBRUS  1000/$199.60  Colorblends 1000/$120.00,  Frit melagris  FBRUS 1000/197.60 CB 1000/145.00,  Chionodoxa FBRUS 1000/115.00  CB 1000/95.00 .

 If I bought all 3000 bulbs (which is the quantities that I would need in order to achieve my dream, well, semi-achieve), FBRUS $512.20 and CB $360.00, that is a difference of $152.20.

Now don’t think that I am slagging FBRUS, they are quite a bit cheaper than all the other mail order bulb companies in Canada.  So, once again I am ordering from them, just not in the quantities that I would be if I could order from Colorblends.

The dream will just take longer!

28 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gwendolyngarden said,

    One thing about gardening– it certainly isn’t cheap. I’m sorry colorblends doesn’t ship to Canada- they really are great.

  2. 2

    I will have to find a “mule” to smuggle bulbs in for me. Shhh!

  3. 3

    fairegarden said,

    Hi Deborah, one way to get that English mass planting look is to go for the bulbs that naturalize very quickly, like the grape hyacinths. We have had great luck with the daffodil Rjinveld’s Early Sensation. It makes babies like crazy and can be spread about in just a couple of year’s time. I dig and spread them as they first appear in the late winter. The grape hyacinths foliage appears in fall, now, and can be spread all over now. They will also throw seeds, not scilla, but still a sea of blue in the spring. 🙂
    Frances

    • 4

      Frances, grape hyacinths are the one bulb I have a lot of. Last year at Valentines day, the flower shop had to get rid of 4 flats of 18 pots per flat, of grape hyacinths. I planted them in a strip, edging the hydrangea in the Lime Walk. This year, because they were forced bulbs, the show was good, not spectacular. But, I have high hopes for next year.
      The Early Sensation sounds like a daffodil that I would like to get, I will take a look for it.

  4. 5

    teza said,

    Deborah:
    Well…. my meagre purchase of 10 Anemone blanda, 10 Galanthus, 3 Allium Christophii and 3 more Nectaroscordum pale in comparison to your lofty endeavors, but I can so relate. Hyacinthoides hispanica and Mertensia pulmonarioides are two more wonderful blues to consider….. and I know both have over wintered here in Teza’s garden.

    • 6

      Teza, don’t think for a minute that that is how many I ordered. I do like bulbs, I think that they are my favourite. I only ordered 150 scilla, 100 chionodoxa, 50 winter aconites. Although, I was at Home Depot and did pick up 25 Tahiti daffs and 6 allium Gladiator. That is it though, I swear.

  5. 7

    Chloe said,

    Do you dig huge plots, use an auger or bulb planter??? Please post pictures in the spring!! I tend to be rather inpatient and need instant gratification. Gardens have got to be one of the best teachers of patience!! I’ll be back. I like your style! Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I get so excited when I get new comments!!!!

    • 8

      Chloe, I have never tried an auger or bulb planter, I don’t know why. When I am planting the scilla, I will dig up a huge chunk of sod, place them in the hole and firm the sod back on top. I love the look of a “blue” lawn. The others, I will dig a huge hole, I like big clumps.
      I am also an instant gratification girl. I am planting all my trees, hedges etc, now, while I don’t live at this house full time. It seems to make time go faster, when you only see your plants, 2 or 3 times per month.

  6. 9

    Thanks for the reminder…..ordering bulbs to replace those the squirrels enjoyed is on my “to do” list, just not done yet. My meagre purchases won’t compete with your masses of spring colour….but can’t have my spring garden without some crocuses announcing the new season.

  7. 10

    Heather, I love crocus, when I lived in England, I went to Kew Gardens, they have a crocus lawn, a-maz-ing! However, my property backs onto the Niagara Escarpment and the forest there is a squirrel factory. One time, I was sitting on my porch and witnessed a wave of 9 squirrels chasing each other. When my dad visited on the weekend with his two dogs, not a squirrel to be seen. I think that I will wait until we move up there full time and get a dog to plant the crocus.

  8. 11

    Liz said,

    Hi. I wandered into your blog from …….erm, not sure actually! but I’m very glad I did – I’ve really enjoyed reading about all your very impressive works (and finding a fellow beer fiend!!!)

    I have a small copse at the top of my garden with crocus, grape hyacynth and bluebells – both English and Spanish, but I’m doing battle to eradicate the Spanish! I can’t claim to have had any part in making it, although I am responsible for the developing wild flower area in front of the copse!

    Thanks for a great blog.

    Nutty Gnome 🙂

  9. 12

    Liz, Thank you for your wandering, and finding my blog. Your comments are very kind. When I lived in England, I loved, loved, loved the bluebell woods. I find here, the effect is not as magical. By the time the bluebells flower, it is the end of May, and the trees have leafed out heavily by that point. I am still trying to get a “copse” of my own planted, with very light shade, then I will try again and see if that makes any difference.

  10. 13

    I can relate to the bulb coveting. I’m in the US and I still can’t afford to buy in the quantities I would like. I do like Frances thoughts and will try to get the daffodils. It’s the only bulb the squrrels leave along.

  11. 14

    Anna, have your tried alliums or fritillaria, I find the squirrels leave these alone, maybe it’s the smell. I will take Frances’ suggestions and I am on the hunt for Early Sensation.

  12. 15

    This is a very timely post & comments , I suppose it is fall, after all. I have a few bulbs in some beds (crocuses & daffodils), but would really like to naturalize bulbs for a sea of flowers which vanish into the lawn. I’m hesitant to go all out, and end up with a mowing disaster, but I may try a few in the grass along the edge of beds and see what happens next spring. I will look into the aforementioned Grape Hyacinth. 🙂

  13. 16

    I love grape hyacinths, and they increase very rapidly (some might call them a weed), but they do send up leaves this time of year. Scilla is very beautiful in or on the edge of a lawn, the lawns in Kingston would turn “blue” in the spring and it didn’t seem to hurt the grass any. Thank you for visinting my blog and hope to see you soon.

  14. 17

    I went bulb shopping yesterday, and bought some blue grape hyacinth, snowdrop galanthus & purple snow crocuses, all with naturalizing in mind. The grape hyacinth is from a different company, so it isn’t clear to me if they will bloom at the same time, I hope they do.

    I’m thinking of planting them into an area along the driveway/walkway, but it is piled high with snow by the end of the winter, and I wonder if it makes it a poor choice for location.

    An aside, I don’t think anything attractive, and at least somewhat well behaved should be considered a weed. 😉

  15. 18

    Hey Rebecca, glad you got your bulbs. I have a lot of bulbs right at the edge of the street, where the city plows the snow onto them. The snow gets really deep, but all I find is they are a bit later flowering then others in my garden. It takes a while for all that snow to melt.
    I have quite a few planted very close to the house, the snow melts there the fastest and they are the first to bloom.
    I don’t think of grape hyacinths as being a weed, a neighbour was over and made that comment. I love them!

  16. 19

    Thanks so much for the info, glad to know they don’t mind being buried in plowed snow for the winter. 🙂

    (I know you don’t think of them as a weed. I overheard someone say that ALL perennials look like weeds when not in bloom!)

  17. 20

    What! Are they crazy, there are maybe a few that are a bit “weedy” looking, but the majority of perennials have very beautiful foliage. That person is obviously not a gardener, or an artist.

  18. 22

    One last muscari question (I promise). Does the reappearance of foliage in the fall make them a poor candidate for planting into the lawn? I suspect the foliage should be left to grow and fade naturally, which may pose a late season mowing problem.

  19. 23

    Rebecca, my muscari foliage is only 2 inches high right now. Usually, you don’t want to cut back the foliage, as this is feeding the bulb. I don’t know where you live, but you probably will not be cutting the grass to many more times this year. And if the blade is set fairly high, I don’t think that it will be a problem.
    Deborah

  20. 24

    Great idea: Bulbilicious. Do I get an army of minions to go along with my 3,000 bulbs? A few years ago, I did plant what I dreamed would be a sea of ‘Advance’ crocus naturalizing in my lawn. Next spring, not a single crocus bloomed — the squirrels had found every one. So my army of minions would have to be unaverse to desquirrification.

    • 25

      My army of minions numbers exactly one, me! Until, we move up there full time, and get a dog, no squirrel food ie: crocus and tulips will be planted. The whole time my dads two dogs were visiting, not one squirrel showed his pesky face.

  21. 26

    Thanks. I’m in southern alberta and we will probably have to mow 1 more time, but if the foliage is low then it won’t be a problem. 🙂

    • 27

      Isn’t it nice to think only one more mow for the season. I don’t know if southern Alberta got the rain Ontario did, but all I did was mow.
      Make sure to post the pictures in the spring, I want to see how it looks.
      Deborah

  22. 28

    Sandria Leveille said,

    Hi Deborah, I am on Vacation in Barbados, surfing the web, enjoying your Snowdrop Collection. I live in Mississauga. Did you find an online Nursery that ship unusual or rare Snowdrops?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

