Labour Day! (and I did)

Finally, a three day stretch of beautiful weather.  Our neighbours had been circulating a petition, asking us not to come up on the weekend, as it rained every time we visited! (I think that they were joking!)

I made a list, and checked it twice, all week in Toronto, had a huge number of plans to check off.  Did I do them…….

Well, the beach interfered (but only once)

and the porch interfered (but only two or three times)

and the beer interfered (many, many times!)

But, I did get some  things accomplished.

First on the list, was cutting the hay field lawn, that took a lovely and fun-filled 3 1/2 hours.  OK, beer break.

Sunday, we got up, full of determination to cut up the pile of logs from our beloved old maple that had been piled in our driveway.

 

Before

Before

 

 We went merrily along with our  14″ electric chainsaw that we had purchased the year before, we bought it thinking this is ideal, we can cut up any branches that fall.

 

 

After

After

 

Only, that didn’t quite work out the way we had planned. As you can see from the above picture, this branch is a bit thicker than 14″. Even if you cut in 14″ from each side, it is thicker than 28″.  So we are inviting my dad up next weekend with his 18″ gas powered chainsaw. Lets hope that makes short work of this big boy.

OK, let’s go to the beach.

I got up early on Monday and started cleaning the garlic bulbs that I had dug up the previous weekend and had been drying in the garage all week.

gardenSept09 001

I brushed the dirty outer layer of skin off.

gardenSept09 014

Finished!  I think that I might need to plant twice as much this autumn.

But, because I am a bit of a size queen.

gardenSept09 013

Whew! I’m exhausted. I better have a little sit down on the porch with a beer.(Now, I don’t want you to think that I am an alcoholic, I just have a half, lager and lime, all you Brits out there will now what that is!)

When I had posted the pictures about the Flora Glade, I noticed that the beds seem to blur into the path.  At the time, I thought that it was because they were mulched in the same material.  Like everything, you only notice something when it is new and fresh. I had walked through this garden a million times and had stopped noticing this….

Before

Before

 

Notice anything?

After

After

 

Yes that’s right, the brick edging that I had originally set on top of newspaper covered grass, had sunk, some of it a couple of inches below ground level.  You wouldn’t think that rock-hard soil, with no digging, would soften up enough over a couple of years, that the bricks would just sink into the ground.  I had walked past them frequently and had not noticed that they were getting lower and lower, until you couldn’t even see over 75% off them.

Well, I had to go around the whole of the Flora Glade with a trowel, prying them up, scraping some mulch under them to bring them back up to ground level.  It looks so much better, now that there is a more definite edge to the borders, however, I am sure it will happen again, and I will need to repeat the exercise.

OK, Who wants a beer?

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    puppyparents said,

    Mmmm that garlic looks potently delicious! Perhaps you’ll bring in a sample?!

  2. 2

    As long as my coworkers promise to not eat this “potently delicious” stuff before coming to work!!

  3. 3

    fairegarden said,

    Do you serve champagne? The little bottles with screw off lids will do fine. No need to open a whole big bottle. Nothing beats home grown garlic. It is so pretty too. I like to leave the stems long to braid them, just for looks. It doesn’t make them keep any better. It’s just fun to do. Funny about those bricks sinking. And the giant tree! Do be careful, chain saws scare me. 🙂
    Frances

  4. 4

    Frances, when you come to visit, I am going to get the biggest bottle of champagne I can find.
    Next year, I will leave the stems long and try and braid them. They do look great hanging up in the kitchen. It makes you look like a real chef! Julia Child, eat your heart out.

  5. 5

    GardenJunkie said,

    So nice to learn that I’m not the only one requiring frequent “breaks” from gardening (in my case it was 3 gallons of lemonade drank over the holiday weekend – but beer, or champagne!, would’ve been much more enjoyable). Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  6. 6

    I never drank beer until I moved to England. There the pub culture is very much a part of the British way of life, so I joined in. I am a bit of a lightwieght though, usually a half and it is a lager and lime. Yummy!

  7. 7

    Racquel said,

    Sounds like a productive & relaxing weekend all rolled into one. lol 😉 That garlic looks great.

  8. 8

    You are exactly right, that is exactly what it was. Actually a neighbour came over and said to Ian, that he feels bad, all we do is come up and do yardwork! Hey, that is not work, that is gardening and it is a joy.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

