Delilah

When I was in Kingston, I stayed at my friend Colleens house.  She has a lovely garden and just built an amazing screened porch. She incorporated  some architectural salvage from a great place called Balleycanoe into the porch. The doors and the spindles? above the doors were from there.  When you use salvage like this it really makes a new construction seamless with a older  home.

kingston2009 114                         ( Don’t worry, the magnolia is coming back)

 But the part I like best is this:

kingston2009 117

 

 

Colleen has had Delilah as long as I have known her (over 10 years) and she has lived in the garden the whole time, through summer and winter! There was one time when she was kidnapped, but that is a whole different story!

I should really (and meant too) have taken more pictures of Colleens lovely garden, but the drinking started!!!

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Joy said,

    That is one gorgeous screened porch ! And what a beauty to have in your garden .. she is lovely : ) I love her name as well .. kidnapped statuary seems to be a thing in Kingston .. I haven’t anything that grand so I don’t have to worry that much ? LOL

    • 2

      Joy, I used to live on Mack street, across from Victoria Park. We had 2 large cement urns on our steps that I planted up. One spring, one of them disapeared from the steps and I was upset. My husband went to walk the dog and found it a few houses down. I guess it was too heavy to carry far!

  2. 3

    johnson said,

    Thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment. Thought I’d drop by and excited to find that this is a Canadian blog. Had some good holidays there and have family there too.

    Look forward to seeing more pictures of the garden in due course. Can empathise with the drink – you are obviously my type of gal!! Johnson

    • 4

      Johnson, British blood runs in my veins (and obviously drink does too)! I am happy to hear that you have spent some quality time here in Canada. Where does your family live?

  3. 5

    Jenny said,

    They won’t be getting much gardening done now they have such a lovely screened porch. Did you go home with big plans? My head is usually bursting with ideas for my own garden after I visit others. We used to live near to Kingston back in the early 70s. Brockville. Then we moved to Montreal and Toronto and eventually onto the states. I grew the best tomatoes there and had lilac and daffodils- it’s a different story now.

    • 6

      Yes, Jenny, between Colleens porch and my other garden visits that weekend, my poor husbands head is spinning, all he can see is the work, while I see the beautiful ideas. Brockville is a lovely city, (as is Toronto and Montreal). You have really lived in many different climates.

  4. 7

    fairegarden said,

    What a fantastic spot to enjoy the out of doors with insects or rain. I so miss having a screened porch, your friend Colleen’s is a masterpiece. Love those doors! Delilah is so beautiful, no wonder she was kidnapped, sort of like Helen or Troy? 🙂
    Frances

  5. 9

    Racquel said,

    All that architectural salvage has given her home alot of character and Deliliah is no exception. I’m glad she didn’t lose her permanently, she looks right at home in the garden. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  6. 11

    Delilah was kidnapped!! What is wrong with people? I had my white dragon kidnapped a couple of years ago, and it would take heavy equipment to take him now, he is firmly connected to several hundred pounds of concrete buried underneath him. I’m glad she came home unscathed. The brats around here who take garden statuary like to bust it up with sledge hammers. The sledge hammer was near the dragon when I recovered him, but I think that the dragon had some way of protecting himself, either that or the brats decided he was too cool to smash. Whatever the reason, I was very glad.

    I need a Delilah though. She’s beautiful. Oh yeah, so is that new screened in porch. I particularly like the salvaged elements.

  7. 13

    When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the image of a user in his/her mind that how
    a user can understand it. So that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

